Customer Reviews for

Castle Hill: A Joss and Braden Novella

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Castle Hill was, like, the PERFECT novella. It overlapped events

Castle Hill was, like, the PERFECT novella. It overlapped events in other books in the series (and, therefore, we see characters we know from those other books too), and enriched and added so much to Joss and Braden's story at the same time. It packed a powerful, emotio...
Castle Hill was, like, the PERFECT novella. It overlapped events in other books in the series (and, therefore, we see characters we know from those other books too), and enriched and added so much to Joss and Braden's story at the same time. It packed a powerful, emotional punch in a short package.

Castle Hill takes us from Braden's proposal through the wedding and honeymoon and into the weeks following. We've seen bits of this story in On Dublin Street, Down London Road and in the upcoming Before Jamaica Lane, and now they're all coming together to paint this tumultuous and romantic picture.

It only took me a few hours to read the entire thing, and I was completely lost in the story the entire time. The best part about Castle Hill is that it knocked Braden down from the pedestal on which I had set him. Trust me - that's a good thing. Guys that are too damn perfect are a fallacy - they don't exist, and therefore make stories seem less believable. For once, Joss isn't the one to make some bad choices. I was so mad at Braden for a good half of the story, and I LOVED THAT. It humanized him and made him come to life even more. Now - NOW - Braden really is the perfect guy. Bravo, Samantha Young.

The only problem with Castle Hill is, it left me wanting even more!! :)

posted by Kristas_Dust_Jacket on December 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not long enough

Only 80pages..not worth the money...enjoyed 1st bookthis one ok ..

posted by 10573645 on December 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 5, 2013

    Castle Hill was, like, the PERFECT novella. It overlapped events

    Castle Hill was, like, the PERFECT novella. It overlapped events in other books in the series (and, therefore, we see characters we know from those other books too), and enriched and added so much to Joss and Braden's story at the same time. It packed a powerful, emotional punch in a short package.

    Castle Hill takes us from Braden's proposal through the wedding and honeymoon and into the weeks following. We've seen bits of this story in On Dublin Street, Down London Road and in the upcoming Before Jamaica Lane, and now they're all coming together to paint this tumultuous and romantic picture.

    It only took me a few hours to read the entire thing, and I was completely lost in the story the entire time. The best part about Castle Hill is that it knocked Braden down from the pedestal on which I had set him. Trust me - that's a good thing. Guys that are too damn perfect are a fallacy - they don't exist, and therefore make stories seem less believable. For once, Joss isn't the one to make some bad choices. I was so mad at Braden for a good half of the story, and I LOVED THAT. It humanized him and made him come to life even more. Now - NOW - Braden really is the perfect guy. Bravo, Samantha Young.

    The only problem with Castle Hill is, it left me wanting even more!! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    Link

    Night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    Recommended

    This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    I am addicted to these books. The stories are fantastic and I g

    I am addicted to these books. The stories are fantastic and I get totally sucked into their lives. Please keep writing!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Jessie

    You lead

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Bella

    Ok *walks forward with my hands behind my back untieing the strings to my bikini top*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Very moving

    Loved the continuation of Joss and Braden's story. I cried more than once. Needless to say i loved it. Just wished it had been a little longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog If y

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog
    If you love Braden, then there is absolutrly no way that you can miss out on Castle Hill. Samantha Young pens a brilliant continuation of Braden and Joss’s whirlwind romance in this novella. I didn’t think I could love this couple any more than I already had, but this proved me wrong.

    10% into this book I thought, wow, this is really good. About about 20% in, I was floored by the writing, the way Young managed to tell a full story even while skipping considerable amount of time in between. The same sexy banter you loved in ODS in present in this book and I actually think Young outdid herself with the sex scenes. They feel organic and true to the characters while also feeling bigger and better than before.

    By 50%, I was nearly hyperventilating. There are so many scenes in this book that are worth the reread. Truth be told, I think I may have highlighted and bookmarked the hell out of this story, just so I could go back and re-experience their love and passion once again

    Interestingly enough, as if this book didn’t already seem wonderful already, Young adds a conflict in that really takes this book from good to stellar. Joss’s emotions are all over the place and the miscommunication between her and Braden creates a well between them. It’s really wonderful to read and I thought that Young did a good job of portraying both their uncertainties and worries in a believable manner.

    After this, I want to do an immediate reread of On Dublin Street. But I think I will settle with reading Before Jamaica Lane, the next instalment in the series. If you haven’t read Young’s books yet, you’re missing out on a lot of sexiness and Braden-induced hormones! Get to it!

    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    I liked it a lot

    Just started reading books by this author and i have really enjoyed them . Thus us a great folliw uo tovthe vraydeb and joss story. Loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    More of On Dublin Street... This is a follow-up novella to On D

    More of On Dublin Street...

    This is a follow-up novella to On Dublin Street not meant to be a stand-alone.

    It was great to see Jocelyn and Braden again, to see how Braden proposed which was so romantic and true to form, their wedding and honeymoon. These two are such a sexy, humorous couple that you couldn't help but get invested in from reading On Dublin Street. But as with all relationships and the issues this couple have already faced a new snag coupled with miscommunication and misunderstanding threatens their new found happiness. It is so true that we hurt the ones we love and also fear losing them. Fear of loss has paralyzed Jocelyn in the past but she has come far with Braden's support and though painfully they do find their way through for their love is solid. Loved this visit and hope for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2013

    More Joss and Braden??? SIGN ME UP! I loved, no...adored them in

    More Joss and Braden??? SIGN ME UP! I loved, no...adored them in On Dublin Street. They are the reason I've begun my love affair with this series. So, when I saw that they were getting a novella, I had *jumpy clappy hands*!  And this novella was everything I had hoped it would be!




    In ODS, we saw Joss and Braden fall in love. However, their love story wasn't easy. They're both stubborn, fiery, and a bit guarded. Not to mention Joss's history. She has dealt with some serious pain in her life, so it was hard for her to let Braden in. Well, in this novella we get to see them happy and madly in love. We see the proposal, the wedding, and even the honeymoon. It's what happens once they get home that made my heart nearly stop. 




    It's not that I was all that surprised at what was happening, but I was nervous that Joss would close herself up again. Surprisingly, Joss handled this new life moment fairly well. It was my broody Scot that didn't. Don't get me wrong, Braden is over the moon about the next chapter of their lives, but he also jumped to conclusions before really talking things out with Joss. Feelings were hurt and ego's wounded but in the end, their love for each other helped to resolve their lapse in communication. 




    Overall, I loved this novella! It reminded me why I love this series so much. I also loved seeing that they were happy and moving forward, but I think it also told a very realistic view on relationships. They take work, no matter how in love you are. I'm having to back track a bit to get completely caught up in this series, but it's ok, because I'm enjoying every minute of it! If you loved On Dublin Street, this is a must read novella!




    Quotes: (So many to choose from. I love their banter!)
    ~I wondered if he knew hat just watching him sleep made me scary happy, breathless even. I wondered if he knew that he was absolutely, without a doubt, everything to me.-Loc 43




    ~"Everything but the ring," Braden murmured, his expression all smoldering as he leaned back against our front door, crossing his arms over his chest, and one ankle over the other. His pose said casual, possibly even bored. His eyes, however, were burning my not-even-naked-yet skin.-Loc 160




    ~It was hard. It was deep. And it was beautiful. Just like always.-Loc 207

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love Braden and Joss' story so much and was crazy excited abou

    I love Braden and Joss' story so much and was crazy excited about this novella. I especially loved that we got to see the wedding!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Short but sweet

    Though I know this is a novella I wish there was more. I really love braden and jocelyn, their relationship seems more realistic full of real internal conflicted emotions that anybody can relate. These are the type of stories that I get sucked into, very pleased!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Very enjoyable!

    A great, quick, read! Very enjoyable! You wont be disapointed except that it's over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Ms. Young never disappoints!

    This author is one of my top 5 & my only complaint is this isn' long enough! Thank you!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2013

    When I read this all I could think was that Samantha really want

    When I read this all I could think was that Samantha really wanted to give all of her Joss and Braden fans a Christmas present.  If you love them as much as I do, you need to read this novella.  Yes, I said need and not want.  It answers so many of the "what next" questions I had, especially when it came to how they would meld their lives into their ever after considering how strong both of their personalities are.  Plus, I am a sucker for a wedding.  In true fashion, both Joss and Braden do their fair of messing up and their share of miscommunications. I *may* have talked (ok yelled) at my kindle a few times ;).  Loved it!!!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    The Black Knight

    A knight wearing pitch black and shiny armor rides in on a well-built horse. "I demand the king!"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Jenna

    Name: jenna age: umm... lets not go into that.... gender: figure it out idiot. Description: long, semi wavy light brown hair, shifting, multicolored eyes. Always wore basic black robes, but had set of black robes embroidered with silver and gold thread for special occasions.personality: changes every second. Skills: is highly proficient in archery and swordfighting, but was born with an immense natural magical energy, and has chosen a magicians path. History: i may very well turn you to ash for asking. So dont. Other: i really dont have aything else to say at this moment, so if you ave any questions, ask. Just dont be surprised if you get turned to ash. Curiosity killed the cat.... unless radioactice particles did.(if you understand this reference, you are awesome.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Joss and Braden addicts get your fix :) Like so many of us, I t

    Joss and Braden addicts get your fix :)

    Like so many of us, I totally fell in love with Braden and Joss in On Dublin Street and I just can't get enough of them and their story.  I was so excited to see that they were getting a novella and couldn't wait to get my hands on Castle Hill and find out what was up with these two characters that we've come to know and love.  The story is not that long, but as with anything that has to do with Joss and Braden, it delivers big time.  Castle Hill is like buying a concentrated product, you only need a little to make a whole lot, and there is a whole lot of good in this little novella.   Yes my dear fellow Joss and Braden addicts, just as it says in the synopsis, there's a proposal, a wedding, and a whole lot of fun and super hot romantic times in the mix, with that humor that only Braden and Joss have, and that trademark sizzle that almost burns your fingers when you touch the page.  I warn you though, prepare yourself for some drama, because there is that also, the kind that makes you clutch your heart and flip the page waiting for what happens next and that HEA that you know has to be coming.....right?  Well, you'll have to read the book and find out that for yourself and I don't think you're going to be disappointed in the least.  You might actually want to pop Braden upside of the head a few times in this one, but you'll still love him and his super bad sexy self.  Castle Hill is a wonderful accessory to one of my favorite love stories and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Queen Katherine

    Queen Katherine <br> A tall woman with floor length chestnut brown hair usually tied up in a bun. She is built well, and not afraid to point a sword. Soft mossy green eyes, perfect skin, and freckles. <br> She loves animals and being outside, and often helps the servants with their daily work. She is one of the most popular queens in many hundreds of years, and loved by all.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2