Customer Reviews for

Casting Spells

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    best series ever

    This is one of my all time favorite books! With its quirky cast of characters and magical themed love story, this book keeps you on the edge of your seat. Along with ' Laced with magic' and 'Spun by sorcery' this has become my favorite series to date! I can't wait for the forth book to come out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Shadetail

    May I join please? I am 13 moons. I can have an apprentice if you have any kits waiting to be 'paws!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Awes Awesome!!!!!!

    You cast a spell on me spell on me you hit me like the sky fell on me fell on me i decde you looked well on me well on me so lets go somewhere no one eles can see you an me turn the lights out know , know i take you by the hand, hand you another drink, drink it if you can , can you spend a little time ,time is slipping away away from us so stay stay with me i can make you glad you came. I didnt read the book but hay i just showed you the song im glad you came look it up on youtube well bye!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    To Sunkit

    Please read my post at the first reasult and do as that post instructs.
    ~MapleStar~

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Mapeleaf

    Becusr its areally good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    just finished reading "casting spells" and i loved it,

    just finished reading "casting spells" and i loved it, it has a wonderful plot, magic of course, the right amount of fun and drama, AND it is a book i can pass along to my granddaughter without any worries. i just purchased "laced by magic" book #2 and cant wait to get started, i may have a favorite new author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Magically charming

    The town of Sugar Maple and knitting shop owner Chloe Hobbs will pull you in from the very first page. The kooky fantasy characters are well imagined and yet believable too. It reminded me of the TV show Northern Exposure, only with witches and vampires. I think even a non-fantasy reader would enjoy the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Casting Spells

    Really loved this book. I have orded the second book.
    Donna A.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!!

    I enjoyed reading this book, it was funny and creative. I liked the magic and what the different characters in the book could do. I did not want to put the book down. It has a sequel "Love with Magic" I have not read it yet, but I am looking forward to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful

    I absolutely loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Cute and entertaining

    I read the book in one setting... a dreary Saturday and once I started it I could not put it down. Humorous and enjoyable reading. You could almost picture yourself in the little town. Definitly an author I am going to look for future books from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    This book was spur of the moment pick up and I loved it. It was a great read, the author had to abilty to take your mind away. I call this mind candy. The Author's writing style was interesting, she kept the storyline going throughout the book. I read it in just a couple of sit downs (because I couldn't put it down). I hope there is a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    Wonderfully off-beat and yes, magical!

    I loved this book, the characters, the setting, just everything about it made it a great read. I looked forward to picking up this book every night and I hated to see it end. I am hoping this author will write more like this and a sequal would be wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Magical escape!

    This book is fun and light. Just what I needed with all that seems to be going on in this hectic world. I have never read this writer before and I truly loved her style and sense of humor. I will be reading more of her books in the future. If you are looking for a serious book, this may not be your best choice, but if you are looking for something fun and light with a magical touch, this is a great bet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    charming urban fantasy romantic police procedural

    In Sugar Maple, Vermont, being the daughter of a sorcerer, Chloe Hobbs knows the rules that to inherit her magical power she must fall in love. However, half-breed Chloe, owner of Sticks and Strings knit shop in the northern side of the New England state, has vowed to never repeat her mom¿s error of tragically falling in love with a mortal only the paranormal hunks will do for her. Boston Homicide Detective Luke MacKenzie is loaned to Vermont to investigate a murder in Sugar Maple when he and Chloe meet. They are attracted to one another, but he is a dreaded human. Still Chloe begins to fall in love, which means she needs to learn how to use her powers even as she must choose between Luke and her town. --- Whimsical and satirical, CASTING SPELLS lives up to its title as Barbara Bretton casts a spell on readers with a charming urban fantasy romantic police procedural. The lead couple is a delightful pairing as Chloe¿s brains says no, her heart says yes Luke is confused with what he sees being done by the weird (to him) townsfolk, but is more bewildered by his feelings for the knit store owner. The whodunit is cleverly designed so that the audience will relish visiting northern Vermont in November while wanting sequels starring residents of the small New England town whose ancestors fled Salem. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2