Customer Reviews for

Catch Me if You Can: The Amazing True Story of the Most Extraordinary Liar in the History of Fun and Profit

Average Rating 4.5
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING!!!!!

Out of all the memoirs i've read, this one was the greatest and most exciting. He is truely a genius and charasmatic man. No wonder he was able to con all those people......

posted by 9246768 on August 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

not very realistic...I'm skeptical

This is the autobiography of Frank Abagnale, Jr. a con-man and counterfeiter who made millions passing fraudulent checks all around the world and, meanwhile, posed successfully as a Pan Am pilot, a pediatrician, and a lawyer. I enjoyed the movie based on this book so I ...
This is the autobiography of Frank Abagnale, Jr. a con-man and counterfeiter who made millions passing fraudulent checks all around the world and, meanwhile, posed successfully as a Pan Am pilot, a pediatrician, and a lawyer. I enjoyed the movie based on this book so I hoped the book would be better. Although the book certainly provided more information about the scams and how he got away with it, Abagnale himself was much less charming in the book. He was too much of a womanizer and a…well…con-man. Emotions weren’t expressed (other than relief at escaping one or another of his women), making it difficult to empathize with him. Also, the adult Abagnale (who took part in writing the book) didn’t seem to feel much remorse about his activities. He rationalized: “I never conned a square John out of money,” but ignores the emotional strain that he must have put on many of his victims. Also, I am a little skeptical of the “true” part of this “true crime” story. I believe that the basic idea is true, but there were just too many convenient coincidences for his story to be entirely accurate. He must have taken bits and pieces of different escapades and pasted them together into a unified story, and over-emphasized his own cleverness. Clearly, he’s a genius, but I still would have liked a little more “oops, that was stupid” in his story. It would have humanized him. Not even a genius can be clever all the time!

posted by The_hibernators on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    AMAZING!!!!!

    Out of all the memoirs i've read, this one was the greatest and most exciting. He is truely a genius and charasmatic man. No wonder he was able to con all those people......

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    Kept me on the edge!

    I really enjoyed reading this. After seeing the movie several time I was so surprised at how different the book was. Frank is a lot different and not as innocence as the movie made his out to be! I recommend this book to anyone who saw the movie and who didn't. Usually I do not like a book that has been made into a movie, especially when I have seen the movie first, but this one is an exception. As I was reading I was able to place the scenes in the movie to the events that was happening in the novel.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Incredible story and incredible book!

    If you think you know this book because you have seen the movie, you are VERY mistaken. This is an outstanding read that you will not be able to put down. It is hard to believe everything that Mr. Abagnale was able to accomplish, and then the way he was able to turn his life around. He goes into great detail about what happened once he was caught, and you won't be able to put the book down. You won't regret buying this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2005

    The Master of Con Art

    This book left me with an enormous smile on my face. It¿s a hilarious and captivating story of one man¿s intelligence against the world¿s stupidity. From the very first sentence, I was completely hooked. Catch Me If You Can is one of the most interesting and intriguing books I have ever read. Frank Abagnale was a stunning, charming young man. Even more, he was witty and extremely intelligent. He absorbed information like a sponge, and conned a huge chunk of the world. He was an airplane pilot, a teacher, a doctor, a lawyer, and cashed more than 2.5 million dollars worth of counterfeit checks. He escaped the grasp of authorities more than once when his life was on the line. It¿s amazing that Frank was brilliant enough to outsmart any boss that he fraudulently worked under, but the truly amazing fact about Frank was that he did all this before he was 21. He started as a teenager, and was running since. He¿s a genius.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Catch Me If You Can, was a great movie its hard not to be when T

    Catch Me If You Can, was a great movie its hard not to be when Tom Hanks in it. The memoir is amazing probably the best memoir I have ever read. Yes that is a bold statement. I highly recommend you read the book..then watch the movie if you havent seen it as well. I also would like to recommend Striker Confessions Of An Identity Theft Diva which goes more into the modern day inner workings of Identity Theft.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    not very realistic...I'm skeptical

    This is the autobiography of Frank Abagnale, Jr. a con-man and counterfeiter who made millions passing fraudulent checks all around the world and, meanwhile, posed successfully as a Pan Am pilot, a pediatrician, and a lawyer. I enjoyed the movie based on this book so I hoped the book would be better. Although the book certainly provided more information about the scams and how he got away with it, Abagnale himself was much less charming in the book. He was too much of a womanizer and a…well…con-man. Emotions weren’t expressed (other than relief at escaping one or another of his women), making it difficult to empathize with him. Also, the adult Abagnale (who took part in writing the book) didn’t seem to feel much remorse about his activities. He rationalized: “I never conned a square John out of money,” but ignores the emotional strain that he must have put on many of his victims. Also, I am a little skeptical of the “true” part of this “true crime” story. I believe that the basic idea is true, but there were just too many convenient coincidences for his story to be entirely accurate. He must have taken bits and pieces of different escapades and pasted them together into a unified story, and over-emphasized his own cleverness. Clearly, he’s a genius, but I still would have liked a little more “oops, that was stupid” in his story. It would have humanized him. Not even a genius can be clever all the time!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    The man!

    Since reading this book, I've acquired my pilots license; law degree; and become a medical doctor.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    this is an amazing book!

    this was an awesome book! Abagnale writes with humanity Nd exitment i highly reccomend it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Genius Con Man

    At fifteen years old, Frank Abagnale began his career as a con man. He began writing bad checks knowing people would trust that they were good. He decided to fake being a pilot and get free flights to any where in America and Europe. With posing as a pilot, Frank started making fake business checks and cashing them for several hundreds of dollars. By the time Abagnale had reached twenty years old, he had posed as a pilot, a doctor, a lawyer, and a college professor.

    I found it very interesting how a fifteen year old boy could come up with the idea of faking to be an airline pilot and write bad checks and get away with it. Frank Abagnale is very smart and daring to be able to do all the things he did. I thought it was fascinating how he learned how to fly a plane on his own. It was interesting how he faked being a doctor and a lawyer and ended up being pretty good at both occupations. This book was really thrilling and kept me interested in reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2005

    Wow.

    Wow he's ballsy. I was curious about the book because I loved the movie, the book is good, very entertaining and of course so very different, so many things the movie left out, wow. And also, to stop and think of how young he was, bigger wow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2005

    Bold kid

    I don't know about you, but even in this day in age you'd have to have a lot of balls to be able to do the things Frank did. And he made it looks so easy!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    Great book

    Its a great book. Every moment is breathtaking. However, I found it hard to beleive he got away with some things he did.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2003

    Not Bad

    Non-Fiction is not my genre, but I enjoyed this true crime drama. Frank was the type of criminal that made cops look stupid. This type of criminal is a detective's worst nightmare.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Not fiction

    Started out slow the first part was like groundhog day. But I'm glad I read his story if it was fiction I would of thought it was so far fetch. Read and enjoy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    You Won't Be Able To Put It Down

    Catch Me If You Can is one of the best books I've read in a long time. It makes a great companion to the Steven Spielberg and Leonardo DeCaprio movie. One of the things I likes about this hidden treasure is the fact you got learn more about Frank Abagnale. You learned the time like was a little altered by the movie the this too good to be true con man really did exist and really did go on these adventures. Now the movie did leave out some of the adventures and expanded on other, but over all it was pretty darn close. The Q&A action at the end of the book is also pretty amazing too. You get hear Mr. Abagnale option on the movie, his thoughts on looking back, and how his family has perceive his adventurous life style. This book is an easy read, and you won't be able to put it down. I out it up here with the Princess Bride Book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    I LOVE FRANK!!!

    TRUELY AN AMAZING STORY. His journey is an incredible one, something I wish to strive for. Well definitely be reading his other works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Amusing and entertaining story of a young crook.   This is a (gh

    Amusing and entertaining story of a young crook.   This is a (ghost-written) autobiography of Frank Abagnale, who in 1970’s stole an enormous fortunes from banks and businesses using loopholes, skillful counterfeiting and his imagination, frequently while impersonating an airline pilot. The book is written with style and humor and reads like a light-hearted novel.   I was left with impression that the author’s account of his Casanova-Robin Hood-Monte Christo-style adventures is not exactly the whole truth and  nothing but the truth.  Nevertheless the book  makes for a very enjoyable, if not profound reading. 
    I grade books as Buy and Keep ( BK), Read a Library Copy (RLC) and Once-I-Put-It-Down-I-Couldn’t-Pick-It-Up (OIPD-ICPU).  This one is a RLC.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    A field awaits you

    Bunnies hop around in the field. Whoever gets the rabbit wins the prey piece.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Lollypopkisser

    Great movie i dont know how anything could top it but something did ;) its a must read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    Daring true adventures of an infamous imposter

    After seeing the film, I decided to read the book. It is really great! As a 15-year-old, Frank Abagnale identified and then proceeded to exploit financial and business systems with huge security chasms. And he did it all by principally relying on people's superficiality and innate trust in the reality of appearances. Time and time again, Abagnale duped banks, airlines, and law enforcement authorities, both in the US and internationally. In the short time from his 15th birthday to his early 20's Abagnale had successfully and repeatedly posed as an airline pilot, a doctor, a lawyer, and a college professor. In that time, he also managed to seduce a small army of women. Shortly said, he led the kind of glamorous and dangerous outlaw existence that many of us dream of but don't dare to pursue. Abagnale's writing style is direct, vivid, and action-oriented. It is a delight to read his book. (I read the book in just two days.) This is a great - even if illicit - modern adventure story, full of excitement, romance, intrigue, sadness, and fun. I highly recommend this book! (Too bad we'll never hear the stories of even more successful criminals who never got caught!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6