Customer Reviews for

Castle in the Air (Howl's Castle Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Up to Par

Many of the other reviewers seem to have discovered Diana Wynne Jones only after watching the animated version of Howl's Moving Castle, prompting complaints about this being insufficient sequel material.

Well, if you are a fan of her work, you should know that her se...
Many of the other reviewers seem to have discovered Diana Wynne Jones only after watching the animated version of Howl's Moving Castle, prompting complaints about this being insufficient sequel material.

Well, if you are a fan of her work, you should know that her sequels are not the sequels of other authors- they fall into the same universe, and cameos of previous characters appear, but it's hardly a chronological storyline. Each new book focuses on new main characters with elements of the old. Consider it as similar to the Discworld series, or Kushner's Swordspoint.

As for the book itself, you follow along the not-quite-intrepid carpet-selling hero as he escapes death, bandits, and the sultan, and finds himself caught up in an international struggle to save all the world's princesses from an evil djinn. Meanwhile, he's obsessed with marrying his own princess, the sultan's daughter. She starts out sheltered but beautiful, but along the way both manage just enough character development that you are glad to see their happy ending, which is- again- exactly DWJ's style.

Bonus: daydreams can be embarrassing, cats are evil but cute, and the main character develops taste.

posted by JoriWinter on July 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Utterly Disappointing

To be honest I trully believed that this book was dull and was hardly a sequel to Howl's Moving Castle. How these two books can co-exist seems highly unlikely. The first book was marvelous and full of great characters with believable drama and spirit. In this sequel,...
To be honest I trully believed that this book was dull and was hardly a sequel to Howl's Moving Castle. How these two books can co-exist seems highly unlikely. The first book was marvelous and full of great characters with believable drama and spirit. In this sequel, I was left wondering why it was published as a sequel and not an entirely seperate book. Since it was a sequel it failed to meet the standards placed so high by Howl's Moving Castle yet, as a book on its own it would not be rated so low by me, for in truth it was an interesting story (just not as a sequel).

posted by Anonymous on July 20, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    Up to Par

    Many of the other reviewers seem to have discovered Diana Wynne Jones only after watching the animated version of Howl's Moving Castle, prompting complaints about this being insufficient sequel material.

    Well, if you are a fan of her work, you should know that her sequels are not the sequels of other authors- they fall into the same universe, and cameos of previous characters appear, but it's hardly a chronological storyline. Each new book focuses on new main characters with elements of the old. Consider it as similar to the Discworld series, or Kushner's Swordspoint.

    As for the book itself, you follow along the not-quite-intrepid carpet-selling hero as he escapes death, bandits, and the sultan, and finds himself caught up in an international struggle to save all the world's princesses from an evil djinn. Meanwhile, he's obsessed with marrying his own princess, the sultan's daughter. She starts out sheltered but beautiful, but along the way both manage just enough character development that you are glad to see their happy ending, which is- again- exactly DWJ's style.

    Bonus: daydreams can be embarrassing, cats are evil but cute, and the main character develops taste.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Castle in the Air is a very unique book in and of itself, and even more so as a sequel.

    What other author would first take you through a war with wizards, witches, and a medieval setting, then whisk you away to a land of deserts and sands where cranky sultans and magic carpets are the norm? And further more, what other author could get away with it?

    This book is certainly unique. You must approach it with an open mind because if you are looking for a direct sequel to Howl's Moving Castle, then you may be disappointed. While they do tie into each other, it is not until much later in the novel and very little.

    As s reader I do not enjoy Jone's particular writing style, however I do appreciate it for it's difference and the creativity with which she crafts her plots and stories. Her books are very much event stories. If you enjoy reading a book purely for the events and adventures that take place, you will thoroughly enjoy this! If, however, you are like me and like lots of character development, you may be unhappy.

    Overall this book is very entertaining, humorous, and completely unbelievable in the most whimsical and enjoyable way!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Love this author

    I've just started reading this book, and I already love it. I recently finished Howl's Moving Castle and loved that book, too. I noticed a lot of people didn't like this book because it doesn't continue the story of the first book. I think these people need to read The Chronicles of Narnia-ALL of them. They aren't all the same story in the same order, yet they all come together quite perfectly in the end. I love Diana Wynne Jones's style of writing and the way she describes scenes and people. I have a hard time putting it down!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    Utterly Disappointing

    To be honest I trully believed that this book was dull and was hardly a sequel to Howl's Moving Castle. How these two books can co-exist seems highly unlikely. The first book was marvelous and full of great characters with believable drama and spirit. In this sequel, I was left wondering why it was published as a sequel and not an entirely seperate book. Since it was a sequel it failed to meet the standards placed so high by Howl's Moving Castle yet, as a book on its own it would not be rated so low by me, for in truth it was an interesting story (just not as a sequel).

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    This is ALMOST as good as the first!

    It was fantastic! I love they ending, it is very suprising. I read it in TWO DAYS!! I wonder what will happen next? I really want a third book to add! Go Diana Wynne Jones!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    One of the best from the best. A true work a fantasy woven with

    One of the best from the best.
    A true work a fantasy woven with plots and morals, and spun together to create the ultimate book for fantasy lovers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as Good...

    While Castle in the Air is a good book I can't help but feel that Howl's Moving Castle is the best of the three novels. I only wish she would write a sequel focused only on Sophie and Howl.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2006

    shouldn't even be considered a sequel

    ok so i loved Howl's Moving Castle, but Castle in the Air should not even be considered a sequel.....it nowhere near earns the right to be called so .... i mean come on, if it was going to be a sequel the main characters would be main characters again.....not supporting characters......this book was an utter disappointment for Howl lovers.......it was a good story though thats why i gave it 3 instead of 2 stars......but i was expecting a sequel where it started where HMC left off not a whole new story......but i would have to say if you wanted to find out what happened go ahead and read the book 'cause it is a good story....just not sequel material

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2004

    A breathtaking sequel!!!

    I do admit that I partially picked up the novel because it was the sequel to Howl's Moving Castle,but all the same it was an amazing novel that could have held up on its own! I love the fact that I can relate to Abdullah on so many levels because he's a big daydreamer which gets him in so much trouble.At first I couldn't see how it was the sequel to Howl's Moving Castle,but towards the end it all came together.Diana Wynne Jones wrote an amazing,witty novel which deserves far more stars than I'm allowed to put!!! For anyone who's looking for a novel with humor,a flying carpet,& humor;you can't do any better than Castle in the air unless of course you prefer Howl's Moving Castle!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2000

    A 7th graders own thoughts

    I thought that this book, was a great, and adventurous story. If you like fantasy, you will absolutely love this book. It wisks you away to a land of magic carpets, genies, and princesses. It is a love story too, what with Abdullah searching for lost love, Flower In the Night. So, I would absolutely recommend this book, for any child or adult who is willing to read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Hi

    K

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Awesome

    Obviously some of you haven't read narnia because some of the books are totally different but come together in the end. Anyway Diana Wynne Jones is a great author and this novel definitely shows her skill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Howl

    In the movie they made howle look so good looking! He is awsome! Have u ever herd of the comic books for howls moving castle?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    The first book in this series Howl's Moving Castle is much bette

    The first book in this series Howl's Moving Castle is much better, but I still enjoyed the read. It is Harry Potter meets Aladdin, meets the Arabian nights, and a nasty witch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    unicorns are awsome

    Who thought diana wynne jones would put magic in this book?
    { sarcastic face}

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Kinjong

    K

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Help

    I LOVE howl and sophie in all of thier books... but ive read all of them and i dont know what to read now. I aslo loved harry potter and the inheritance cycle. If any one has any good sugestions for me just put #hattie and the name of the book. Thankyou sooooo much #hattie :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Starts slow but becomes awesome as it goes on

    I loved revisiting all the inhabitants of ingary from howl's moving castle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Aladdin

    Reminds me of Aladdin with more characters. Very entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Over the top, OUTSTANDING!

    This book is by all means, THE best book written EVER! I love this book sooooooooo much! I've at leastread the book only like 100 times!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4