Customer Reviews for

Cat of the Century (Mrs. Murphy Series #18)

Average Rating 3.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Any Mrs. Murphy Anthropomorphic mystery is a special treat

Ever since Mary Minor "Harry" Haristeen remarried her ex husband successful veterinarian Fair, she has been happier than she has been a in a long time; dating back to when he cheated on her during their first marriage. They live in Crozet, Virginia; a town where all the...
Ever since Mary Minor "Harry" Haristeen remarried her ex husband successful veterinarian Fair, she has been happier than she has been a in a long time; dating back to when he cheated on her during their first marriage. They live in Crozet, Virginia; a town where all the animals regardless of species can talk to each other except humans. Harry's cats Mrs. Murphy and Pewter, and her corgi Tee Tucker wish they could so they can warn her of danger and tell her where bodies are.

Several residents travel to William Woods University in Fuller, Missouri to celebrate Harry's beloved sassy Aunt Tally on her hundredth birthday. There is a lot of tension between the alumnae attending; especially between Mariah D'Angelo who owns a ritzy jewelry store and stockbroker Flo Langston. Their overt animosity divides the attendees into three groups, supporters of each and those who wish they would leave.

Things turn strange when Mariah abruptly leaves. It is learned that Flo was going to accse Mariah of selling fakes in her store. When they return to Crozet, Mariah sends threatening emails to Liz Fillmore who sided with Flo and Terri Kincaid who sells high end ceramics at her shop. When Flo is killed by a sniper and Mariah is found murdered at the University, Harry and her sleuthing menagerie investigates who the killer is and why that person did it.

Any Mrs. Murphy Anthropomorphic mystery is a special treat as affirmed by Cat of the Century. The love between Harry and Fair shines throughout especalliy as he gives her space she needs to be herself even when she investigates. There are plenty of suspects with motives in a well constructed cozy that readers will enjoy in this one sitting read.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on February 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Who wrote this book?

I have read most of Rita Mae Brown's books and all of the Mrs. Murphy mysteries. I have always enjoyed Ms Brown's wit and intelligence, which shone through her past books. What happened with this book? In Cat of the Century, Ms Brown has substituted political diatribe f...
I have read most of Rita Mae Brown's books and all of the Mrs. Murphy mysteries. I have always enjoyed Ms Brown's wit and intelligence, which shone through her past books. What happened with this book? In Cat of the Century, Ms Brown has substituted political diatribe for the everyday conversations between the few regular characters that she has retained in this edition. Susan and Miranda are mentioned only in passing and most of the rest of the regulars are not even mentioned. Much of the action takes place in a little known university in the Midwest, far away from charming town of Crozet (at least her descriptions make it sound charming).

The plot is less than inspired and seems to be more a vehicle to advance Ms Brown's political views and to introduce the world to William Woods University. Most of the mystery is tied to alumnae of this university. What could have been an interesting twist involving a decades-old killing is not even tied into the main plot and seems to be solved as an afterthought. The only humor displayed in this volume involves the interplay of the animals; the human characters are mostly lacking any humor.

Ms Brown -- If your purpose in writing this book was to alienate your loyal readers, you have done a good job. I will not be looking for your next book. If I wanted political commentary, I would buy a book from one of the talking heads from TV. Unfortunately, I was expecting a well-crafted and witty mystery. Your loyal readers deserve better that this.

posted by 3245673 on June 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    Who wrote this book?

    I have read most of Rita Mae Brown's books and all of the Mrs. Murphy mysteries. I have always enjoyed Ms Brown's wit and intelligence, which shone through her past books. What happened with this book? In Cat of the Century, Ms Brown has substituted political diatribe for the everyday conversations between the few regular characters that she has retained in this edition. Susan and Miranda are mentioned only in passing and most of the rest of the regulars are not even mentioned. Much of the action takes place in a little known university in the Midwest, far away from charming town of Crozet (at least her descriptions make it sound charming).

    The plot is less than inspired and seems to be more a vehicle to advance Ms Brown's political views and to introduce the world to William Woods University. Most of the mystery is tied to alumnae of this university. What could have been an interesting twist involving a decades-old killing is not even tied into the main plot and seems to be solved as an afterthought. The only humor displayed in this volume involves the interplay of the animals; the human characters are mostly lacking any humor.

    Ms Brown -- If your purpose in writing this book was to alienate your loyal readers, you have done a good job. I will not be looking for your next book. If I wanted political commentary, I would buy a book from one of the talking heads from TV. Unfortunately, I was expecting a well-crafted and witty mystery. Your loyal readers deserve better that this.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I was disappointed

    I have enjoyed many of Rita Mae Brown's books, not just the Mrs. Murphy books. I found this to have boring characters and way too much political commentary. I guess you could use political views to develop characters but these comments did not develop anything just filled in space. Please fill-in space with more mystery or more humor or just more story. I will keep following the series but please try harder.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Outside the series

    This book is outside Crozet, outside the main characters (Mrs. Murphy is barely there), outside the series story lines. I did read it all, but I didn't care for it. The author does promise to return to the series with the next book. M

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    Read only if you want to be lectured on ultra conservative politics

    With each succeeding book Rita Mae Brown has become more of a soapboxer on her political views than a mystery writer. I've had enough and will not purchase any of her books again. It's not why I buy a murder mystery. If I want to read about politics I'll buy a book by someone who knows what they're talking about rather than forcing personal and biased views on unsuspecting readers. Goodbye, Rita, it was fun for a while.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Any Mrs. Murphy Anthropomorphic mystery is a special treat

    Ever since Mary Minor "Harry" Haristeen remarried her ex husband successful veterinarian Fair, she has been happier than she has been a in a long time; dating back to when he cheated on her during their first marriage. They live in Crozet, Virginia; a town where all the animals regardless of species can talk to each other except humans. Harry's cats Mrs. Murphy and Pewter, and her corgi Tee Tucker wish they could so they can warn her of danger and tell her where bodies are.

    Several residents travel to William Woods University in Fuller, Missouri to celebrate Harry's beloved sassy Aunt Tally on her hundredth birthday. There is a lot of tension between the alumnae attending; especially between Mariah D'Angelo who owns a ritzy jewelry store and stockbroker Flo Langston. Their overt animosity divides the attendees into three groups, supporters of each and those who wish they would leave.

    Things turn strange when Mariah abruptly leaves. It is learned that Flo was going to accse Mariah of selling fakes in her store. When they return to Crozet, Mariah sends threatening emails to Liz Fillmore who sided with Flo and Terri Kincaid who sells high end ceramics at her shop. When Flo is killed by a sniper and Mariah is found murdered at the University, Harry and her sleuthing menagerie investigates who the killer is and why that person did it.

    Any Mrs. Murphy Anthropomorphic mystery is a special treat as affirmed by Cat of the Century. The love between Harry and Fair shines throughout especalliy as he gives her space she needs to be herself even when she investigates. There are plenty of suspects with motives in a well constructed cozy that readers will enjoy in this one sitting read.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    writer's personal diatribe given @ expense of characters

    one of my favorite series and although I wouldn't have missed it, I am disheartened @ the writer's lectures. Each oration brought me out of the adventure, shattering the illusion. Plus there was much less involvement of Mrs. Murphy, Pewter and Tee Tucker which was another disappointment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I thought this was a mystery, not a political commentary

    I normally have enjoyed the Sneaky Pie Brown series, even though they do get a bit preachy, but this one was way over the top. I agree with the reviewers that wanted more story and less political views. This book hit one note over and over and over! Additionally, the writing seemed much less engaging than usual, almost as if a moderately gifted college writer had written it and was having a problem with how to write engaging descriptions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Lame

    While the mystery story was good, the animals thoughts and interjections did nothing to move the plot along. They were a distraction and could have been cut. I thought the ending was fairly abrupt too. Probably the subplot of Ralston's murder needed to be more developed because at the end it was really a "who cares" moment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Please!

    I'm becoming a bit dismayed by Pewter seeming to become a metaphor for Ms. Brown's apparent fat phobia. We get it already, the cat is comfortably round! But to continually hammer the message that she is also lazy, doesn't want to exercise or take care of her health, and thinks of nothing but food and eating, is getting tedious and probably not a little hurtful to your overweight readers who get enough of this sort of uneducated opinion too much already in their lives. Yes, I know it's a cat and I know she's just a character, but you soapbox everything else in your books now, and it doesn't take much to figure out what you're doing with Pewter. Might I suggest you educate yourself away from your stereotype with something like Linda Bacon's book 'Fit at Any Size'? Didn't you used to be a feminist?!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    If nothing else is available

    What is it about long time authors who take liberties with faithful fans? Rita Mae Brown uses this book to spout endless platitudes. There is barely enough time to squeeze in a story. Sara Paretsky is another author who jumped the story telling ship to wax on about the wrongs of the world. A big yawn, even Harry doesn't have a roll.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Love animals more than most people,

    Everyone needs to read Aunt Tally's speach! They might
    learn something,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Stormkit

    He paded in excited

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Maplejay

    ((Thrid to the last result. Three results till the last))

    •Maplejay•••

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Up until this book, I had pretty much devoured the rest of the s

    Up until this book, I had pretty much devoured the rest of the series. I could not get interested in this book to save my life. The characters were uninteresting and mostly mean, even the animals were being snippy little snots. I would skip great passages of stuff about the school and politics, which added nothing to the story. all of the other books, you cared about the characters and what was happening in their lives, not this one. Very disappointed and I doubt I will bother with the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Windwing

    "Yes. We will practice fighting soon. Its leafbare and theres most no prey"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Firebird

    The red and black tom waited for the others to arrive.
    -Firebird

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Whitestar

    *she sighed, looking down at her paws* "I am too." *turning, she called out to her brother.* "Wavepool! If you want, you can come stay the night at Horseclan's camp." "Really? That'd be great!" *Whitestar turned to lead the way and glanced back over her shoulder.* "You coming, Velveteyes?" ~Leaving Whitestar and Wavepool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Animals & Books

    This is a light read, nothing heavy. It is part of a series, but can be stand alone. If one has read the series one would be familiar with the characters & all the animals. It's just a fun read. There is nothing heavy about this book. I do like that every book while having many of the same characters, tends to bring a few more into the fold. The other think I like is each book introduces something; agriculture, animals, a way of doing something. If you haven't read the series...give yourself a gift & read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    I liked this story

    Enjoyed the story, including the political discourse. Loved the characters, and animals are as endearing as ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    not her best

    While I agree with the others that is was a bit too political, I will keep rrading the series. No one is perfect, not me or Ms. Brown. Let us see how the next one goes hmmm?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4