Customer Reviews for

The Cat Who Had 60 Whiskers (The Cat Who... Series #29)

Average Rating 2.5
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another Enjoyable Book from an Amusing Series Everyone Will Love

I have practically the entire Cat Who...series because I just enjoy the stories so much. It has comedy, mystery, and...cats! The cats drew me in as a young child on a search for anything to do with cats but as the years have gone by I have still enjoyed the series bec...
I have practically the entire Cat Who...series because I just enjoy the stories so much. It has comedy, mystery, and...cats! The cats drew me in as a young child on a search for anything to do with cats but as the years have gone by I have still enjoyed the series because the stories are just good. So pick up any of the books and enjoy the lives of James Qwilleran and his two Siamese, Koko and Yum Yum.

posted by birdovermountain on February 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Terrible Story---No Plot

Back when the "Cat Who" books first began, there were actual suspenseful mysteries to be solved. Well, the last few books have really done a turn around. All of a sudden the books leave questions unanswered and most of the story is repeating itself from previous books i...
Back when the "Cat Who" books first began, there were actual suspenseful mysteries to be solved. Well, the last few books have really done a turn around. All of a sudden the books leave questions unanswered and most of the story is repeating itself from previous books into oblivion. I truly miss Ms. Braun's old style writing. For as long as Polly and Qwill have been together, well, you just don't phone someone from Paris and break off your relationship. Then the barn burning and Qwill acting like it was no big deal. The "mystery" was barely worth mentioning. Nobody said if they burned the barn or someone else did the deed. Qwill is already set up with a new girlfriend, a head librarian. I have a feeling this is the next to the last book but I'd prefer it to be the last if this is as good as Ms. Braun can write anymore.

posted by Zuzi912 on March 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    Confusion and Concern

    I am going to reread this book. The reviews are so critical and speak again and again of the disorganization of the story. Some have suggested that the book may have been ghost written or attribute it to the author's age--which has to be at least somewhat advanced becasuse of her long writing history.

    The fact that there doesn't seem to be a 30th in the series concerns me. I didn't notice any particular problem with the story line but I did recall being surprised at an action that Polly took--which I believe was to notify everyone that she wouldn't be returning. I have been reading these books for so many years that I just accept them as they are written. Now I'm mostly concerned about the author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    N

    Hey, Rae.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    ????

    I think the author is running out of things to write and I certainly didn't see the ending events happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Is this the end of the road?

    This is a nice story, but there are a few loose ends and the murderer is revealed quickly. Qwill's life is also changed in several shocking ways, but with the author's death we may never know the rest of the story! I've read this series from the beginning and I enjoyed it for the people Ms. Braun brought to life. To me the "mystery" was always secondary to Qwill's life and interactions with his fellow Moose County-ites. You will be greatly missed LJB!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Just a heads up...

    LJB passed away with only half the book complete. I assume she didn't keep much in the way of notes...so the end is understandably weird.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    You miss the point

    I never saw these books as mysteries. They were just fun reads about life outside the big city. Now the real mysery is all the unanswered questions. Why not give us the answers we deserve? That's the other mystery. Maybe in the book. We'll just have to wait and see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2011

    Great

    Wat did she say?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Great

    good review

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    :o)

    I haven't read it yet but got it on moms reccomendation. She said it was a very funny book, I'm looking forward to the read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Average

    Kinda strange ending . . . maybe it's just me, but shouldn't a book have a distinct end? Not as good as the other "Cat Who" books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Confusing

    This book was kind of confusing. I did not completely understand the plot. I thought it was a mystery book, about cats. I would not really reccomend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Not as good as the previous books.

    Perhaps I missed it, but it seems the murder was never solved. I still enjoy the cats antics and Q's thinking. I will continue to buy Cat Who books just because.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    Lacking In Plot

    I have read the entire 'The Cat Who ...' series and this was by far the most disappointing. The plot was thin. There wasn't much mystery and I didn't like that most of the supporting characters were not involved. In addition, I thought the change in Qwill and Polly's relationship was lame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    Glad Polly left

    I have read all of the 'Cat Who' books and enjoyed this one, too. I did not feel that anyone else had written it, as some have suggested. Ms Braun is very talented and intelligent. I enjoy her poems, etc. I have to keep a dictionary handy to look up some of the big words she uses. So, it is educational as well as entertaining.<BR/> I have always enjoyed the Polly and Qwill storyline, but do not feel that she was as devoted to him as he always seemed to be to her. I think it is good that she has taken off for a couple of years, and I'm glad that Qwill has found someone else (Barbara) to keep him company. She seems perfectly suited to him. Maybe she'll be more loyal and not be running off all the time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    I think LJB is terrific!!!! O.k. this one left me wanting..

    Everyone has gone overboard with bad reviews! It has left alot of unanswered things for Quill, Polly, etc. But I take into consideration how long LJB has been writing and all the wonderful books she's given us. When I started reading these books I started right in the middle. Soon I was searching everywhere to find the first books and have read them all. I so looked forward to this book but also am so worried it might be the last. But when I finished it my first thought was she has really set up for a great 30th!!!! LJB don't let us down!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2007

    Who wrote this Cat Who book?

    I don't read these books because they are great stories or mysteries because they aren't. I read them for the cats, the characters and the locale. I can't say I've ever been disappointed in a Cat Who book until this one. There are two big changes that happen in this book (Polly in Paris & the barn burning). They are mentioned and then nothing more is said about them...you're left hanging. Qwill doesn't even seem to care that the barn burned. Did it burn down? A lot is left unsaid especially about the murder/death. Maybe these shouldn't be classified as mysterys anymore. Are we coming to the end of the Cat Who books? I assume it will have to happen one day but it will be a very sad day.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    Slight Bounce Back

    While not a great 'Cat Who', at least in this addition to the series there is slightly more 'sleuthing' going on than in the previous 2 volumes where I felt the mystery had been left out almost totally. Hopefully, this bodes well for the next volume in the series. A character shake-up was definitely needed and we got it in this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1