Customer Reviews for

Casting the First Stone (Reverend Curtis Black Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2000

    Excellent Book!!!

    This was the first book I read from Kimberla Roby. Casting the first stone was a great book. I pick the book for a book report at school. I like the way Kimberla made the book relate to today's lifestyle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    Excellent Book - Couldn't put it down! Can't wait to read the n

    Excellent Book - Couldn't put it down! Can't wait to read the next book...Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Check it out a GOOD READ!!

    Took a chance on a new author and I really enjoyed this book, couldn't put it down.
    I've purchased more of her books and have loaded others on my Nook.
    Wished the 1st 3 of this series were on Nookbooks.
    Highly recommended!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended - A Must Read!!!

    Just started reading the Curtis Black series and this first book started it off with a bang!! Roby did her thing and I just started the second book and Curtis is at it again!! So excited to continue reading the rest of the books in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Church Folks uncovered!

    Ms. Kimberla did an awesome job of "keeping it Jesus" & "keeping it real"! Her honest look into the life of a pastor, his wife, and what can really go on is intriguing. The pastor was not a man after God's heart. Curtis Black is off the chain! Cheating...making babies...staturtory rape...in the church! He was very materialistic, and neglected his family. It was entertaining, and it took the topics to the limit without being rounchy. With a great ending...and it is the first of the Curtis Black Series which is completely a must have for your collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    Not what I was expecting...

    I expected this book to captivate me from the very beginning, but it didn't. I think it would have been a better book if I hadn't had such high expectations for it. I couldn't force myself to finish the book, but I could almost figure out how the book was going to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    Great Book!!!!

    I really enjoyed this book. I plan to read the entire Pastor Curtis Black series. I read "One In a Million" first, and I had never read any novels by Kimberla Lawson Roby, I was a little disappointed. But after reading this book, I'll continue to buy her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    Very Good!

    This book was just a good fun read! I would imagine these things go on all the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    Fantastic....Inspiring

    I don't know if I've ever read anything that I've enjoyed as much. I think one of the reasons is that this type of thing happens so frequently now. That's what made it so real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    Wow!!!!!

    This is a very good book. I have to admit it made me angry at times, but it was a good read overall. It does make you stop and think twice. But after all a minister was a man first. A must read!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2005

    The next ones better!!!!! OOhh and the third!!!!!

    In this one Kimberla Lawson Roby really did put together a great story.... In the book following this one is even better. The characters are so true to form!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2005

    KEPT ME WANTING TO READ MORE!

    I just started reading novels again and I could not put the book down! It was so entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2005

    Engaging, but not life changing

    This was a fun read. All along I think she is stupid, but it was still a fun read. Not life changing though. No questioning yourself and your beliefs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    What Will Curtis Do Next?

    This one definetly kept me on my toes. Not sure what Curtis would do next and how it would all play out. This one is definetly a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    Outstanding

    This book was so good. I really enjoyed this book. It was better than Behind Closed Doors and I am enjoying it. It had so much drama and Curtis Black was a mess. I cant believe that he was such a hypocrite like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    Kimberla L. Roby / is Outstanding!!!!!!

    this book was ahh-some..it was a true page turner.. each time i put it down to go do something, I found myself picking the book right back up..boy!! Curtis Black was a tripp indeed....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2005

    I Read This Book In 3 days

    I was very suprise with the book. This is the 1st book I have read by this aurthor, It was a very good book, and I am looking forward to reading other books by Kimberla Lawson Roby

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    WELL WRITTEN

    THIS WAS A VERY WELL WRITTEN BOOK AND THE MAIN CHARACTER'S ARE OFF THE HOOK THIS TO WAS A PAGE TURNER I HAVE YET TO READ THE SEQUEL TO THE SEQUEL OF THIS BOOK..BUT KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2005

    i love this book

    this book is so good i could not put it down the auther is the best, she know how to write a book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    Real Life

    I really have no words to describe this book it was just that good. This should be a movie, sitcom or something

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6