Customer Reviews for

The Castle of Llyr (Prydain Chronicles Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    "Excellent book" would definately be an understatement. I was hooked form beginning to end! It's a must-read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Couldn't have been better

    This is the best series ever!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    AWWWWW GEEZ

    My vagina sac is like an inch long.......

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    great

    So cool amazing the thing is a tad bit less than others in the groupe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Thrilllbinding

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    Character-Shaping

    Major influence during my adolescence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    one of favorite books

    i finished it in 2 days.like the other reviewers i thought it was a wonderful book.but i thought it was weird when king rhuddlum said prince rhun and eilonwy were to be marryed.GROSS!!good thing eilonwy would never marry him.i really like the book of three and the black cauldron.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    Mature

    It is in this third enstallment of the Chronicles of Prydain series that the reader begins to see a growing bond between Taran and the Princess, Eilonwy. Though Eilonwy is separated from Taran (and, to his annoyance, out of his protection) he finds himself more irked by the fact that she is supposedly betrothed to the clumsy (but bless him, he tries) Prince Rhun. After accepting the fact the he is most likely below her status and birth right, Taran becomes frustrated. It is only the mortal danger that Eilonwy is put in by the evil enchantress, Achren, that Taran puts asides his malconent and puts thoughts of her first (which, coincidentally, aids him and her mysterious bauble). Not only through this abandoning of thoughts of only himself, but through the entire adventure in Castle of Llyr, Taran and the author, himself, pass on a message more powerful than any other that has come so far in Book 1 and 2: A part of growing up and a part of being a hero is sacrificing yourself (not just in body but in MIND) for another. Brilliant and touching, this book will not leave any reader wanting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2004

    WOW!

    The chronicles of Prydain were probobly the only books i had read since I was in third grade. I started them in 7th grade, and as a sophmore, I CANT GET ENOUGH!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2004

    Wonderful!

    The Castle of Llyr is soooo good! Eilonwy is enchanted by Achren and Taran and his friends must rescue her! You won't be able to put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2002

    The Greatest Book Ever Printed.

    I never read, but when I read the first book in the chronicles of Prydain,(The Book of Three)I was craving more. This is my favorite book and I think that everyone should read it. I know you'll love it. It's such a great adventure. I know it says it's for 8 to 12 year olds, but everbody who is sane will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    As Good As It Gets

    Lloyd Alexandr's Prydain Chronicles are equally as enchanting as JK Rowling's Harry Potter, Robert Stanek's The Kingdoms & The Elves Of The Reaches, and CS Lewis' Narnia. In The Castle of Llyr, Princess Eilonwy must leave her friends to go to the Isle of Mona for training as a proper lady/princess. But Achren, the evil enchantress, has other plans for the fair Eilonwy. Achren's plans include kidnapping the princess, forcing Eilonwy's friends to set out on a thrilling mission to rescue her. After all these years, The Castle of Llyr still manages to sing, delivering on the promises it makes and standing the test of time against newcomers like Robert Stanek (The Kingdoms & The Elves Of The Reaches, Keeper Martin's Tale, ...) and JK Rowling (Harry Potter).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2000

    Still loving it...

    Can I give it more than 5 stars? Please?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1