Customer Reviews for

Cat & Mouse (Alex Cross Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 372 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(214)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 372 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    My Favorite Alex Cross Novel to Date

    I am reading the Alex Cross series in order and this is my favorite one! I liked the twists and the love story. I would like to meet the characters...I think I would like the Cross family, Christine and Sampson. And I am very glad that villains like Gary Soneji are fictional. It's a very quick read and difficult to put down. I thoroughly enjoyed the book!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2005

    Two Thumbs Up

    I found Cat and Mouse to be very interesting, and it was pretty good considering that it was one of the first books of this genre that I had read. It is a very suspenseful mystery book that keeps the reader turning the pages. The style of writing that Patterson used was very understandable and it was easy to keep up with the story. When I first read this book I thought I already knew what was going to happen, but the story kept me sucked in with turning events and new characters. This book is good for readers who do not want the ordinary, predictable story it is for readers who cannot get enough of a little horror and a lot of suspense. I would suggest this book to everyone who loves to read. It contains all the elements of a good story: the imagery, the suspense, and the overall writing. I think the true mystery behind this book is why people don¿t read Cat and Mouse.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2004

    Hard to put down

    James Patterson¿s book, Cat and Mouse, lives up to its title. This book has many plot twists. Just when you think you know what is happening, something changes that is unbelievable. This book takes place manly in Washington DC, but journeys off to New York, California, and New Jersey. A central theme in this book is that nothing is what it seems. Cat and Mouse is about a black, DC homicide detective, Dr. Alex Cross, who has a Ph.D. in psychology. His nickname is the Dragon slayer. He works in the ghettos of DC; however he takes many large cases from the FBI that they can¿t handle. In Cat and Mouse, Alex is tracking an old nemesis that escaped from prison, Gary Soneji. Gary kidnapped a child from his class in a previous book. However, as he is chasing Gary, he realizes that Gary is actually pursuing him. He has to keep his guard up because Gary Soneji could be around the corner. Alex Cross has many people that are very close to him. Nana Cross his is grandmother. She is a loving and caring person that looks after Alex. Alex also has a daughter and a son. His sons name is Damon; he is very strong for his age. He has a big mind and takes after his father. The daughter is Jannie; she is even smarter though younger. She is also very affectionate. Another person Alex cares a lot about is John Sampson, his police partner. John is a very big black man, even bigger than Cross. He has known Alex since they were children, and have been the best of buds since. Alex also has a woman in his life, Christine. He loves her dearly. Alex had a wife but she was killed in a drive by shooting. This book was one of the best James Patterson books I have read. The plot is what fascinated me the most, because it had some many turns and twists. Also the way Patterson writes his books, you just don¿t want to put them down. Larry King even said ¿I¿ve just started James Patterson¿s Cat and Mouse and I can¿t stop turning pages.¿ However, no book is perfect, during the middle of the book it started to drag on. I lost my interest, but once I pushed myself to read past it, it became very deep, fascinating, and turned into a great book. I would recommend this book to anyone that enjoys a good police mystery/drama.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Caramelstream and dapplestream

    Looks around for the medicine den. Goes straight to it and goes out calling my siater over my ahoulder

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    The bob

    Eats food.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Eric

    Can u answer the questions?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Arizona

    Hi eric

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    One of His Best

    I loved the characters (both good and bad) in this book and am glad Alex has found a new love. The murder plots are complex and the pace is urgent. Great intrigue! One of Patterson's best books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Med den

    Crystalclan

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Recommend

    reading sreies in order. Now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    To NRM

    I gotta character bio at the lost hero. It's the 14th post l think :) Please try to use her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Great read

    Great book, can't go wrong with James Patterson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Nightclaw

    *curiously looks into the place, not trying to be rude*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Midnighg

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    The three kits

    Pad in and sniff around for any prey. The kits.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    $ bio

    Name Spookyclaw
    Gender male
    Colors black with gray stripes
    Siblings/parents Unknown
    Rank warrior
    Mate looking

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    highly recommended

    I'm enjoying this book very much. I've read "many" of James Patterson's books and will continue to do so. They are all "page turners" and that's the way I like to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    A.j

    Meet me here tonight.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    StarClan cat to THIS WHOLE CLAN. EVERY MEMBER

    Blood will catch fire and blaze through the Clan of River. Light will intertwine with dark, and the light of Sun will die. The Clan of River will change camp to 'waters of gray' first result. The Kit of Leopard will be born and save all clans.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 372 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19