Customer Reviews for

Catch Me (Detective D. D. Warren Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 269 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(148)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic book!!

I believe this book will tie with The Perfect Husband as my favorite Lisa Gardner book. The mystery keeps you guessing to the point that even if you think you have it figured out, you can't wait to get to the end to find out if you're right. The bonus is having so many ...
I believe this book will tie with The Perfect Husband as my favorite Lisa Gardner book. The mystery keeps you guessing to the point that even if you think you have it figured out, you can't wait to get to the end to find out if you're right. The bonus is having so many characters from past books (including JT and Tess from The Perfect Husband) included and seeing where they are today. Amazingly, I think the only past character not to show up is Bobby Dodge, the one character you figure would. Whether you are a huge Lisa Gardner fan or if this is the first book you read by her, you will enjoy it.

posted by Avid_ReaderLL on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Cop, Bad Cop

D.D. Warren, the Boston homicide detective featured in this widely-read series, faces two challenges in this latest installment: a new baby boy who keeps her and her boyfriend, Alex, up through the night and, now that she’s back from maternity leave, a complex mystery s...
D.D. Warren, the Boston homicide detective featured in this widely-read series, faces two challenges in this latest installment: a new baby boy who keeps her and her boyfriend, Alex, up through the night and, now that she’s back from maternity leave, a complex mystery surrounding a young woman who approaches her with the admonition that she expects to be murdered four days hence and she hopes D.D. will handle the investigation. What to do? How can you undertake the investigation of a murder that hasn’t even taken place yet?

The prospective victim’s name is Charlene, known as Charlie throughout. She’s spent the past year in training: running, boxing, and learning to shoot in anticipation of the big event. It seems her two best friends were strangled on January 21 in each of the previous two years, and logic dictates that it’s now Charlie’s turn.

The plot traces the next days and the events that take place, which demonstrate D.D.’s evolving character change brought about by her domestic developments and Charlie’s preparations to meet her expected fate. An interesting aside within the sub-plot, which addresses murders of pedophiles, involves a young boy lured into a potential sex act by the user of an internet game appealing to youngsters. The author uses the technique to tell the story by alternating third person p.o.v. to relate D.D.’s activities, and first person describing Charlie’s.

Not a thrill a page, perhaps, but certainly an excellent thriller, and recommended.

posted by tedfeit0 on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Fantastic book!!

    I believe this book will tie with The Perfect Husband as my favorite Lisa Gardner book. The mystery keeps you guessing to the point that even if you think you have it figured out, you can't wait to get to the end to find out if you're right. The bonus is having so many characters from past books (including JT and Tess from The Perfect Husband) included and seeing where they are today. Amazingly, I think the only past character not to show up is Bobby Dodge, the one character you figure would. Whether you are a huge Lisa Gardner fan or if this is the first book you read by her, you will enjoy it.

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    Great book with great story line. Stayed up late to finish it.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Highly Recommend to the 10th power

    D.D. is the cop I want on my side at all times... I wishe that she and Bobby could have worked out but I'm glad they are friends, they play so well together... Can't wait for the next one

    16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    EXCELLENT THRILLER!

    Catch Me by Lisa Gardner is her best yet! Talk about plot twists and a thrilling storyline. WOW. Highly recommended! I loved it.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Riveting ¿ Caught Me!

    Lisa Gardner once again proves to her fans why she is one of the best in the business with her newest release in her Sergeant Detective D.D. Warren series Catch Me! As a newly made mom returning from maternity leave, sleep deprived and caffeine deficient Detective D.D. Warren walks onto the crime scene of her first case in ten weeks to discover suspicions are high the victim sitting before her is no isolated incident. By all appearances, someone is targeting pedophiles although not a bad idea, D.D. must pull her team together to follow what scant clues the almost antiseptic scene provides. A vigilante with a neat streak, D.D. fears they have their work cut out for them. A lone figure dressed in dark clothing observing from outside the crime scene makes a run for it as D.D. makes chase, thoughts that it certainly could not be that easy as she coaxes her still adjusting system to catch what she hopes is the perpetrator. Alas, although D.D. manages to stop her quarry in their tracks, the true purpose behind Charlene Rosalind Carter Grant’s appearance has D.D. stopping in hers. A riveting pager turner that exposes more that we could possibly imagine churning within the dark under belly of the world of pedophiles while providing a glimpse into the twisted psychological damage a parent can inflict on a child. To the delight of fans everywhere however, the surprise cameo appearances of past characters read like a family reunion that stretches across Lisa’s entire writing career, which is highly apropos given that the once hard-core and singular detective’s character has evolved into a family way herself! One wonders if motherhood will prove harder to D.D. than catching criminals. An excellent read, you will not be able to put this book down even once you have finished reading it!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Can it get any better??

    **HIGHLY Recommended** Lisa Gardner is simply amazing!!! The way she tells several stories about several characters that keep you trying to figure out how they all fit together is unbelieveable!! What an awesome and enjoyable addition to the series. I surely hope it's not the last. D.D. is so funny & I'm enjoying reading about not only her adventures at work, but also at home with her new life and baby! Another wonderful read by Lisa.... definitely can't wait until the next one!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Great

    I loved it. It incorporated soo many other characters from previous novels. It was cool to see the characters that are normally separate interact. It was very suspenseful too. Overall great read...as always

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Terrifying. Awesome. I couldn¿t put it down.

    Hope for the best. Plan for the worst.
    It’s a shame when those are the words you must live by.
    When you were raised by an insane mother.
    When both of your friends died on January 21st at 8 pm exactly one year apart.
    When you know that you’re next, there are only four days left, and no where to turn.
    I have a question to ask… if you knew that your time was almost at an end, what would you do?
    Would you run and hide. Or, would you fix the wrongs that you see around you every day?
    Would the legality matter? Or, would the victims matter more?

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Wow!

    I loved the story. It had me guessing till the end!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Perfect

    This is Lisa Gardner's best book so far - I just couldn'tstop reading. Hey, about another one real soon?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    2 THUMBS UP!

    LOVED THIS BOOK! I couldn't put it down - stayed up late to finish it. D D Warren is kind of quirky and I found myself laughing off and on throughout the book. Lisa Gardener is a superb storyteller and this book did not disappoint! With all of the plot twists, I found myself at the edge of my seat, waiting for what came next. I was completely suprised when the killer was finally revealed! Never would I have suspected... You have to read this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    I fell in love with both of Lisa's series and this book is no di

    I fell in love with both of Lisa's series and this book is no disappointment. D. D is back again even better. James Patterson may be the best male author but Lisa is by far the best female author. I have yet to read any of her mystery books and not been able to put them down until I finish. I read them over twice and each time is only better. Must read these!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Best Lisa Gardnet book to date

    Please give us more DD! I love her softer side, but she is still a kick ass detective!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Excellent Book, Highly Recommend

    I really enjoy this series and this author. DD Warren is an interesting character. The books are thoroughly enjoyable. If you haven't read the rest of the series I would at least read the short story before this book. Her books could possibly stand alone but they are good enough to start at the beginning and read them all.

    Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Cody

    Gtgtb be on tomarrow

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Great read

    This books sneaks up on you like the boogie man in the dark! I loved this! Great read.... only make sure the lights are on.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Time is up...CATCH ME...if you can!

    I found myself hooked from the very first page of Lisa Gardner's latest novel, Catch Me. I have read Gardner's books for years and her stories are always fresh and exciting!

    Charlene Grant is a young woman who trained for one year for her biggest test ever...saving her own life! Two of her friends have been killed, and Charlene fears she is next. Understandably, Charlene finds it hard to trust anyone and her best friend now is a "dog that's not her dog".

    Charlene goes as far as to report her upcoming death to Detective DD Warren, who must figure out if Charlene is really a victim or not. DD Warren must juggle between being a new mom and her job. Now she must deal with a murder that hasn't happened yet.

    Will Charlene Grant die? Only time will tell, and her time is up January 21st!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2015

    ZQQaZqeqeqpasqwqe

    ADqtqtVagtq
    AladqpQPALASQWQEQqqlqqpq
    alqeaiy

    AsZqtqpZ
    QpaaswiQo weyqqwqqasqwqwdlalasaql

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2015

    Great read! I could always count on Lisa Gardner to spin a terri

    Great read! I could always count on Lisa Gardner to spin a terrific and riveting thriller. This book kept me guess at who the possible killer could be to (practically) the end of the story. And I'm so pleased that her main character, while vulnerable but strong (and a suspect), didn't do stupid things that would make me roll my eyes. I've read the D.D. Warren books out of order and was pleasantly surprised to learn that she has a new baby boy and romantic love. Now I must read the book preceding Catch Me to learn about the beginning of D.D. and Alex! I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2014

    Lisa Gardner is always great readi. B&N gets them to me.

    Lisa Gardner is always great readi. B&N gets them to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8