Customer Reviews for

Cat O' Nine Tales

Average Rating 5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Purrfect romance book

    a book for cat lovers who love romance, October 11, 2007 <BR/>What does a bad cat thief, a cat with an eye patch, a fat cat, a know-it-all cat, an old cat, a cat who loves a kid, a cat named Elvis, one named Bubba, and a cat that isn't really a cat all have in common? Romance! These are nine short stories and novellas about romance carried out with a little helping hands....um, paws....from some very unusual felines. Some are contemporary romances, some paranormal, even a wonderful historical that I would love to see make into a full book. I laughed, I cried and I fell in love again and again. Perfect gift for that cat lover for a birthday or Christmas. I would be hard pressed to say which story I loved the most. Each one is very special. I also liked that buy the book saw money going to Alleyats.org

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    I adore cats and adore Macgillivray's way of working them into her romance tales. This is a wonderful showcase for the multi-talented author, giving the reader nine stories from contemporary romances to a historical to paranormals. They are funny, emotional tales, and romance at its very best. BAD CAT is one sexy, savvy tales of furball match maker, Auggie Moggie. This story shows what an author can really do with the short story medium. Katlyn and her half Scottish wildcat drive Iain St. Giles up the wall--and he loves every minute of it. GETTING IT IN THE END - would make a full novel easily! Romance writer Catlynne Falconer and her half Scottish wildcat, Jack, are at a Authors' Renfaire in England. And who should they run into - literally - James Douglas Kinloch, the reviewer who has trashed every one of Catlynne's sexy romances. Only, he's so sexy that she almost forgets the stack of pans of her books. It's up to Jack to seem romance rules the day. DOUBLE, DOUBLE, TOIL AND TROUBLE - Cian MacKinnon and Gillian Grant are caught in a struggle over Castle Dunnascual, a long standing feud that was to end with the death of Cian's grandfather, when Gillian inherited the castle. Cian received the castle instead and plans on turning it into a bed and breakfast - over Gillian's dead body! It's up to Gillian and her cat Basil to stop Cian's plans, anyway they can. Again, this would make a wonderful, charming, sexy novel. RIDER IN THE STORM - is an emotional tale of love lost and love found, if one can only open their heart. Ciara MacIain loved her fiancé, Derek, who died seven years ago in a horrible automobile accident. Seven years later, nearly to the hour, she spots a red sports car off the side of the road in the spot where Derek died. The driver, Roarke Devlin, flags her down and begs a lift in the storm. Could the wish on a Blue Moon see Ciara able to love once again, or will the past forevermore claim her. This one really packs an emotional punch. The romance is conducted under the watchful and knowing Sinnjinn's eye. DEVIL IN SPURS - as a lover of Regency romances, this one really hit target with me. A dangerous highwayman, out for vengeance, sees his brother mistakenly arrested for his sins. Desdein Deshaunt is determined to set his brother free, and kidnaps Lady Ashlyn Findlater - and her cat Cyril - to use as a pawn in the deadly game. Ashlyn is a vulnerable, yet silently strong character that won my heart. The very special story truly deserves to be a novel! ALL I WANT FOR CHRISTMAS IS A HULA-HOOP...AND A MOTHER - precious Allison Challenger has her Christmas list made out. However, she figures Santa needs a helping hand. She wants a pony, a cat, a hula-hoop...and a mother. And she has set her big blue eyes on Leslie Seaforth, her ballet teacher. Leslie has a pony named Edward, a cat named Alvin and she is just perfect for her new mommy. Allison figures she only has to daddy's attention and nature will handle the rest. BLUE CHRISTMAS CAT - is a sequel to ALL I WANT FOR CHRISTMAS IS A HULA-HOOP...AND A MOTHER Rhys St. John has come back to the small Scottish village in hopes of starting anew. Dara Seaforth (Leslie's sister) has always loved Rhys, but was forced to watch as he married and moved away. Stuck in her small cottage at Christmas, snowbound, and missing her cat Dexter who recently died, she is puzzled when she hears a cat calling to be let inside. Elvis, the British Blue cat, appears lost in the storm, but soon his owner shows up to claim him - Rhys. Elvis knows best where romance is concerned! CHICKEN WHAT DU HELL - is a hoot of a romance. Remy (aka Royce Torqhill Remington Kinross, the 13th Marquis of Dunmoor and Seafeld) is hiding out for the world. Repairing his grandmother's home outside of New Orleans, he is tired of women after his titles and money. Why he is 'Remy'. Only Catonia, the sexy neighbor, has Remy and his cat Bubba in love. Bubba knows

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2008

    Entertaining and satisfying!

    The anthology, Cat O¿Nine Tales by Deborah Macgillivray, is an awesome collection of stories where a quirky cat is woven into each one. I love the whole concept of the anthology, especially having my own fuzzy, black football-shaped cat full of mischief and mayhem. Picking a favorite from this anthology is a tough one, but I would have to say that ALL I WANT FOR CHRISTMAS IS A HULA-HOOP & A MOTHER ranked high on my list, followed by BAD CAT. And don¿t even ask me to pick my favorite kitty! I loved them all. This anthology has it all¿sexy men, strong women, and happily-ever-afters! Oh yeah, and how could I forget the ever present cats that add an element of humor and sometimes even helps to bring the unsuspecting couples together? I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to kick back and relax and read a well written story. If you only have a short period to indulge, no problem, you can be taken away and get that feel good ending in one short story. If one isn¿t enough, you have 8 more to lose yourself in. I guarantee there is something for everyone, ranging from sweet to steamy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    a must, an absolute must!

    Oh wow! I am a avid romance reader and I utterly adores cats. Toss in I am a cover freak and this book is simply one created to please me. I love the cover, and but love what's inside even more if that's possible. A beautifully produced tradesize book, a collector's edition, it contains nine short shorts and novellas. Some are contemporary settings, others have paranormal themes, and even one is super historical. And all are populated with the most unusual kitty cats and to die for heroes and sassy heroines. The book runs the gamut of emotions, you snigger, you laugh, and even shed tears. I am hard pressed to pick out which stories I loved the most. An excellent showcase for the author. My only complaint: each time I finished a story I wished that the story would be made into a full novel. I just did not want the tales to end. Perfect addition to your keeper shelf. Perfect gift for that friend or loved one who loves romance and cats.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    A cat delight of a read

    Well with each story you fall in love with this writer's wit and you can see how much she loves cats by the way she set up each story. a Great book for us Cat lovers a true keeper and I love the Last story the best A Very Special Man my sweet cat name Is Cait Sidhe So you can see after you read it why it's the best one to me. A winner of a book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    Outstanding tales of romance and cats!

    What does a bad cat thief, a cat with an eye patch, a fat cat, a know-it-all cat, an old cat, a cat who loves a kid, a cat named Elvis, one named Bubba, and a cat that isn't really a cat all have in common? Romance! These are nine short stories and novella about romance carried out with a little helping hands....um, paws....from some very unusual felines. Some are contemporary romances, some paranormal, even a wonderful historical that I would love to see make into a full book. I laughed, I cried and I fell in love again and again. Perfect gift for that cat lover for a birthday or Christmas. I would be hard pressed to say which story I loved the most. ( reviewed done from Advanced Reviewing Copy)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Kitty for all Seasons!

    You'll laugh and cry, but mostly fall in love with nine yummy heroes in nine entertaining tales. Award-winning author Deborah Macgillivray has another winner with this book, and several stories in Cat have won awards or finaled. <BR/><BR/>I love Simon, the cat who . . . I don't think I'm gonna say. But I'd recommend him to anyone. :) His story is A Very Special Man. Then there's Elvis the Cat who connives to get his human, Rhys St. John, matched up good and proper in Blue Christmas Cat. <BR/><BR/>This is a high-quality trade paperback book with a beautiful cover, a perfect gift for any cat lover or romance reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Spiritheart

    Took some prey and walked back to camp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    EDGE OF TERRITORY

    EDGE OF TERRITORY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    Boringggggg....

    My advice is don't waste your time or money.....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2