Customer Reviews for

The Cat Who Came for Christmas

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    A must read for cat lovers!

    I love the late Cleveland Amory and this is a wonderful story of how a grumpy old man can be made into a less grumpy old man by taking in a stray white kitten at Christmas. I highly recommend the entire series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    What a treat, especially for the "cat-owned!"

    This book is a treasure... only found out about it recently, though it was written in 1987. Picture yourself in an easy chair, feet up, with your cat snoozing not too far away... and laughing out loud because Cleveland Amory gets it right on the nose!
    This is a comfort book... easy to read and relate to, with lots of historical references to felines and their notable places in history, even if that be in the folds of royal or papal robes... and the influence they had over their humans.
    Even if you don't have a cat, you just might enjoy the vignettes, Cleveland Amory's eloquent style of writing, and exquisite use of language. His, and the cat's as well.
    If you can't sleep at night, the world seems troublesome, this is your warm cup of milk, and after a few chapters you will go on to have very pleasant dreams, I believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    The Cat Who Came For Christmas

    This was a wonderful book. I can not wait to read the other books in this trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Polar Bear's Policies are a riot.

    Story of a stray cat (Polar Bear) and the learning experiences of him & his owner. Polar Bear has policies toward people and pets that made me laugh. This book made me rethink some of the things I took for granted with my cats and rethink why - such as how cats respond to their name being called.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    After I read this trilogy a white cat adopted me, too.

    I was in Mexico, when I discovered this book and made sure to get the second and then, the third book of the trilogy. It's nice reading that touches on the philanthrapist life of Cleveland Amory, the author while giving a sort of historical fiction portrayal of his beloved rescued stray. It's the sort of book to snuggle up to for pleasant reading like All Things Bright and Beautiful, but you can put it down one night and pick up the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2006

    Pretty Good

    The book was a very good book. But only some readers will like it. So if you like cats you should like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    aeiou !!!!!!!!! :: translated: mew

    An excellent read for anyone, whether they've been owned by a cat or not. Insightful as to their behaviours and educational as to how they discipline you. Not just a Christmas read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2003

    The Cat Who Charms You

    Great book, even better litterature. Light, fun, creative. I could go on forever, but nothing beats reading it. It's a wonderful, wonderful way to relax.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    one of the best Christmas stories

    THE CAT WHO CAME FOR CHRISTMAS is a reprint of one year in the life of Polar Bear the cat who adopted his biographer as his human pet. It was the night before Christmas when ¿Sergeant¿ reluctantly drafted Cleveland Amory (everyone else went home for the holidays so she was stuck with Cleveland as her assistant) to rescue a New York alley cat. They succeed, but Cleveland is forced to take the mangy creature into his Manhattan residence for the Yuletide season. Though an animal lover and activist, Cleveland hopes to quickly find a home for his temporary lodger, but soon Snow Bear¿s lure hooks Cleveland into keeping the feline as his roommate. This book tells their first year adventures in living together. <P> Though over fifteen year old and reprinted after the death of Mr. Amory, this nonfiction novel remains one of the best Christmas stories around. The book is clearly for feline lovers, but other pet owners and even the bah humbug I hate cat lovers will relish this delightful ageless story of the love and bond between a cat and his Homo sapiens significant other. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2000

    The Cat how came to people's heart

    This book is probably be one of the most emtertaining books for any person who loves cat's. It's so entertaining to se a man to take so much time to write a book about his cat. I'm on my 3rd time reading it, I loved it so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2000

    Animal lovers will cheer for this one!

    Mr. Amory manages to find a way to depict those extraodinary creatures we call cats and the amazing impact they have on those lucky humans who give them a chance. Through warmth and humor, Mr. Amory also entertains,educates,and enlightens the reader on the joys and sorrows of being an animal lover and activist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1