Customer Reviews for

Cast Two Shadows: The American Revolution in the South

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Awesome book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This book is incredibly good! It is one of the best historical fiction books I have ever read with accurate details in history. If you want to learn about the Revolutionary War you need to read this book ASAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2003

    Wonderful!

    If you loved the movie The Patriot, you'll love Cast Two Shadows. It takes place in the same area with almost the same situations from a girl's point of view. Like all of Ann Rinaldi's books, this is truly a remarkable book that sticks to the facts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2002

    ITS A REALLY GREAT BOOK

    its a very good book and i recomond to every one who like history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2001

    excellent

    cast two shadows is an awesome book. caroline is a young girl struggling to accept her life the way it is and at the same time trying to learn more about her true mom and why she was sent away from her. caroline copes with the hardships of the war and growing up which i think her brother johnny had a lot to do with. i totally reccomend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2000

    A wonderful book for people who love History

    Cast two shadows, is about a young girl who is half black and half white, living with her father, stepmother, sister, and brother. It tells about how she and her family try to survive in the old south. This book is a very good book, I couldn't put it down till I finished it. I hope anyone who reads my review will read this book. It really was a super book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    An Inspiring Novel

    This novel is truly an inspiring piece of work. Ann Rinaldi's ability to make you cry and laugh along with her characters is truly astounding! The vivid imagery, as well as the beautiful and fragile relationships between characters such as Miz Melindy and Caroline, make this story a unique masterpiece. I have found that Mrs. Rinaldi's fictional characters have instilled in me lessons that I will carry with me for years.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    :D:D:D

    this book was ok i guess....i had to read it for school and i was pretty surprised how it turned out. normally, i would NEVER pick up a historical fiction. This book however, was pretty good. I'm in eighth grade and had to read it for my history novel. There was intense family drama and i actually did not sleep through it :D (well, most of it). This book ended up pretty interesting and kind of helped me recap what i learned in school. good job ann rinaldi :D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2008

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    At first i picked up this book from my teacher, to do an assignment on it, after the first 100 pgs, I was TOTALLY ABSORBED!! GOOD read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    Incredible and Insightful-Whether You Like Historical Books Or Not

    From the hanging in the opening pages until the epilogue, Cast Two Shadows is filled with new suspenseful twists that make for an exciting, yet sobering read. This is probably my favorite Ann Rinaldi book. It showed a new perspective of the American Revolution. It was interesting to read about a family that wasn't decidedly patriot, but was torn in half. It was a very complex story, yet it flowed smoothly and was a quick reader. There were so many nuggets of wisdom spread throughout the book, that are worthy of quoting. Most of the characterizations were very vivid and realistic at the same time. Miz Melindy (Caroline's slave grandmother) was a very interesting character. She was very critical, but at the same time, very caring and observant. I would have liked to have heard more from Caroline's adoptive parents, because they did not seemed as well developed. (Rinaldi could have further expanded upon the theme of hiding the truth to protect those you love). The book showed how harsh life can be, through all the characters that were never heard from again, but it also showed how truth makes from stronger new beginnings.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Awesome!!!

    I read this book about three years ago for a seventh grade book report, and it turned out to be one of the best books I have read up until this point. Over the course of the past few years i have read this book about five times. Ann Rinaldi is an inspiration to anyone who loves historical fiction

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    Amazzaing

    This book is beautiful. once i started reading it i couldn't put it down! Ann Rinaldi use so many adjectives the words just come alive!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2006

    Amazing story!!

    I have read a lot of historical fictions by ann rinaldi. 6 to be exact. this was deffinatly her best so far. the story goes into vibrant detail of the Revolution. She uses many reliable facts in her books. I now am obsessed with the american Revolution thanks to ann rinaldi. i just love it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2005

    Not Impressed

    I was not impressed by this book at all. Ann Rinaldi usually writes really well, but this book was a major let down. The characters were poorly developed. I should have been able to sympathize with Caroline, but I could not. Her characters were not rounded whatsoever, unlike most Ann Rinaldi's novels. The story line could have been good, but it wasn't. Overall I was extremely disappointed.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    i love it!!

    i am a 8th grader from holms jr.high and i had to read this book for history i thought it would be boring but its soo interesting

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    Cast Two Shadows by Ann Rinaldi published by Gulliver Books, Harcourt Inc.

    Cast Two Shadows interested me throughout the entire book. Ann Rinaldi really brought out what it was like for some southern families under control of the British during the Revolutionary War with her detail and characters. The story is told through the eyes of Caroline Whitaker who not only lives in a beautiful plantation in Camden but she is also part black. Colonel Rawdon of the British military has control over the Whitaker's home when Caroline receives news of her brother Johnny. Her and her black grandmother then go to get him and bring him home. Along the way they face many things then finally they find him and start heading home, and even then things are not peaceful. Full with many twists and turns this book will hold you to the pages leaving you not able to stop. So many things in this book shocked me but each shock was one that kept you reading on and on. The only true criticism I have toward this book is that at some points the things that happen can seem a little too predictable. Other than that this is a book that I would recommend to anyone who likes any sort of historical fiction book or novel. Cast Two Shadows will remain a memorable book for a long time. Not only with the story line but also with the themes to be strong through hard situations and maybe even to accept who you are. I really liked this book and I believe anyone else who reads it will too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2002

    Dramatic and entertaning!

    This is a book about historical fiction during a war. The role of women is displayed and how the importancy of apparences affect everyone. This a classic story of a young mullato woman in the 17th through 18th century. Told by a great author, Ann Rinaldi, This is a compelling, yet dramatic book in ways.If You like historical fiction, this book is must for you. I rcommend it to everyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2002

    Awsome book!!

    The book is very well writtten. It was my first book I read that was by Ann Rinaldi (except for the Dear America books she has written.) She is an awsome authur!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2001

    I Luv this Book!

    This book is really great! I first got it out in 6th grade and I never returned it to the Library until I had to pay 4 it and then I finished it and returned it, but I got it out the very next day! I Love this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2001

    Great Book

    Really gets you in to the time period.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2000

    The truth about war

    All young Caroline has seen and heared is war. Before seeing Her freind Kit get hanged by Lord Cornwallis she wanted no part in the war but after her father being dragged away to prison and her brother being of in the war fighting with the british, having Lord Rawdon in her lovly southeren plantation house and them being prisonier in their own house and only having a small chamber in the upstairs, and worst of all seeing her friend kit hanged on that beutiful day. Also her brother is injured by excaping a whiping for not giving up grey goose (his prized horse) is out in the wilderense. So she and her Black grandmother a slave on the plantation go on a journey to fetch her brother home. There her step mother and father have always told her that her mother was dead her Grandmother told her that her mother was alive but in the west indes after being sold by her father. After they had fetched Johney home he promised that he would spy for him. But while he was in the woods he became a rebel and went to jion sumters army instead of spy. Rawdon found out that Johnney told Sumter his plans and then the british troops were badly defeated by the contenentail army and so he was going to burn carolines beutiful house down. The night before they escaped then Caroline shot a fire arrow into the room and then they ran having set there house on fire. They went to live with these people that Caroline and her grandmother et on the way to get johnny.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2