Customer Reviews for

Cast Member Confidential: A Disneyfied Memoir

Average Rating 3.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just as I was told

I knew several people that took part in the college program. They all came back with stories similar to Chris'. I figured they were all made up or exaggerated, but it seems they weren't. Kinda makes me sad I turned down an opportunity to take part in the CP. Overall the...
I knew several people that took part in the college program. They all came back with stories similar to Chris'. I figured they were all made up or exaggerated, but it seems they weren't. Kinda makes me sad I turned down an opportunity to take part in the CP. Overall the book was an easy read and gives an insider view of what goes on behind the scenes of the so-called "happiest place on earth."

posted by boilerup on February 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing read

I like gossip and behind the scenes information as much as the next person but this book didn't provide that. The author hss taken material sufficient for a long magazine article and unsuccessfully stretched it to book length. The writing is barely pedestrian in qualit...
I like gossip and behind the scenes information as much as the next person but this book didn't provide that. The author hss taken material sufficient for a long magazine article and unsuccessfully stretched it to book length. The writing is barely pedestrian in quality. Lots and lots of description about drinking and sex but beyond that, there wasn't much that was confidential that anyone really would care about.

posted by 2736123 on January 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    Disappointing read

    I like gossip and behind the scenes information as much as the next person but this book didn't provide that. The author hss taken material sufficient for a long magazine article and unsuccessfully stretched it to book length. The writing is barely pedestrian in quality. Lots and lots of description about drinking and sex but beyond that, there wasn't much that was confidential that anyone really would care about.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Meh

    I wouldnt buy this book ever. I followed his blog for a while and didnt care for it. It kind of ruined the disney magic

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    awful

    While I enjoy disney this book really revealed nothing about inside worikings of disney

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Pass on this one

    This book is a story about someone who thought they wanted to work at disney but was disappointed by the personal life of other cast members and their lives outside of Disney.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Just as I was told

    I knew several people that took part in the college program. They all came back with stories similar to Chris'. I figured they were all made up or exaggerated, but it seems they weren't. Kinda makes me sad I turned down an opportunity to take part in the CP. Overall the book was an easy read and gives an insider view of what goes on behind the scenes of the so-called "happiest place on earth."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Required vacation reading

    I was looking for an easy read, and I picked this up. It was perfect for a vacation read - not too deep with just enough engaging characters and plot lines to keep me turning the pages. I find it hard to believe that everything was true (especially after his disclaimer in the beginning about names changed to protect the innocent), but after the first few pages I didn't really care. If you like David Sedaris and AJ Jacobs, you'll like Mitchell.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting Story!

    Interesting story based on one man's year of working for Disney. Lots of behind the scene stories and how he was able to find his Disney magic again after he had lost it. Remember if you are a die-heart Disney fan it can disillusion the magic but the author found his once again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    A surprisingly good book

    I bought this expecting a collection of gossip about the hijinks behind the scenes at Disney. I got that, but I also got an interesting story about the author and his struggles to finally grow up and come to terms with his family and himself. He doesn't paint himself in flattering colors, either. At times, he comes across as a very selfish, immature person, but the book shows how he grows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Holds your interest

    Easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Not what I expected.

    I realize it is not always milk and honey in the Happiest Place on Earth, but this portrait paints a sad, drug use, sex crazed, loser portrait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    I should have read the reviews before purchasing this book. The

    I should have read the reviews before purchasing this book. The author would dibble off on personal stories, and appeared to embellish his out of park experiences with attempted descriptions that would get you lost on his intent. Worst Disney book I have read, if your looking for an inside look at behind the scenes at WDW this book is NOT it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Disney and something random

    I love Disney one of my friends is so obbsesed she would love to read this book AND HERE IS THE RANDOM THING PINT DUDE HAHA!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    This was so interesting. Its a good book!

    This was so interesting. Its a good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    Ok, but not a must-read

    Although Mitchell is obviously trying to shock with a rather pubescant style of writing, the situations he describes are not such a surprise as he, apparently, hopes. Sex on property? Drug-trafficking? I would be more surprised is that DIDN'T happen in a workplace where thousands of people (including lots of teens), work in a sort of showbizz.
    What interested me a bit more, was that he, after an initial disdain for 'the Disney way' of behaving, he sort of gets sucked into it, and actually seems to be enjoying himself. Something Kevin Yee reported as wel, in a bit less shock-and-awe style.
    A fun read if you believe that all cast members are as spotless on the inside as they appear on the outside. A shrug at best if you are not as, well, naive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    One of the happiest reads on earth

    Cast Memeber Confidential was a quick enjoyable read. As a huge Disney fan it was interesting to read about some of the not so Disney moments that we all know must go on. Mitchell takes his readers on a roller coaster of emotions from humor to sadness to joy. There are a few mentions of some steamy scenes that would not be appropriate for children but were not offensive to this kid at heart. I laughed out loud a few times as the author described several events (if you have been to Disney you will understand about the South Americans and their flags). While most of the book is humorous their are some sad emotional parts too as the author ponders life and death. Overall I really enjoyed this book and I wish there were more like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Recommend

    Great read not at all what I expected. I felt like i knew all the characters personally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Funny

    Very interesting and funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    A look into the back stage of Disney

    It was hard to stop reading. At every turn there was a new twist to the antics of the Disney cast members. the next time I go to Disneyland it will really make me wonder who is behind the costume or make up. The book was very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    Some of it's true!...Good for Mitchell for exposing it!

    This book brought back memories.
    I worked in WDW for a while. When i worked there i heard some of the same stories and rumors that were in this book.
    It's all magic for the guests, but not so much for the cast members. They really are strict about the "Dinsey Look". I saw a girl get fired because she took a tiny sip of a drink near the end of her shift. I got paid min wage to clean up "protein spills".
    One thing Mitchell forgot to mention about the tunnels under MK is the how awful they smell in the summer heat. You can't breathe down there!
    And the hierarchy of cast memebers that Mitchell speaks of with the face characters on top really does exist. Some of the face characters are very snobby and full of themselves. They act as if they're getting paid millions to make summer blockbusters co-starring leo dicaprio. I went to a face character audition. Hundreds of people showed up for like two open positions. It really is all based on your height. The first thing they do is measure you.
    Most of the other cast memebers i met smoked, did other drugs, were homosexual, etc. WDW really does attract a heterogenous group of misfits that end up working there from the lifers to the CPs. It's a strange experience behind the scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    Good Read

    I would recommend to a friend. Lots of ahha moments. To the author Thanks! for sharing your story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3