Customer Reviews for

Cassidy Jones and the Secret Formula (Cassidy Jones Adventures, Book One)

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended!

    Oh. Wow. Cool! These were my exact reaction to what happened to Cassidy Jones. She is a heroine readers will definitely like and relate to. At first, I didn't know what to expect, but as the story progressed, I was quickly immersed in this fictional world, eager to know what would happen next.

    This book is suitable for middle graders and young adults. The contents are 100% clean, so parents have nothing to worry about. The fighting scenes are not bloody and gory, but they are told in a way that would definitely hold the reader's attention.

    This book is really exceptional in the sense that it has a wonderful plot, some really interesting characters, a plausible event which started it all, and an adept storyteller who combined all these elements.

    If you haven't read it, go get yourself a copy today!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book will be all the buzz!!!

    Cassidy Jones and the Secret Formula is the first in what I hope becomes a long running series. Elise Stokes is a gifted writer who has written a home run for the genre in which it is intended. I am so excited to read a book that is not only appropriate for upper elementary through young adult, but is also appealing to both male and female readers alike. I can easily see middle school readers latching on to this series and making it a real hit that will be read for many generations to come.

    Can I vote now for a movie on this series? With the adventure, the mystery and Cassidy's super powers, Elise Stokes has delivered everything that a young reader could hope for.

    I recommend Cassidy Jones and the Secret Formula by Elise Stokes to both male and female readers, upper elementary through young adult, who are looking for excitement in a fast paced read. Teachers, this is a great classroom book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    FANTASTIC YA BOOK, PROMISES TO BE AN EVEN GREATER SERIES!

    ELISE STOKES' "CASSIDY JONES AND THE SECRET FORMULA" (A REVIEW)
    I have to say that I was absolutely intrigued from the very beginning of this story and simply could not put the book down. Elise Stokes has woven a fantastic tale about a 15 year old girl that unwittingly finds herself becoming a scientific blunder. Turned into a super hero she soon has to join forces with the scientists son in order to save his mother from possible doom. This story has all elements of surprise and a captivating side story involving the life of a teenager in High School. This book is great for kids ages 12 and up and I cannot wait for the sequels to come!
    Elise Stokes ranks up there with other YA masterminds! This is a definite must -read book!
    -Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Book Club

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Waiting on book number two, gotta finish this series!!

    Flaming hair, kicking butt, and taking names. That is what Cassidy Jones is all about. This girl used to be a wallflower, but not anymore. She stepped up to the plate and she is taking anyone down who gets in her way. Her family is pretty dang cool, she has a twin brother, super hero lovin' little brother, a famous dad, and the perfect mom. Forget the Cleavers, this is the family I wanna belong to. Her friends are pretty amazing too. Emery and Miriam are definitely two characters you won't be forgetting in a hurry. A famous geneticist is kidnapped right after Cassidy's dad tries to interview her. Unfortunately, the interview gets cut short because Cassie has a small accident. She falls off a rickety old stool and busts her head open on one of the cluttered tables in this lab. As she does, some of the creepy looking bottles on burners mix and Cassidy inhales the vaopr right before she knocks herself out. I'm not saying she turns into Spiderman or anything like that, but what does happen to her after that is pretty freaking cool. Cassidy and Emery create a bond when he comes to live with them for a while while the search for his mother continues. Cassidy isn't sure at first if she can trust him, but soon learns he is unlike any boy she has met before, and discovers her trust is will placed in him. With his brains and her skills, there will have to be one heck of an army in place to stop them. The problem is - there is one heck of an army, and one deranged, evil bad guy waiting to stop them. This was a super fun story and one that I have had on my shelf waiting to be read for some time now. I wish I had been able to get it sooner, although maybe I won't has as long to wait now for Cassidy's next adventure. This book was full of twists and turns, and there was always something happening. I never felt there was a lull in the story line, and I really could not put it down. I read the entire thing TODAY. This is a great YA book, it says that it is appropriate for 12 and older, I honestly would have no problem with my 9-year-old daughter reading this book. As a matter of fact, she has been eyeballing it and asking me how I like it. I think I will have to pass it along to her to read tomorrow. There is a bit of blood in the story, but no one is killed, so if you do not like your child reading anything with violence in it, be warned, there is fighting. But it is done with little description and no disturbing imagery. There is also no love story in the background, so you don't have to worry about your young one getting into a kissy, touchy, feely book. This book is ALL YA, and just because there is a lack of holding hands and anticipating first kisses, this book is chocked full of great story telling. This reviewer gives it 4 stars and wants to thank Elise Stokes for giving me the chance to read and review her amazing work.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    AN AMAZING BOOK!!

    WOW! I love this book! I enjoyed Cassidy's character and in a way, was easy to relate to. I really liked how Elise Stokes found the perfect words to describe something, in which she was continuily successful throughout the novel because it just made everything so interesting! Before reading this book, I have to admit that I wasn't looking forward to a mystery one. However, after putting down the book once around 10 pages in, I felt I had to finish it because I usually try to finish everything I start. So, after I opened the book again, I just got so sucked into it that after the 4th hour the first night, I was almost halfway done! Its an excellent must-read book and I recommend it to pretty much everyone!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Cassidy Jones: Super-heroine and a great example for the rest of the genre.

    The problem with most "origin" stories is that they take forever to get interesting as the author spends entirely too much time trying to describe the main character to the reader. After that they introduce a cliche "super problem", and then finish off with a predictable ending. You won't find any of those problems in this book. The author of "Cassidy Jones and the Secret Formula", Elise Stokes, succeeds where so many others fail by letting the reader get to know Cassidy Jones by virtue of the story itself. Not only is the reader getting to know this new heroine, but the reader is pulled into the storyline as Cassidy Jones is a character that most people will find easy to identify with, sympathize with, and even admire and cheer for. As such, I don't just recommended this book to teenage girls but to everyone who considers themselves a fan of the fantasy, sci-fi, or superhero genres. A sequel is on the way, and I am excited to see how both Cassidy and her creator grow as the series continues.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    Attention ALL grandparents!! Here is a book worth giving!

    As a grandmother and a great grandmother I am delighted to find an author like Elise Stokes. Our young people need wholesome reading material! Our current culture seems compelled to spill out filth on our children from every possible direction. The reading of books has always been a way to educate and inspire the young. It is sad to see the decline of such a wondrous media. Cassidy Jones and the Secret Formula is full of mystery and adventure and yet in the midst of a great story depicts loving, respectful and honoring relationships. My salute to Elise Stokes for seeing the need and daring to use her awesome writing talent to present this book (and, I hope a series of books) to a very parched writing arena directed to our youth. Keep them coming Elise, keep them coming!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Cassidy Jones is Awesome! Highly Recommended.

    My kids both read Cassidy jones and the Secret Formula and loved it, so I decided to have a look for myself. I enjoyed it very much and would definitely recommend it to others. Stokes is an awesome story-teller with great insight into the teenage mind. The character of Cassidy Jones is engaging and relatable. It was a real page-turner. I look forward to the next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    WOW!!!

    I love Cassidy Jones and the Secret Formula!!! This book has so much going on that I never got bored. Between the mystery, Cassidy's mutation, and school life problems the book went down a pretty unpredictable road from the start. I couldn't guess what would happen from one minute to the next. Cassidy Jones is a freshman in high school who evolves into a mutant with super strength, speed, and senses after a freak accident in Professor Serena Phillips' lab. The professor is kidnapped and Cassidy and the professor's genius son, Emery, embark on an incredible journey to save his mother. Emery Phillips is the most interesting character. You just don't know what's up with the guy. He is so mysterious! Overall this book is incredible and I highly recommend it for all ages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Excellent Book! A Must READ!

    Cassidy Jones and the Secret Formula is one of the best books out there for young adults. Elise Stokes has created a wonderfully charming character in Cassidy Jones. Young girls everywhere will identify with her teenage struggles and her humorous insight to all sorts of situations. When she discovers her super powers, she is completely delightful in how she deals with the changes she is undergoing. Emery, her best friend and confidant is a fascinating complex character and one that most girls will want to get to know better. In fact, all of Ms. Stokes characters are very likable and well developed. The reader will feel like they are real people and you know them. I loved the entire story line, the action and most of all the humor. This book reminds me of a modern day Nancy Drew and it is sure to become a series that is in high demand. Everyone will want to see what situations Cassidy and Emery get themselves into next! I know I can't wait for the next book! I rate this book a 5 star and highly recommend it to all ages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Cassidy Jones rocks!

    Great character and story for young adults and those young at heart as well. Fun, fast-paced action, with just the right amount of humor throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Lee Ashford for Readers' Favorite Cassidy Jones and

    Reviewed by Lee Ashford for Readers' Favorite

    Cassidy Jones and the Secret Formula by Elise Stokes is the first exciting episode of the “Cassidy Jones” series, and is an enchanting start to the series. Fourteen-year-old Cassidy Jones accompanies her Television News Anchor father, Drake, to an interview with a famous geneticist. Sitting on a stool out of the way, Cassidy was surprised when the stool collapsed, causing her to knock over several bubbling beakers of chemicals, and get a nasty gash on her forehead. As the chemicals mixed together on the counter top, a white cloud suddenly formed, lasting just long enough for Cassidy to inhale a big gulp of the vapor before it dissipated. Between the vapor’s noxious fumes and the bump on her head, Cassidy blacked out in a moment of burning pain inside her. From that point on, Cassidy’s life would change dramatically. She was about to embark on an adventure beyond her wildest dreams.

    Cassidy Jones and the Secret Formula is remarkably well conceived, well written, and fun to read. As the first in a series of books featuring Cassidy, The Secret Formula does an admirable job of hooking the reader into the entire series. The character development was done so well that Cassidy becomes a real person you will come to care about and even love. She is Nancy Drew, the Hardy Boys, Columbo, Dirty Harry, Sherlock Holmes and Kung Fu Panda all rolled into one likable young lady. This series cannot help but be a big winner with young adults and older youth alike. I know I am hooked, and cannot wait to read the next episode. This book, and this series, is one you will love to read, and will love to have your children read. I very highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Fun book for early teens!

    I read this first then passed it on to my 14 year old daughter. It is exactly the type of book she likes to read! Cassidy Jones accidentally acquires superpowers and is thrown into an unexpected adventure. Compared to all the popular teen novels out there with their excess focus on teen relationships, this one is perfect with an engaging story, lots of action, and just a little bit of boy/girl interest. My daughter insisted I get the next one right after finishing this one, and now she wants the third in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2013

    5 STARS Cassidy is a teen age girl who through a accident her g

    5 STARS

    Cassidy is a teen age girl who through a accident her genes are changed and now she can do many things easy and heals fast.

    What would you do if all of a sudden you were different. You were stronger and could smell scents from down the block? Would you tell your parents are someone else.

    This is a fun entertaining story. It is full of fun characters, danger, action, teenage drama and comics. It is a clean read.

    target audience is teenagers but anyone can enjoy it.
    I was routing for Cassidy and for Emery to find his missing mother.

    Emery is very smart. He is a teenager but has already graduated from college. He is a true friend to Cassidy. I do want to know more about his father in the future.

    Cassidy emotions are being blasted along with her physical changes. Cassidy has two brothers. Her youngest is really into comic books and costumes. The other brother is her twin.

    I have bought the second book in this series and can't wait to start reading it.

    I was given this ebook to read for purpose of reviewing it. The opinions are all mine. Received the book from Netgalley.

    Publisher: JACE Publishing LLC (December 13, 2010) 286 pages ASIN: B004GB1FIK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cassidy Jones and the Secret Formula is the first novel in the s

    Cassidy Jones and the Secret Formula is the first novel in the series. I don’t often read young adult books about kids under 16 – I don’t know why but that has always seemed my cutoff. However, I found the prologue for this first Cassidy Jones novel intriguing enough to keep me reading and I’m sure glad I did.   
    This is a classic superhero tale. Accompanying her reporter dad while he interviews a scientist, Cassidy is exposed to chemicals that give her superhero powers. Much like any teenager girl Cassidy struggles with anything that makes her different from the rest and initially sees these powers as a curse. But in the course of helping a friend solve a mystery Cassidy begins to see a positive side to her powers and how she can use her extra abilities for good. 
    Cassidy learns that what makes her unique also enables her to see the world in a new way.  And isn’t that what we should all do? Not just out teenage daughters but even as grown women. We all need to find that uniqueness within ourselves and learn not to hide it but to empower it. Cassidy is learning that lesson at fourteen. I wish I had. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    Cassidy Jones, typical 14 yr old teen, accompanies her Newsman F

    Cassidy Jones, typical 14 yr old teen, accompanies her Newsman Father to an interview with a genetics scientist…and there’s an accident.  Cassidy finds herself with with some very sci-fi-ish attributes, and of course, that causes a few problems.  I have to admit, I really like YA books, and this is a good one!  It’s “clean” but keeps you reading…it’s hard to put down.

    I hope this comes out right, because it's sure not acting right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    N

    Ho hum.

    Too young for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Great book

    The start of a good series of books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. It is the first book in the Cassidy

    I really enjoyed this book.

    It is the first book in the Cassidy Jones Adventure series, and is aimed predominantly at the YA readers.

    The story is well written and the author did a superb job with all the characters - they are well thought out and are all interesting in their own right.

    Cassidy is your normal angst-ridden teen who accompanies her father, a reporter, to an interview with a famous geneticist.  Things go drastically wrong when she has a 'slight' accident and inhales a lungful of gas when an experiment the geneticist was working on gets knocked over.  The result - superhero. Cassie becomes a very real superhero with super powers that rivals the best of the superheroes out there.  

    Her sidekick is Emery, the very intelligent teenage son of the geneticist.  He helps her to come to terms with what is happening to her, and is the mastermind behind the scheme to rescue their abducted parents.

    This is a fast paced story filled with excitement and adventure which will appeal not only to the YA or pre-teen readers, but also to older readers - like me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    This book is for a young adult crowd and I can tell you I'd tota

    This book is for a young adult crowd and I can tell you I'd totally let my teens read this!!  Its fantastically written and the suspense is awesome.




    Cassidy is a 14 year old in HS.. who has the normal every day life with brothers and her parents and the really only excitement is well her dad is Drake Jones Reporter.  
    Her dad has asked her to accompany him on an interview with a genetic scientist and within minutes of settling down to watch her dad in action, one slip and her life changes forever.




    By the end of the night Cassidy can tell things are very different she's almost healed, in the morning she smells fresh pancakes and amazingly they aren't coming from her kitchen.




    The scientist has been kidnapped, her office trashed and burned, and her son Emery is now alone until the Cassidy's take him in.  He is a marvel, already Stanford material, and the only hope that Cassidy has in getting help to find out what has happened to her.   




    There is so much action in this book that you just know the series is going to be great.   Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3