Customer Reviews for

Castaways of the Flying Dutchman (Castaways of the Flying Dutchman Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Best book ever written

    It is written really well. I recommend this book to readers who love sad and adventurous stories

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Unbelievable!

    I really love this book
    Ive read it like three times

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Great series!

    Really, what kid has not ever imagined what it would be like to talk to their dog? Lots of action, a good vs. evil battle, great read. Recommend for age 10+.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!

    I love this book!!!!! Best book brian ever wrote. Its really exciting and amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book!!!!! totally a killer!!!!

    This awesome book is partly about the cursed ship the flying dutchman that is cursed to sail the sea with no escape not even death. but its mostly about a boy named neb short for nebuchaneezer and his dog den short for denmark even though about halfway through the book they change their names to ben and ned. they are given boundless youth and a lot of other stuff and are told by the angel that cursed the flying dutchman that they have to go around the world helping people, and doing only good. In it they help an old man and help save a town, u have to read it to get more details! ok this review may sound a little boring but READ the book!!! you will definitly not be dissapointed!!! This is one of the best books i've read in a long time!!!! take my advice and READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    Castaways of the Flying Dutchman by: SLC

    This book is very good. The idea of a boy and dog that escaped from the Flying Dutchman and now travel the world doing good is interesting. I think that the book is going to be the first of another excellent series by Brian Jacques. Ben is an intriguing character and Ned is hilarious. The author is very good at making intriguing plotlines where you never see the next thing coming. This book is just as good as the Redwall series. This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. The twists and turns as they struggle to figure out the riddles are in true Brian Jacques style. The only thing that I didn¿t like about this book is that Ben and Ned always have to leave those that they care for after they help them. My other favorite character is Amy because she is very bright and caring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    Amazing Book PEOPLE

    This book is amazing, normally I'd rate Redwall 5 stars too, this by far is one of the greatest books, and it tells my desires, I really wish I could be immortal, but being immortal is always for a price. That was probably what brian jacques was thinking when he wrote the book. READ THE BOOK PEOPLE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2015

    I Also Recommend:

    This was the first book I truly loved and thought about often. I

    This was the first book I truly loved and thought about often. I'm a huge fan of adventure stories, so if you are as well, then this book and the ones that follow it are for you! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    by far the the best book i have ever read

    Ben, aboy who cannot speak rus away from his cruel home. He then finds himself on a crazed ship commanded by captain Vanderdecken. there he meets his friend that will be by his side for all their natural lives his dog Ned. vanderdecken curses the heavens above while rounding Cape Horn,eventually an angel ascends & curses whole ship and its crew to travel the oceans for eternity .Ben and Ned were blessed by the angel they were granted the ability to talk to each other through their thoughts.Ben was blessed with the ability to talk to people even though before he couldnt talk .they are thrown overboard and found by a sheep herder they live with him. One day while they are sleeping the angel comes and tells them that when they hear the sound of a bell that it is time to move on. They wake up the next morning and they find the sheep herder dead. They do as the angel say so they leave and many years down the road they come to a small town with a big promble they offer to solve the problem.this is a great book by brian jacques

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    Cast Aways of the flying dutchman

    This book is a great book that all people will love. This is a thrilling suspense story that almost anyone would love to read. This book is one of Brian Jacques best novels and my favorite book that I have ever read. This book is about a boy named Ben and a dog named Ned that get picked up by the evil pirate ship named the Flying Dutchman. The Flying Dutchman was going around Cape Horn to go steal large gems that they heard of and were told to go and get for a man that was very rich. But they were cursed by an angle and were forced to roam the seas forever and to never die. But Ben and Ned were saved and so they wander the earth forever helping those in need.This first book in the three book series this is a hard book to put down or stop reading for any one who reads it. This book tells us that anything is possible and that if you give enough good effort then you will be rewarded. This suspenseful, intriguing, complex, and mysterious book is one of my all time favorite books. This book is a very good book to read and has and will be one of my favorite books ever. This fantastic book about a boy and his dog has a great story and is fun to read. This book will be one of your favorites.Castaways of the Flying Dutchman, is a thrilling novel about a boy and his dog. The boys' name is Ben and the dogs' name is Ned. This book is many things including mysterious, suspenseful and thrilling. This book is strongly advised for all readers that love action and adventure books. All readers of all ages should enjoy this book.Castaways of the Flying Dutchman, is a thrilling novel about a boy and his dog. The boys' name is Ben and the dogs' name is Ned. This book is many things including mysterious, suspenseful and thrilling. This book is strongly advised for all readers that love action and adventure books. All readers of all ages should enjoy this book.
    During the beginning of the novel Ben is found out at sea and is picked up by a pirate ship that enslave him as a galley boy. The pirate ship tries to go down around Cape Horn but fails and turns back on the 2nd attempt they are battered and the crew goes in the cabins and only the evil captain Vanderdicken is left to commandeer the ship. He makes it around the Horn and says that he is better than everyone so an angel came down and cursed the ship and its crew to roam the seas forever but she saved Ben and Ned to have them help those in need of them, so they go and wonder the earth. The 2nd part of the story takes place 200 years later where they come upon a small village and help a nice old lady named Winnie and help her keep her town from being turned into a cement factory. They follow clues and find objects and piece together puzzles to solve the problem and have Winnie rightfully claim her land that the town was built on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    A boy and his dog are destined to live forever

    Everybody¿s heard of the Flying Dutchman. What most people don¿t know is the tale of the innocent boy and dog on the ghost ship. Throughout the years, many sailors have seen the famous ship. In this tale by Brian Jacques, Ben and Ned are in England 200 years since they left the Flying Dutchman. Before he found Ned, Ben¿s name was Nebuchadnezzar, but the chef called him Neb. Ben worked on the Flying Dutchman as a cook he found Ned, a black lab and named him Denmark. When the captain cursed the Lord, the ship, her crew, the captain, and Ben and Ned were doomed to live forever. Ben and Ned were swept overboard and were saved by an old man who raised sheep. The old man fell off a cliff a few years later and died. In the 1800¿s they came across a mystery in Chapelvale, England. The town¿s deed was lost and a company wants to destroy the town to make a factory. To find out if they find the deed and save Chapelvale, read the book. Brian Jacques is a great author, a master storyteller. Castaways of the Flying Dutchman is one of his better books and is the first in the series. The novel is a must read, with the characters seeming so lifelike it really seemed like they were in trouble. I recommend this book for any one who likes Brian Jacques¿ books. I liked the characters because they were believable and kept each other out of trouble. What I didn¿t like was when the old man died. It was a horrible death for such a nice man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2006

    Awsome book

    I loved this book more then Redwall. I liekd them both but i love dogs so i liked this one a little more. it is about the friendship of a boy and his dog. It is filled with adventure. it is a little boreing int eh beggining but dont stop! Keep reading it gets better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2005

    If you are looking for a long, absorbing book...

    The Castaways of the Flying Dutchmen is seriously THE BEST book I have ever read. It may be a little dry in the beginning, but about into chapter 5, it gets good. This book is fast-paced, and even if you do not like the (in my opinion) slow Redwall books that take a while to get into, you will LOOOOOVE this book! PS Do not read the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    Fun! Fun! Fun!

    Castaways of the Flying Dutchman is a fun story based on the poem about Vanderdecken's cursed voyage. It starts off with a young boy being tormented by his family. He runs away and falls into the water of a bay or harbor. Then, he is pulled up onto the boat. The boat crew decides that he will be the ships helper. He is a mute and is called Neb - short for Nebuchadnezzer. Neb finds, and hides, a dog he finds (and calls Denmark). Later, the Flying Dutchman sinks and Neb starts an adventure with Den. But now, they are Ben and Ned.... Read through this book and experience all the pain that Ben feels as he helps multiple people. Cheer him on as he takes down bullies and saves the ultimate destruction of -- wait! I won't reveal the end - read it to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    AMAZING! STUNNING!

    Brian Jacques, you've done it again! This book has the perfect mix of adventure and friends who'll go through anything together. Although the essential idea isn't original, Brian Jacques still finds ways to make it his own. A must read for any avid readers and Redwall fans out there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    Another Hit for Jacques!

    When I got this book, I assumed that it wouldn't be even compare to the Redwall series. But once I started reading it, I was hooked! Although it has a Redwall charm to it, it still is amazingly original with its imaginative plot. Any Redwall fan should definitely read this, and anyone else as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    Must read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This was the greatest book i have ever read! Brian Jacques did an amazing job. If you like adventure and action books, then this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2004

    Misleading title, but still very good

    I thought the book was going to take place more predominantly on the ship, but it didn't. After the first 50-70 pages, it was no longer what I'd call a thrilling book, but I still enjoyed it. It was a nice change from my normally in-depth action-packed and fast-paced books, anyway. I was skeptical, too, when I first started reading this book. I never thought I could enjoy a book by Brian Jacques that wasn't Redwall. But I was wrong. This may not be a book for everyone, especially those who prefer the thrilling battles of Redwall, but I enjoyed it nonetheless, and I say Jacques's fans, or anyone for that matter, shouldn't be 'afraid' to read it! After all, if I, an ultimate lover of fast-paced books and loather of more slowly moving ones, could love this book, I think (almost) anyone could!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2004

    Like all of Jacques' work, Castaways is a real winner!

    I was a bit skeptical when I first picked up this book(how could anything beat the Redwall series?!) but I had faith in my favorite author. And that faith was well placed, because this is a book of extraordinary quality! It is, as all or his books are, an amazing adventure full of comedy, friendship, and love, with tragedy woven fittingly into this wonderful yarn! Whether or not you're a Redwall fan, I highly recommend this book. And Redwall fans, don't be skeptical like I was, because this book is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    AN AWESOME BOOK BY BRIAN JACQUES

    This book was a sweet, adventurous, and thrilling book. I recommend it to any fan of Brian Jacques and to other readers who need to find an awesoome book. You won't be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3