Customer Reviews for

Castaways of the Flying Dutchman (Castaways of the Flying Dutchman Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    Fun! Fun! Fun!

    Castaways of the Flying Dutchman is a fun story based on the poem about Vanderdecken's cursed voyage. It starts off with a young boy being tormented by his family. He runs away and falls into the water of a bay or harbor. Then, he is pulled up onto the boat. The boat crew decides that he will be the ships helper. He is a mute and is called Neb - short for Nebuchadnezzer. Neb finds, and hides, a dog he finds (and calls Denmark). Later, the Flying Dutchman sinks and Neb starts an adventure with Den. But now, they are Ben and Ned.... Read through this book and experience all the pain that Ben feels as he helps multiple people. Cheer him on as he takes down bullies and saves the ultimate destruction of -- wait! I won't reveal the end - read it to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    AMAZING! STUNNING!

    Brian Jacques, you've done it again! This book has the perfect mix of adventure and friends who'll go through anything together. Although the essential idea isn't original, Brian Jacques still finds ways to make it his own. A must read for any avid readers and Redwall fans out there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    Another Hit for Jacques!

    When I got this book, I assumed that it wouldn't be even compare to the Redwall series. But once I started reading it, I was hooked! Although it has a Redwall charm to it, it still is amazingly original with its imaginative plot. Any Redwall fan should definitely read this, and anyone else as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    Must read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This was the greatest book i have ever read! Brian Jacques did an amazing job. If you like adventure and action books, then this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2004

    Misleading title, but still very good

    I thought the book was going to take place more predominantly on the ship, but it didn't. After the first 50-70 pages, it was no longer what I'd call a thrilling book, but I still enjoyed it. It was a nice change from my normally in-depth action-packed and fast-paced books, anyway. I was skeptical, too, when I first started reading this book. I never thought I could enjoy a book by Brian Jacques that wasn't Redwall. But I was wrong. This may not be a book for everyone, especially those who prefer the thrilling battles of Redwall, but I enjoyed it nonetheless, and I say Jacques's fans, or anyone for that matter, shouldn't be 'afraid' to read it! After all, if I, an ultimate lover of fast-paced books and loather of more slowly moving ones, could love this book, I think (almost) anyone could!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2004

    Like all of Jacques' work, Castaways is a real winner!

    I was a bit skeptical when I first picked up this book(how could anything beat the Redwall series?!) but I had faith in my favorite author. And that faith was well placed, because this is a book of extraordinary quality! It is, as all or his books are, an amazing adventure full of comedy, friendship, and love, with tragedy woven fittingly into this wonderful yarn! Whether or not you're a Redwall fan, I highly recommend this book. And Redwall fans, don't be skeptical like I was, because this book is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    AN AWESOME BOOK BY BRIAN JACQUES

    This book was a sweet, adventurous, and thrilling book. I recommend it to any fan of Brian Jacques and to other readers who need to find an awesoome book. You won't be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2004

    NOT MUCH DIFFERENT THAN REDWALL AT ALL

    In the synopsis of this book, it says, 'Brian Jacques as you've never seen him before!' I don't think this is totally true. For one thing, a place is in turmoil from bad guys and cocky good guys save the day. There is also if you notice, a mystery/riddle for some sort of treasure that has to be found to save the place, sounds a lot like most of the Redwall books I've read. And the bad guys are cowards deep down and always cry and whine the leader says or does something they don't agree with. And the good guys are arrogant as well. Ben reminded me too much of Gonff the Mousethief (Mossflower). If you've never read Brian Jacques before, be sure to read this one first.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2004

    This is an AWESOME BOOK!!!

    I think Brian Jacques has done a really great job on this book. It captures you with his awesome spellbinding riddles, unique characters of all sorts, and makes you always wondering what's going to happen to Ben and Ned next. This book almost never made me bored I've even read it more than once. I highly recommend this book if your a fan of Brian Jacques

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    Land swaying fun, wot!

    Brian has, once again, worked his magic. The excitement, puzzles, and all around humor made this novel extremely enjoyable. I strongly recomend this to all readers, regardless of age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2003

    A Must Read

    This was an excellent read. Jacques has done another wonderful job, perhaps the best yet. I can't wait to read many sequels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    A third grade reader

    The Flying Dutchmen It first takes place in the 17th century on a Danish vessel and winds up in Chapelvale, England. The main characters are Neb and Den. Neb is a 16-year-old orphan who finds himself in the cruel care of his uncle. Den is a black labrador who Neb instantly becomes friends with. Throughout the story Neb and Den are solving riddles, finding treasures, and stopping evil. I recommend this book because it has adventure, mystery, and fellowship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2003

    Awesome!

    This book is really good! I loved it-I couldn't put it down. If you're a RedWall Fan or not, this book is something with it's own outstanding quality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2003

    Marvelous

    A marvelous tale, Jacques does it again. A swashbuckling adventure with two characters that are easy to like. One of Jacques best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2002

    smashing job, Sir Jacques!

    Jacques makes a nice transition from animals to people in this novel. He still uses the same incredible writing style that makes all of his novels top-sellers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    Fantastic

    This book was one of the most intersting and intriguing fantasy books i have ever read. You fall in love with the humor and courage of the immortal boy and dog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    Disapointing

    The title disceived me. The story took place on the ship for 50 pages,then they escaped and the plot became very hard to put up with. I am one who likes fast paced books, so when I discovered that it was about a person trying to save a town from being moved so limestone could be mined, I just stopped reading it. This was not nearly as good as Mr.Jauque's other books. So if you're one of his fans, stick with Redwall.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2002

    Fun and well written

    This book was fun and enjoyable. I thought it was better than the redwall series. Ben and Ned wonderful charecters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2001

    His best book yet!

    A great book, I loved the parts about treasure hunting and following clues. He makes you stuck to the book. I was up real late reading every night ;-). In short an exellent book (I didn't like Vanderdecken much but so what?!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2001

    Another score for Jaques

    this is a wonderful book, filled with suspense and thrill. I think Brian Jaques should keep writing about the Redwall books(which are wonderful)but also try to write a sequal to this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4