Customer Reviews for

Catch a Fire: The Life of Bob Marley

Average Rating 5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    Catch a Fire

    I got this book when i was 15. That was 16 years ago and I've read it maybe 5 times. It is the most important piece of literature that any Bob fan, new or seasoned, could own. BUY IT.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    AWESOME!!!!

    This book really depicted the life of Bob Marley very well. I enjoyed it a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    Great book

    This book is the best BOB MARLEY book i have ever read; its really great. Mr. white talks about not only the life of BOB MARLEY, but also the rastafarian religion, jamaican politics and much more. I reccomend this book to all BOB MARLEY fans and people who want to learn about him. PEACE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2003

    fantastic

    Unbelievable book about the most important musician of the 20th century. Makes you see him in a different light

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Um...okay

    Listen, this book was strange. Just crepy. If u wanna read a real book then read the warriors group of series. You would start with 1 into the wild. Dont worry, in the beggining its BORING! But it gets so good i couldnt put it down. Ive been reading it since i was like, young. For 3 years! Its dramatic, adventures, and funny. Its a good book, and for the books, all of them i would put 5 stars. And there are magma series too. And Survivers and Seekers are also by three people, Erin Hunter. Lets just say if ur anything like me, slightly crazy (yes i attmitt it) and super awesome then, this will be your pure gold!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Anonymous

    I haven't read it yet, but it seems like a good book to learn about Mr. Marley!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    BOB MARLEY

    BOB MARLEY ROCKS

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2002

    A dim fire!

    I really was excited about reading Catch A Fire by Timothy White but the book picks up and leaves the reader dumbfounded. I enjoyed reading the book with intentions on learning more but Mr. White does not tie all the information together for the average reader to understand! Only those previously knowledgeable Marley Fans Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2000

    Catch a Fire: The Life of Bob Marley

    One must be cautious about those we make our leaders and legends. This carefully executed biography makes that point effectively. Fellow Marley biographer Chris Salewicz praised White's book for its 'gifted, accurate touch that recalls the best of Garcia Marquez,' and Marquez's own work explored the dangers of simplifying heroes and leaders. As White shows, Marley was more than a music star, and Marley's most important legacy may be that he saw there was a war against the poor in the Caribbean and he fought back with al

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2000

    Catch a Fire: The Life of Bob Marley

    Got this bio for Christmas and couldn't put it down until it was finished. Now I'm using it as a record buying advisor. It made me appreciate Bob Marley a great dea

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2000

    Catch a Fire: The Life of Bob Marley

    Mountainous research into the songs and the person behind them help the reader learn a lot quickly. But the bigger value is that it's a history book, not a pop bio, and lends awareness of the politics and social pressures too. Vivid jou

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2000

    Catch a Fire: The Life of Bob Marley

    Musn't take leaders or legends at face value. Fellow Marley biographer Chris Salewicz compares White's study to 'the best of Garcia Marquez,' whose warnings about leaders were the same. This carefully-executed treatise shows there was a war against the poor in the Caribbean and Marley fought back with all he

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2