Customer Reviews for

Cast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    Excellent, well-written, life applicable.

    Max Lucado always tries to tie in life applications to the Scriptures and stories he relates. In this book, he helps us study various Biblical characters, some with admirable qualities, some who had serious challenges, some who should have listened to the Lord more, some champions of the faith. The questions at the end of each chapter are very good for using this in a Sunday school setting but can also be utilized for self-study.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Great Book

    I am currently reading this book, I ordered this book because I have enjoyed all the books that I read of his. I am glad I choose this book Max Has a way of putting everyday life in reference when he writes his book.I like the way he used every day examples to better explain what his ponit is and it makes it very easy to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    Great read!

    "Cast of Characters", by Max Lucado. Lucado writes in this book about the people of the bible, and he delves deeper then maybe you have every heard or thought about what these people were doing and what they were feeling. He weaves stories from today's world that mimic the themes and stories of each chapters characters, and begins each chapter with the verses he will be discussing taken directly from the Bible. As he tells each character's story he shares some insights on the character and relates the happenings of this biblical character to life in today's world. Each chapter ends with some discussion questions.
    I have loved reading this book for many different reasons. First off the chapters are short, to the point and yet I feel like I should be highlighting almost everything he has written. The stories and examples that he gives from today's world our poignant and moving, and yet really relate to the biblical stories he is talking about. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who has some biblical knowledge and yet I feel it would be good for someone who is a new Christian or contemplating becoming a Christian, because I feel each chapter has something for everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Takes you there...

    Do you find you have a hard time connecting with the people we all know from our favorite Bible stories? Do you start seeing them in the same light you would a fairy tale character? People whose life begines and ends in that one story, people with few enothions, who were there only to fulfill their designated part in the story? People whose lives are really just a part of a play?

    This book will help you feel the things they felt, and you will see how very much like US they really were. We are all the same, after all. We all feel the same emotions and search after the same things, and we all have sinned and are in desperate need of a savior. I really liked this book. When I first got it I thought I might offer it as a giveaway on my blog... but I don't think I can part with it! I know I want to read it again, and if you are looking for some reading that tastes like a novel, but reaches out and touches your heart with the true love of Christ, this is it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    Cast of Characters by Max Lucado

    I think I recognize these people. that's the thought that came to mind as I read Max Lucado's book Cast of Characters. I enjoyed the way he showed biblical characters that I've read about from I was a child in a more human and relatable way. The way he used personal stories alongside that of the characters made the book a more interesting read.

    I love that the book sometimes asks questions. almost like an imaginary interview like, "Joseph, did you and Jesus arm wrestle." Sections like that made me smile because I enjoy thinking of our biblical heroes as men and women just like us.

    I silently cheered are I read about Mephibosheth. to go from having nothing, living in the shadows to sitting at the kings table.

    As I read through the book each chapter and each character presented had something that tugged at my heartstrings, inspired me or simply made me reflect on my life and spiritual walk.

    I like the fact that each chapter of the book ended with questions for reflections and discussion because it made me dig a little deeper into God's word.

    I love Max Lucado's conversational style of writing and thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    Cast of Characters by Max Lucado

    Cast of Characters by Max Lucado

    This is a book that's likely to come in for a bit of flak.

    The first reason is that **it's not original material** as it's mostly other writings from Max Lucado put together in a combined format. There's nothing wrong with this of course, but it would have been good if it were more obvious up front.

    The second issue is that it **feels very light**. I suspect this barb will be flung from the "intellectuals", or at least those who consider themselves to be such. But I think it's important to look at who the book is aimed at.

    It's aimed clearly at the ordinary, broken person. The everyday individual who stumbles and bumbles their way through life, trying to do what's right but often not quite getting there.

    These sort of people need help and encouragement, not a weighty tome to digest. They need to know that God loves them. They need to know that God can use even them.

    But we don't like to admit to being that sort of person... (Even though **we all are!**)

    Personally I need to thank Max Lucado for writing this book. Quite simply, I needed to hear what God had to say to me through it.

    _Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their [BookSneeze.com](http://BookSneeze.com) book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the [Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255](http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html) : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."_

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Devotional Book

    Cast of Characters by Max Lucado is a compilation of stories he has shared about common people. People who struggle, who are marked by scandal, who stumble. But they are all people of the Bible. It's the stories that we can connect to and find hope in. Because we have an amazing God. One who rescues, who offers second chances and who calls those whom he qualifies.

    Each chapter offers the story of someone new. Each also ends with questions for reflection and discussion. It was well organized and I found it to be written in an efficient and entertaining manner. The short chapters made it easy to read without feeling bogged down in text.

    I have not previously read anything by Max Lucado but would be interested in reading more from him after this book. Esther, Job, Mary, Joseph, Lazaus, they all have a story to share. One you may be able to relate to. And through their story you may find the comfort in the hands of the Father who loves you. Because we are "common people in the hands of an uncommon God."

    I would recommend this book as devotional. I found that is what I used it for. I would read the chapter, read the story in the bible of the person Lucado was writing of and reflect using his questions at the end of the chapter. (Thomas Nelson provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What a Selection!

    This is another piece of art from Mr. Lucado. In 22 Chapters he describes many bible characters, telling their stories and he does the analogy on theirs and our lives, showing how much God loves us no matter what (23rd Chapter is conclusion).

    He selected the following characters: Joseph (Jesus' father); Matthew (Jesus' disciple); immoral woman (who washed Jesus' feet); Mephibosheth (Jonathan's crippled son); Samaritan woman; Mary, Martha and Lazarus; Abigail; paralyzed man (at pool of Bethesda); John (Jesus' disciple); Paul (Saul); two criminals (crucified at the sides of Jesus); Moses; Joseph (son of Jacob/Israel); David; Esther; Job; Nicodemus; Jairus; rich young ruler; Sara, Peter and Paul (again); Lazarus(again); and Peter(again). Through Max's eyes we see that all of them are sinners like us and there is always hope that God will reach each one of us.

    At the end of each chapter there is a set of questions. The idea is to use them for discussion and reflection.

    This book was written by Max Lucado in 2008 and published by Thomas Nelson and they were kind enough to send me a copy for reviewing through their Thomas Nelson Book Review Bloggers Program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1