Customer Reviews for

Catch Me a Cowboy (Deep in the Heart of Texas Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

How hard is it to dust off the demons from the past anyway? S

How hard is it to dust off the demons from the past anyway?

Shirlene Dalton has known life at the both ends of the food chain and knows the top is much better. So, why again has she found herself living in the awful mobile home she grew up in - well out of control s...
How hard is it to dust off the demons from the past anyway?

Shirlene Dalton has known life at the both ends of the food chain and knows the top is much better. So, why again has she found herself living in the awful mobile home she grew up in - well out of control spending for one. Shirlene was a grieving widow who was offered help but she couldn't stop to get it she was busy shoe shopping. Now she has found herself trying to make the ends meet in her broken down home and get along with her neighbor Bubba Wilkes, the biggest redneck in Texas. She knows the trailer is the worse choice of the two but Bubba is pretty awful, right?

Everyone has a secret but the one Bubba is carrying around with him is a whopper that is intended to bring Bramble, TX to its knees. Yet, now that Bubba has found himself surrounded by the local culture and especially Shirlene, he is not so sure all his great plans should come to fruition. Revenge is great until you discover there are actual people involved who you begin to care about and treat you like a neighbor. Shirlene is the biggest surprise of them all for Bubba and one that he is enjoying the heck out of and has plans of enjoying her with a little less clothing on. Even though her life has taken a turn for the worst, Shirlene reminds him it is not anyone's responsibility but hers to make life work out as it should.

Shirlene is also stumbling through life with the four homeless kids who had been living in her mobile home; the biggest question of all was "where is their mama?" Shirlene wanted children but not someone else’s', especially a surly teenaged girl. But with Shirlene out of her own home she is not about to evict these kids and decides to take on the responsibility of figuring out how to help them find a way to someone's home where they can feel safe, just like what Shirlene is looking for.

Katie Lane has the perfect combination of life and love in Texas. The first two books were wonderful stories but Shirlene was the one all readers were rooting to have a HEA and the way down that road was a wild ride all around. You should read the first two books because they lay out the whole story line but either way buy this book it is great.

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on March 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

No Thank You

From the four and half star rating, I assume Ms. Lane has many friends. Is there anyone writing cowboy romances who can actually write? Cliched, predictable plot, third grade writing skills, and a lack of editorial guidance (or maybe Ms. Lane simply got stuck with a lou...
From the four and half star rating, I assume Ms. Lane has many friends. Is there anyone writing cowboy romances who can actually write? Cliched, predictable plot, third grade writing skills, and a lack of editorial guidance (or maybe Ms. Lane simply got stuck with a lousy editor?) make this a less than one star read.

posted by Edgy on August 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    How hard is it to dust off the demons from the past anyway? S

    How hard is it to dust off the demons from the past anyway?

    Shirlene Dalton has known life at the both ends of the food chain and knows the top is much better. So, why again has she found herself living in the awful mobile home she grew up in - well out of control spending for one. Shirlene was a grieving widow who was offered help but she couldn't stop to get it she was busy shoe shopping. Now she has found herself trying to make the ends meet in her broken down home and get along with her neighbor Bubba Wilkes, the biggest redneck in Texas. She knows the trailer is the worse choice of the two but Bubba is pretty awful, right?

    Everyone has a secret but the one Bubba is carrying around with him is a whopper that is intended to bring Bramble, TX to its knees. Yet, now that Bubba has found himself surrounded by the local culture and especially Shirlene, he is not so sure all his great plans should come to fruition. Revenge is great until you discover there are actual people involved who you begin to care about and treat you like a neighbor. Shirlene is the biggest surprise of them all for Bubba and one that he is enjoying the heck out of and has plans of enjoying her with a little less clothing on. Even though her life has taken a turn for the worst, Shirlene reminds him it is not anyone's responsibility but hers to make life work out as it should.

    Shirlene is also stumbling through life with the four homeless kids who had been living in her mobile home; the biggest question of all was "where is their mama?" Shirlene wanted children but not someone else’s', especially a surly teenaged girl. But with Shirlene out of her own home she is not about to evict these kids and decides to take on the responsibility of figuring out how to help them find a way to someone's home where they can feel safe, just like what Shirlene is looking for.

    Katie Lane has the perfect combination of life and love in Texas. The first two books were wonderful stories but Shirlene was the one all readers were rooting to have a HEA and the way down that road was a wild ride all around. You should read the first two books because they lay out the whole story line but either way buy this book it is great.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Recommend.

    Recommended. Fun, romantic, and Billy was hot.
    S.A.K.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    No Thank You

    From the four and half star rating, I assume Ms. Lane has many friends. Is there anyone writing cowboy romances who can actually write? Cliched, predictable plot, third grade writing skills, and a lack of editorial guidance (or maybe Ms. Lane simply got stuck with a lousy editor?) make this a less than one star read.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Shirlene Dalton had it all. She was married to the richest guy i

    Shirlene Dalton had it all. She was married to the richest guy in Bramble, TX and spent money like there was no tomorrow. But when he up and dies suddenly with his company on the verge of bankruptcy which also means the town is in jeopardy, Shirlene keeps on spending to get over her grief and pays no attention that she has no way of paying off loans and ignores warning's from the bank until she is evicted from her mansion. Shirlene didn’t start off in life with a silver spoon in her mouth. She grew up dirt poor living in a trailer with no father and an absentee alcoholic mother. When she is evicted she has no other place to go but back to that trailer. Her neighbor Bubba Wilkes, who she thinks is one the dumbest and biggest rednecks in Texas.

    Bubba Wilkes thinks Shirlene is nothing but a gold digging woman. And it also turns out Bubba is who he says he is and he has had nothing but revenge on his mind against the folks of Bramble, TX.

    But both Bubba and Shirlene have surprises in store for them. Shirlene realizes she has four homeless kids that been living in her mobile home ranging from 17 to less than a year. She buts heads with the kids yet cannot make herself turn them in even though she doesn’t have a dollar to her name nor really knows anything about taking care of kids. Bubba even though he came to Bramble with set the town up to fail has found himself really liking the town folks and also beginning to see that Shirlene has more to her that what he first thought.

    We go on this emotional journey with Bubba (who is really Billy) and Shirlene which includes some tears and heartbreak. You find yourself rooting for these two to work everything out and get there HEA.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I laughed so much reading this book. I had tears in my eyes. I

    I laughed so much reading this book. I had tears in my eyes. I read the book in two days, because I could not put it down.

    Shirlene Dalton was a likeable character from the beginning in Going Cowboy Crazy. I think part of me thought that she was a little shallow, but I never fully realized that she was a true survivor, no matter what.

    I read that Ms. Lane pictured Mayberry, a little when she thought of Bramble, Texas. I’m a not old enough to actually remember the show and appreciate it, but I think Mayberry has nothing on Bramble. I mean what will these people NOT do?

    Previously, I think I wanted to get as far away from Bramble as I could. But these CRAZY people have really wiggled their way into my heart. Kenney Gene is insane (you find yourself going, really? But sadly, I know there really is someone like him out there), but he really tries to do good and be everyone’s friend. Then you have Moses Tate, who’s probably the oldest person in town. Trust me, nothing gets by this old man. He reminds of me of the old man from my small hometown. You should never ever think that he’s always asleep and has no clue as to what is going on. The people of Bramble definitely have hearts as big as the state of Texas itself.

    I don’t know if this is the last time we’re going to have a chance to visit Bramble, Texas, I really hope not, but if it is, it was really good getting to met all of these people.

    I never realized that cowboys (other than the Dallas kind) could be so lovable. I think I want a Bubba.

    I can’t wait to re-read the whole series again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2014

    Another cute story from Bramble.

    Another cute story from Bramble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Loved it!

    Totaly Awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I would LOVE to Catch a Cowboy!

    I laughed so much reading this book. I had tears in my eyes. I read the book in two days, because I could not put it down.

    Shirlene Dalton was a likeable character from the beginning in Going Cowboy Crazy. A part of me thought she was a little shallow but I never fully realized that she was a true survivor, no matter what.
    I read that Ms. Lane pictured Mayberry a little when she thought of Bramble, Texas. I’m not old enough to actually remember the show and appreciate it, but I think Mayberry has nothing on Bramble. I mean what will these people NOT do?

    Previously, I wanted to get as far away from Bramble as I could. But these CRAZY people have really wiggled their way into my heart. Kenney Gene is insane (you find yourself going, really? But sadly, I know there really is someone like him out there.), but he really tries to do good and be everyone’s friend. Then you have Moses Tate who’s probably the oldest person in town. Trust me, nothing gets by this old man. He reminds of me of the old man from my small hometown. You should never ever think that he’s asleep and has no clue as to what is going on. The people of Bramble definitely have hearts as big as the state of Texas itself.

    I never realized that cowboys (other than the Dallas kind) could be so lovable. I think I want a Bubba.

    I can’t wait to re-read the whole series again.

    Source: Author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    I love this series of books. I am not a fan of country AT ALL bu

    I love this series of books. I am not a fan of country AT ALL but I love all the characters and the town of Bramble. I have finished each book in record time because I would stay up as late as it took to finish each one. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    It was a simple story, how a person can do something for someone

    It was a simple story, how a person can do something for someone else, while all the time, making us laugh at her. Enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Same book

    This book is not the one i bought it is the same book under another name and i paid twice for it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    A MUST read

    Katie Lane is a wonderful new writer. This series kept me on the edge of my seat till the end. I loved all the romance and can't wait for Ms. Lane to release more books!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Great book loved it

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    Catch this

    Nice addition to this series, but it definitely stands alone. Love those quirky Bramble characters. Shirlene learns to stand on her own feet, and she finds a hunky cowboy and a new family along the way.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    this is a story about a strong woman and a man that ends up resp

    this is a story about a strong woman and a man that ends up respecting her as well as loving her. the road to happiness for them has more than a few bumps in the road. her wealthy husband passes away and she goes from a mansion to a run down trailer. she finds four foster kids trying to escape an abusive foster home living in this trailer. the good old boy that lives next trailer over is hiding who he really is. this is a story that is so enjoyable that i would read it over and over, and i will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2