Customer Reviews for

Cat on the Edge (Joe Grey Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

You're gonna love the Joe Grey series!

This was the first one I read and was hooked. Now I'm on the 6th in the Joe Grey series and love each one just as much as the 1st. I highly recommend this book as well as the rest of the series.

posted by loves2readSR on February 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Cat over the Edge

I was very disappointed in this book. The main character was very difficult for me to like. She seemed like a loose cannon who went from one situation to another and kept getting in trouble or beaten up or shot at, but never learned from any of those experiences!!! I re...
I was very disappointed in this book. The main character was very difficult for me to like. She seemed like a loose cannon who went from one situation to another and kept getting in trouble or beaten up or shot at, but never learned from any of those experiences!!! I read the entire book to find out if she ever got smart and likable. Unfortunately, she didn't - at least not for me.

posted by 2920056 on January 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    You're gonna love the Joe Grey series!

    This was the first one I read and was hooked. Now I'm on the 6th in the Joe Grey series and love each one just as much as the 1st. I highly recommend this book as well as the rest of the series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Cats can talk!

    "Cat on the Edge" begins a new series by Shirley Rousseau Murphy. The main character,
    Joe Grey, is a large tom cat. His character and personality are established in the novel. The reader soon develops an interest and liking for him. As the story unfolds, the reader learns more about Joe and is able to accept Joe's new ability to talk and to understand human conversation. This special ability allows us as readers to follow Joe in his quest to solve a murder that he has witnessed. His journey is complicated and enriched by the addition of another cat, Dulcie. She adds a level of interest and sweetness to the story that happily brings us along on the exciting ride that this novel gives us. This series will be well worth the read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2001

    If you love our furry pals.....

    If you thought the Cat Who.... series was just not up to par, and you have been turned off to cat mysteries completely, then think again. The Joe grey mysteries are absorbing, creative and delightful. They are all different from each other, and always leave you dangling with fun suspense. And they make you wish your cat could talk.........

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Cat over the Edge

    I was very disappointed in this book. The main character was very difficult for me to like. She seemed like a loose cannon who went from one situation to another and kept getting in trouble or beaten up or shot at, but never learned from any of those experiences!!! I read the entire book to find out if she ever got smart and likable. Unfortunately, she didn't - at least not for me.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Witness to a Murder through a cats eye view

    Lovable Joe Grey, a middle aged tomcat must leave his comfortable home with bachelor Clyde after witnessing a murder. While he is only a cat, the murderer doesn't want him around. The story provides memorable and lovable characters and a good understanding of "cat outlook". While it is not a story of deep character growth, it is an interesting read not easily put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    entertaining series of books

    This is the first of a number of books now about cat detectives in a small town in California. I have read them all and find them very entertaining. The cats solve mysteries and aid the local police and investigators by talking on the telephone. Only a few people know that the cats can talk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    I am an avid fan. I've loved Joe Grey and Dulce since I first st

    I am an avid fan. I've loved Joe Grey and Dulce since I first started reading the series. They make me laugh and hope they don't get hurt. Lots  of fun!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    I'm not usually a big fan of books that require a good deal of s

    I'm not usually a big fan of books that require a good deal of suspension of belief, but I found Joe Gray , the cat, to be an exception to that reasoning within this book.  I thoroughly enjoyed the 'unbelief', the complete knowledge of cat behaviors, and an interesting and believable mystery. 




    Joe Gray has lived a purrrrrfectly  splendid life after coming to live with Clyde, who found him almost dead on the streets of Molena Point.  Then one day, Joe realized that he could talk and read like a human.  This was a bit scary, but came in very handy after he witnessed a murder, and the murderer decided that the pesky cat needed to die too. Dulcie, the pretty little girl cat down the block has a similar story,  but she also likes snatching beautiful, silky, soft things from the neighbors.  The murderer is after her too.




    The mystery involves fancy cars, lots of money and adulterous affairs.  Joe and Dulcie use their uniquely cat skills, interestingly combined with some human traits, to make this an excellent cozy cat mystery. This first in a series, is followed up by many more Joe Gray mysteries, so the fun and mysteries, hopefully, just keep coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Love the book

    Avery fun entrtaining series. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Not a Favorite

    I expected to enjoy this book. I usually do like books with cats and dogs as characters; or told from their point of view. But I found this hard to get into and no real explanation as to what caused changes in the cats and Kate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    For all cat lovers.

    I truly enjoyed this book. Anyone who lives with a cat would find this book interesting. Living with four cats myself I know each of them have their own personalities,would love to know what they are thinking and would be thrilled to communicate with them if it was possible. I will definitely check out the other books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Interesting in its originality, but...

    The story has its pitfalls but enchants with the cat's Point of View. The characters combine a cat's point of view - described with great insight and originality - with human elements. A cat who finds itself being able to understand human speech and deems himself utterly alone in that ability sets out to solve a crime and to evade the shadowy figure who is after him, trying to kill him. We meet other cats with different catty personalities. We gain insight in the world of the cat while being captivated by the mystery of the story. Great style, language and descriptiveness, but after a while the array of talking cats and shapeshifting humans becomes a bit tedious. I enjoyed this book but probably won't read any of the sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Cute

    Cute story and an easy rainy day read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hello Joe

    I had to kick start my reading that had been constrained to gosh darn reality. This little tome has got me into the whole series, each and every one so far fun, and, frankly feline. This is an intro into a world where cats can speak so, well, what more needs to be said. With Joe Gray PI prowling the streets how can any neer-do-well, or the well-heeled for that matter, get away with dark crime in this bucolic seaside village? Great Great Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    A different idea but interesting

    I saw this book and I love the idea of cats and mysteries. I found this book to be off beat and different and at times, difficult to follow but the author does a great job with wrapping it all up by the end. I love Joe and his love and concern for his owner. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good mystery and a good cat. If you love to talk to your animals, like I do, then read this book and discover what talking to your pets really means. You will love this book and a 5-star recommend for this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Fun but somewhat strange

    I just discovered the Joe Grey series. As a cat lover this is a fun mystery book if you can get past the cat to human transformations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2