Customer Reviews for

Cat & Mouse (Alex Cross Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 372 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(215)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2004

    Hard to put down

    James Patterson¿s book, Cat and Mouse, lives up to its title. This book has many plot twists. Just when you think you know what is happening, something changes that is unbelievable. This book takes place manly in Washington DC, but journeys off to New York, California, and New Jersey. A central theme in this book is that nothing is what it seems. Cat and Mouse is about a black, DC homicide detective, Dr. Alex Cross, who has a Ph.D. in psychology. His nickname is the Dragon slayer. He works in the ghettos of DC; however he takes many large cases from the FBI that they can¿t handle. In Cat and Mouse, Alex is tracking an old nemesis that escaped from prison, Gary Soneji. Gary kidnapped a child from his class in a previous book. However, as he is chasing Gary, he realizes that Gary is actually pursuing him. He has to keep his guard up because Gary Soneji could be around the corner. Alex Cross has many people that are very close to him. Nana Cross his is grandmother. She is a loving and caring person that looks after Alex. Alex also has a daughter and a son. His sons name is Damon; he is very strong for his age. He has a big mind and takes after his father. The daughter is Jannie; she is even smarter though younger. She is also very affectionate. Another person Alex cares a lot about is John Sampson, his police partner. John is a very big black man, even bigger than Cross. He has known Alex since they were children, and have been the best of buds since. Alex also has a woman in his life, Christine. He loves her dearly. Alex had a wife but she was killed in a drive by shooting. This book was one of the best James Patterson books I have read. The plot is what fascinated me the most, because it had some many turns and twists. Also the way Patterson writes his books, you just don¿t want to put them down. Larry King even said ¿I¿ve just started James Patterson¿s Cat and Mouse and I can¿t stop turning pages.¿ However, no book is perfect, during the middle of the book it started to drag on. I lost my interest, but once I pushed myself to read past it, it became very deep, fascinating, and turned into a great book. I would recommend this book to anyone that enjoys a good police mystery/drama.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Nightclaw

    *curiously looks into the place, not trying to be rude*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    The three kits

    Pad in and sniff around for any prey. The kits.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Great addition to the Alex Cross story lines. Kept up the suspense until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Xavier

    Uh huh. Okay. ^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great crime novel!

    Just started getting into James Patterson and his Alex Cross novels and I am actually quite hooked. I am on #6 now...I found Cat and Mouse to be very thrilling with lots of twists and turns which I love. Get read if you love mystery and murder!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    Cat & Mouse is super.....I started reading James Patterson Alex Cross series kinda late, but now I cant wait till I get to the next one. They are in my Nook and I sometimes go back and read over. Can't get enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Hazelstar

    Your mother was so much different than you, we hunted together, I killed like that because I was alone, and gave my thanks in silent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Another good book

    Like the storyline with the 2 cases going simultaneously and the ending of it all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Mistystar

    Um, okay.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Nice Book

    Liked the way the Cross family was included in the book.
    Took away some of the rapid changes in the story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    very good story

    401 pages and every page was worth reading. I like all the Alex Cross series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Another page turner!

    Next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Good read

    Another good book, but second one in a row that's a little screwy keeping up with at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Gr8

    I love love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great Cross Novel

    Wow .... I am reading the Alex Cross series in order and there has not been a bad one yet. Cat & Mouse is another excellent thriller with converging story lines and terrors. Patterson gives us great characters to care about - including Cross and his kids, his partner and best friend Sampson and, of course, Nana. The killers in the book are pure evil (Lechter-like) and their methods of murders are often heinous. Can't wait to pick up the next in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    keep them coming!

    Continuing to keep us in suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Alex Cross rocks!

    I've read most of the Alex Cross Series by James Patterson. Although Jack and Jill was my favorite, this novel was excellent. As usual, there is excellent depth of character (Alex and Nana, for example) which can actually make you care for the characters. The plot is original, somewhat off beat, thrilling and carefully thought out with a few twists here and there. I also love his writing style. His writing style and short chapters make his novels an easy read. Patterson has never disappointed me with this Women's Murder Club Series either. I highly recommend 1st to Die. The Quickie and Swimsuit were also excellent novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The mouse that chased the cat

    The 4th book in this amazing series doesn't disappoint, truthfully it's hard to read only one. I can read these non stop because each ending is deceptively left to be more ravenous, making me crave more, rather than bringing lots of closure. There is an ending, I don't want to fool anyone, but it's always open for more madness and mayhem for Alex Cross. Echoing real life, justice and truth slips through fingers, formalities and clever lawyers can make a case go either way, regardless of what really happened or with sheer luck, criminals escape iron clutches of jails and hospitals once again making Alex's life a living nightmare, yet he can't stop from doing what he knows best, there's too much at risk to simply move away or try and forget about them, they certainly have no inclinations of forgetting who's been hunting them and will stop at nothing to get to Cross.

    Cat & Mouse is as explosive as any of the other stories but at one point I was stunned and shocked, perhaps Alex has finally met his match, something happens that made me question the rest of the series, will he survive in the book? One must read to find out...Patterson doesn't' seem to spare or favor his lucky boy, he gets a beating after beating mental and physical and some chapters read more like a goodbye then a continuation of the series. It's gutsy for an author to play with the reader's feeling like this, it certainly works to make the book even better, although the bad parts are hard to read when I like the main character, I tend to wish he could skip the bad parts and get to the punishment which always tastes best. Cat & Mouse welcomes back the crazed stalker and kidnapper/killer Gary Soneji...the lunatic is back and taunting Cross more than ever, if that wasn't stressful enough, a series of brutal killings committed by someone known as Mr. Smith in England, is reaching to Cross for help, as always Patterson doest a great job of bring both stories together and making the ending even better than I could have imagined. Mr. Smith is another clever creation; with his addiction to anatomy and surgery, cutting people open, but the deaths aren't random, a dark pattern is forming, only the bravest and smartest can solve it. There's a twist to the story, a deep one that really made my brain feel like someone gave it a kick, I loved it! For those who want to read in order, make sure to start with book one, Along Came a Spider, all the books are connected and the characters go though changes, loses and some happiness as well, to avoid spoilers it's best to read in order.

    - Kasia S.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another good Patterson novel

    This guy knows how to keep it moving. Hard to put it down. This was not my favorite but definitely worth the time it took to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5