BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Castaways of the Flying Dutchman (Castaways of the Flying Dutchman Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Best book ever written

    It is written really well. I recommend this book to readers who love sad and adventurous stories

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Unbelievable!

    I really love this book
    Ive read it like three times

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Great series!

    Really, what kid has not ever imagined what it would be like to talk to their dog? Lots of action, a good vs. evil battle, great read. Recommend for age 10+.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!

    I love this book!!!!! Best book brian ever wrote. Its really exciting and amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book!!!!! totally a killer!!!!

    This awesome book is partly about the cursed ship the flying dutchman that is cursed to sail the sea with no escape not even death. but its mostly about a boy named neb short for nebuchaneezer and his dog den short for denmark even though about halfway through the book they change their names to ben and ned. they are given boundless youth and a lot of other stuff and are told by the angel that cursed the flying dutchman that they have to go around the world helping people, and doing only good. In it they help an old man and help save a town, u have to read it to get more details! ok this review may sound a little boring but READ the book!!! you will definitly not be dissapointed!!! This is one of the best books i've read in a long time!!!! take my advice and READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    Castaways of the Flying Dutchman by: SLC

    This book is very good. The idea of a boy and dog that escaped from the Flying Dutchman and now travel the world doing good is interesting. I think that the book is going to be the first of another excellent series by Brian Jacques. Ben is an intriguing character and Ned is hilarious. The author is very good at making intriguing plotlines where you never see the next thing coming. This book is just as good as the Redwall series. This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. The twists and turns as they struggle to figure out the riddles are in true Brian Jacques style. The only thing that I didn¿t like about this book is that Ben and Ned always have to leave those that they care for after they help them. My other favorite character is Amy because she is very bright and caring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    Amazing Book PEOPLE

    This book is amazing, normally I'd rate Redwall 5 stars too, this by far is one of the greatest books, and it tells my desires, I really wish I could be immortal, but being immortal is always for a price. That was probably what brian jacques was thinking when he wrote the book. READ THE BOOK PEOPLE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2006

    Castaways of a Flying Dutchman

    Hello my name is Lukas and I absolutely loved reading this great book. I have already read it twice. Castaways of a Flying Dutchman is definetly a great read. If you are a reader (boy or girl, young or old) looking for a book that is different and adventerous read this! It is a novel from the author Brian Jacques who normally writes books that are far different from it. It includes a pretty large range of settings from the icy waters of Cape Horn to the warmth of New England. Castaways of a Flying Dutchman is one of those books that keeps you wondering 'what will happen next' and then at the end of your book you are sad that it is over. I can not say anything more about it without giving it away so go to your nearest Barnes and Noble, buy it, and sit down and enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2003

    book review

    Brian Jaques has done it again with his book CASTWAYS OF THE FLYING DUITCH MAN. His Imagination in using the ancient mariner legend of the Flying Dutchman is well thought out. This book shows Jaques ability as a writer. You feel like you are on the high sea's or in the Old english village. Hopefully this will be the first in another of Brian Jaques succesful series of books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2001

    Good, but not as good as Redwall

    I thought that this was a very well written, interesting book but it pales in comparison to the other works of Brian Jacques. The Redwall Series was so good that i think anything else he tries to do would never live up to it. I thought that the adventures of Jem and Ned were very interesting and i actually read it in two days. Even though this isn't a Redwall book Brian Jacques' writing style is still there and that is enough to keep readers hooked. I would recomend this book to anyone who has read the Redwall Series, but if you havn't i suggest that you read that first and experience Brian Jacques at his best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2001

    Redwall Is Still Better

    While well written and a pleasure to read, I do not think that this is his best book. I am a huge Redwall fan and while I appreciate him trying to explore new frontiers in his writing, in my opinion he should probably stick to Redwall. Don't get me wrong I spent nearly every waking moment trying to finish this book, in the end I decided it was not his best. As brilliantly talented as he is, the creative world of Redwall is where he belongs. I would still recommend this book to fans of Brian Jacques' style of writing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    by far the the best book i have ever read

    Ben, aboy who cannot speak rus away from his cruel home. He then finds himself on a crazed ship commanded by captain Vanderdecken. there he meets his friend that will be by his side for all their natural lives his dog Ned. vanderdecken curses the heavens above while rounding Cape Horn,eventually an angel ascends & curses whole ship and its crew to travel the oceans for eternity .Ben and Ned were blessed by the angel they were granted the ability to talk to each other through their thoughts.Ben was blessed with the ability to talk to people even though before he couldnt talk .they are thrown overboard and found by a sheep herder they live with him. One day while they are sleeping the angel comes and tells them that when they hear the sound of a bell that it is time to move on. They wake up the next morning and they find the sheep herder dead. They do as the angel say so they leave and many years down the road they come to a small town with a big promble they offer to solve the problem.this is a great book by brian jacques

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    Castaways Of Literature Class

    This was a very good book. I think the main idea of the book was that there will always be good in the world. This book is good for kids and teenagers. It is probably more of a book for boys because there is a lot of action, but a girl would probably like it too. I enjoyed reading it very much. My only negative comment is that the cover makes you assume that this is a pirate book. However, this is only the case for the first fifty pages. But as they always say, "You can't judge a book by its cover."
    This book takes its basis from the legendary Flying Dutchman. For those of you who don't know, The Flying Dutchman is a ship, from old pirate mythology, that is cursed to sail the seas forever. This book tells us about why it is cursed and how it became that way, but more about the two passengers who were good at heart and got off. I am judging this book on the story and if it kept me interested.
    The main characters in this book are Neb and Den, Who later in the book change their names to Ben and Ned. They are as the book's title says "Castaways of the Flying Dutchman". This is because when The Flying Dutchman was pushed back from their destination by the sea for the third time, the captain became outraged. He took his sword and "Jabbed the blade upward and began hurling abuse at the weather, at the failure.. at the Lord". The entire crew was cursed for eternity, except for Ned and Den who were saved by an angel. Now they are eternally young, and must "Roam this world and wherever need is great, bring confidence and sympathy, help others change their fate".
    Eventually their travels bring them to a village in England called Chapelville, which will be turned into a Cement factory at the end of the month if no one can prove ownership of a majority of the land. A widow named Mrs. Winn whose family owns all of the land, but the proof was lost many years ago. Neb and Den have to go on a treasure hunt with their friends Alex and Amy Somers( two school children from the village), Mrs. Winn, John Preston (an old seaman), Mr. Braithwaite (the town's school teacher and librarian) and Mr. Mackay (A Lawyer), If they are to save the village.
    This book was written in the third person omniscient point of view. This means it is told from an all knowing narrator who is not a character in the story. There are three sections in this book. The first two, The Ship and The Shepherd, introduce us to Neb and Den. They are the shortest the third, the village, is the longest, and contains the main plot.
    Compared to other adventure books this book did very well. It had good characters, good story, and was well written. It also made me think. It may also be considered a mystery, because they are always looking for clues.
    This was a very good book overall. I enjoyed reading it, and I think you will too. I think you will recognize people you know in most of the characters, especially Neb and Den. I am also sure you will remember a time you tried to do something and had to loom for clues. One thing I will remind you is the cover gives you a wrong idea of what the book is like. It makes you think of buccaneers and adventures sailing the sea. This is not the case. Still, for anyone who likes adventure, action, or is just looking for a good book to read, it is a very well written and enjoyable book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    Cast Aways of the flying dutchman

    This book is a great book that all people will love. This is a thrilling suspense story that almost anyone would love to read. This book is one of Brian Jacques best novels and my favorite book that I have ever read. This book is about a boy named Ben and a dog named Ned that get picked up by the evil pirate ship named the Flying Dutchman. The Flying Dutchman was going around Cape Horn to go steal large gems that they heard of and were told to go and get for a man that was very rich. But they were cursed by an angle and were forced to roam the seas forever and to never die. But Ben and Ned were saved and so they wander the earth forever helping those in need.This first book in the three book series this is a hard book to put down or stop reading for any one who reads it. This book tells us that anything is possible and that if you give enough good effort then you will be rewarded. This suspenseful, intriguing, complex, and mysterious book is one of my all time favorite books. This book is a very good book to read and has and will be one of my favorite books ever. This fantastic book about a boy and his dog has a great story and is fun to read. This book will be one of your favorites.Castaways of the Flying Dutchman, is a thrilling novel about a boy and his dog. The boys' name is Ben and the dogs' name is Ned. This book is many things including mysterious, suspenseful and thrilling. This book is strongly advised for all readers that love action and adventure books. All readers of all ages should enjoy this book.Castaways of the Flying Dutchman, is a thrilling novel about a boy and his dog. The boys' name is Ben and the dogs' name is Ned. This book is many things including mysterious, suspenseful and thrilling. This book is strongly advised for all readers that love action and adventure books. All readers of all ages should enjoy this book.
    During the beginning of the novel Ben is found out at sea and is picked up by a pirate ship that enslave him as a galley boy. The pirate ship tries to go down around Cape Horn but fails and turns back on the 2nd attempt they are battered and the crew goes in the cabins and only the evil captain Vanderdicken is left to commandeer the ship. He makes it around the Horn and says that he is better than everyone so an angel came down and cursed the ship and its crew to roam the seas forever but she saved Ben and Ned to have them help those in need of them, so they go and wonder the earth. The 2nd part of the story takes place 200 years later where they come upon a small village and help a nice old lady named Winnie and help her keep her town from being turned into a cement factory. They follow clues and find objects and piece together puzzles to solve the problem and have Winnie rightfully claim her land that the town was built on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    Great, but not as great as Redwall

    Brian Jacques brings a new series about a boy and his dog who are given the gift and curse of walking the earth in their youth bodies for all eternity, spreading good news and joy. Both the plot and characters are very memorable. The only problem is that the title is a bit decieving. The boy and dog are only on the Flying Dutchman for about forty or fifty pages. However the rest of the book is still satisfying. If you liked this book you should definatley read the two sequels: 'The Angel's Command' and 'Voyage of Slaves'. These books are good, but not as good as the 'Redwall' books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    A Review

    ¿Castaways of the Flying Dutchman¿ is a fictional story book that was written by Brian Jacques. Brian Jacques is also known as the author of the ¿Redwall¿ series. I would believe that this is a good book. By detailing some insights about the book, I may be able to convince you to read the book as. The key characters of Brian¿s novel each have interesting person. The character that I chose to be one of my favorites is Neb, who is the main character of the story. He is a typical boy who could not speak because of being born a mute. Despite the certain ignominy that this brought him, I think that it really signifies his true character. Because he could not speak, he could only think. But since he was a mute, I believe that he thought a whole lot more than us. This could have been a gift for him if only his life wasn¿t so miserable. He is stuck with an abusive father after his mother past away. He has two malevolent step brothers as well. They all treat him like dirt and his step father would beat him relentlessly. So with all this misery going on, his emotions get stuck in turmoil. He isn¿t able to deal with his situation very well because he is struck really hard by depression. First, his mother that he dearly loved dies. Soon afterwards he is mistreated severely. That¿s why I believe that the best choice he made was to run away because if he endured this much longer he probably would die from emotion sickness. His character really shows mental strength by facing his situation. This fictional character of Jacques¿ surely can be considered someone to admire. Now that I have given some insight of Neb¿s character, let me share what I know about the plot. I would like to start by telling you how Jacques¿ story was easy for me to relate to because it sort of portrayed similarity to ¿Pirates of the Carribean¿. You could call it an average pirate story about a pirate crew plundering other ships amongst the open seas. But that¿s not how I would classify it. It¿s a story about a selfish crew lead by an egocentric captain. The crew was a much messed group of people. They were very decisive about getting their own share of booty, that they would even deceive their own leader, Captain Vanderdecken. Having his whole crew mislead him really does serve Vanderdecken right, because he was very sly himself. He secretly tried to stash the whole reward for himself and not share with his own crew. They weren¿t very good hospitalists either. When Neb was unconscious and was accidently attached to one of the anchor lines, they decided to just throw him overboard. Luckily, to Neb¿s relief, the selfish chef of the crew decided to make use of him by turning him into his own, personal slave in the kitchen gallery of the ship. But the crew¿s ways of life will surely change after they are cursed for eternity by an angel who states that their wicked ways have gone too far. That meaning they would need to result to doing good deeds. Now, the reason that I set this story apart from other pirate stories is because of the important theme that Brian Jacques includes. It shares an important, altruistic message. The crew of the Flying Dutchman is a great example. They were a selfish lot who cared only about themselves. Because of this, they were cursed for eternity. Unfortunately, Neb was also cursed due to his presence on the ship. But that still explains an important message. Being unselfish to others supposedly brings back good to you, which isn¿t true at a certain amount of times. But you should still be consistent with selflessness. Overall, this story of Brian Jacques certainly leaves a lesson extruding. It certainly is a good story, which I thought was enjoyable at times of boredom.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    A boy and his dog are destined to live forever

    Everybody¿s heard of the Flying Dutchman. What most people don¿t know is the tale of the innocent boy and dog on the ghost ship. Throughout the years, many sailors have seen the famous ship. In this tale by Brian Jacques, Ben and Ned are in England 200 years since they left the Flying Dutchman. Before he found Ned, Ben¿s name was Nebuchadnezzar, but the chef called him Neb. Ben worked on the Flying Dutchman as a cook he found Ned, a black lab and named him Denmark. When the captain cursed the Lord, the ship, her crew, the captain, and Ben and Ned were doomed to live forever. Ben and Ned were swept overboard and were saved by an old man who raised sheep. The old man fell off a cliff a few years later and died. In the 1800¿s they came across a mystery in Chapelvale, England. The town¿s deed was lost and a company wants to destroy the town to make a factory. To find out if they find the deed and save Chapelvale, read the book. Brian Jacques is a great author, a master storyteller. Castaways of the Flying Dutchman is one of his better books and is the first in the series. The novel is a must read, with the characters seeming so lifelike it really seemed like they were in trouble. I recommend this book for any one who likes Brian Jacques¿ books. I liked the characters because they were believable and kept each other out of trouble. What I didn¿t like was when the old man died. It was a horrible death for such a nice man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2006

    Awsome book

    I loved this book more then Redwall. I liekd them both but i love dogs so i liked this one a little more. it is about the friendship of a boy and his dog. It is filled with adventure. it is a little boreing int eh beggining but dont stop! Keep reading it gets better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2005

    not as good as REDWALL

    i loooooooooove REDWALL, so i thought these books would be good, but they were only OK........pretty boring, just a bunch of puzzles, but i guess it would be good if you like that kind of stuff. personally, i prefer REDWALL, especially LORD BROCKTREE.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2005

    If you are looking for a long, absorbing book...

    The Castaways of the Flying Dutchmen is seriously THE BEST book I have ever read. It may be a little dry in the beginning, but about into chapter 5, it gets good. This book is fast-paced, and even if you do not like the (in my opinion) slow Redwall books that take a while to get into, you will LOOOOOVE this book! PS Do not read the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4