Customer Reviews for

Catch of the Day

Average Rating 4
( 607 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(259)

4 Star

(190)

3 Star

(109)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

GREAT BOOK!

I almost didn't buy this book. It looked to me like a typical romance book from the look of the cover, although, it 's a cute cover.(I'm a sucker for a cute pup!) But, the synopsis sounded interesting so I figured I'd give it a try. Boy, am I glad I did. It's definitely...
I almost didn't buy this book. It looked to me like a typical romance book from the look of the cover, although, it 's a cute cover.(I'm a sucker for a cute pup!) But, the synopsis sounded interesting so I figured I'd give it a try. Boy, am I glad I did. It's definitely not a 'typical romance book'. I was totally engrossed in the story right from the start. I found myself genuinely liking the characters, and the setting (Maine). Maggie, the main character is quite likeable. I found myself really rooting for her. Her relationships, with her family; especially her mother, her staff at the diner she owns, and her quest to find a decent guy are the stuff reality is made of. I'd highly recommend Catch Of The Day if you're looking for an easy read. For a long-ish book (743 pgs.) it seems like it flew by. I hated to see it end. Now that I've read Catch Of The Day, I'm definitely going to check out other titles by Kristan Higgins.

posted by 2627582 on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent story but part of what kept me so riveted was the hope that somewhere toward the end the strong silent hero would open up and we'd get some insight into what's been going on in his head the entire time. That was not the case. The story was very one sided and whi...
Decent story but part of what kept me so riveted was the hope that somewhere toward the end the strong silent hero would open up and we'd get some insight into what's been going on in his head the entire time. That was not the case. The story was very one sided and while it had a happy ending I was still left feeling a little let down.

posted by 4150779 on May 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 612 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    GREAT BOOK!

    I almost didn't buy this book. It looked to me like a typical romance book from the look of the cover, although, it 's a cute cover.(I'm a sucker for a cute pup!) But, the synopsis sounded interesting so I figured I'd give it a try. Boy, am I glad I did. It's definitely not a 'typical romance book'. I was totally engrossed in the story right from the start. I found myself genuinely liking the characters, and the setting (Maine). Maggie, the main character is quite likeable. I found myself really rooting for her. Her relationships, with her family; especially her mother, her staff at the diner she owns, and her quest to find a decent guy are the stuff reality is made of. I'd highly recommend Catch Of The Day if you're looking for an easy read. For a long-ish book (743 pgs.) it seems like it flew by. I hated to see it end. Now that I've read Catch Of The Day, I'm definitely going to check out other titles by Kristan Higgins.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A very talented author. I enjoyed the story. The ending was grea

    A very talented author. I enjoyed the story. The ending was great too.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It takes a lot to make me cry!

    I just discovered Kristan Higgins novels and I am very impressed. I found my self laughing and even crying (won't spoil it for everyone). I was so surprised to find myself reaching for the Kleenex during a very touching scene, where normally I would feel sad, but crying...not often. I had to put the book down a few times because I felt the scene so deeply. Please do not be put off by that, It just really shows how attached I came to the characters. Kristan Higgins is such a talented and amazing author. Her characters are very believable and may I say, quirky. Which I really like! I'm sure other reviewers have explained some of the plot, but I wanted to tell you about my personal experience reading this great book. I agree with another reviewer, these novels would make great movies (Hallmark channel comes to mind). I have finished two of Kristan's novels and already bought the next one!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    GREAT BOOK!

    Higgins is so much better than many of the other more popular contemporary romance writers out there. This book is one of her best but they're all great. I have been trying to find a writer on par with her that i havent read yet but so far no luck. Her characters are witty well thought out and fully developed. They are people you actually like and want to get to know. People you can relate to. I love the detail she goes into about the different New England towns in her stories. She makes you want to visit them with the lovely warm decriptions she provides. I hate when authors don't bother to explore the location of there book. It is lazy becuase its so necessary to get a feel for who the characters are. Maggie is the main character, sweet, well meaning, flawed and looking for loves. Her self depricating humor makes her both approachable and lovable. Sweet funny and touching.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Another good easy read by Kristin Higgins

    Good book! Thanks Kristin! You never let me down. Love tge characters!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    Could not put it down

    I thought this was going to be a Saturday afternoon book, but once I picked it up, I couldn't put it down. The story, told from the character's point of view was pretty interesting. The story brought forth a lot of emotions; crying, laughing and a big hurrah at the end. This is a great summer book. I will certainly read her other books.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    The best Kristan Higgins yet!

    I highly recommend anything by Kristan Higgins! This was my 4th or 5th,I think. Malone was my favorite Higgins character yet. I've seen some reviews that didn't like Maggie, but I liked her just fine. I have a tendency to humiliate myself, too, and it just drew me to her that much more. I knew somebody great for her was right around the corner, and I couldn't wait for her to find him!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Funny, Quirky Romantic Read!

    This was a great romantic comedy that I couldn't put down. I love the characters Kristan Higgins comes up with. The scenarios are also funny, making me chuckle to myself several times. Higgins does such a good job with the quirky single girl and what she goes through to find love. The main character is very easy for any other single girl searching for love to relate to. She has embarrassing situations to get through and ends up in love, every girls dream! This was a cute, funny book that I was done reading in a few short days! Now, onto another one of hers."Fools Rush In".

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVED IT!

    Something I have noticed with Kristan Higgins is that she really does a great job with all the books of hers I have read. They're funny and romantic. It keeps you going with it and there is emotion with it. You really can picture the characters and feel for them. You are able to get to know then in the book to the point that you really think they're real people.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Book lengths

    I just bought this book (Nookbook) and it has only 292 pages. One review said over 700 pages. Is that the print version? I would like to see reviews show how many pages are in their books & if they are e-reader or print versions. Looking forward to reading this book. Joan, Hooked on Nook (and books)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Great book sample

    Planning on purchasing. This is first higgins book i have sampled. Planning to sample and purchase more. Nice light romance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A lighthearted contemporary romance

    In Gideon Cove, Maine thirtyish Maggie Beaumont owns the only restaurant in town, Joe's Diner. Considered somewhat a hangout, Maggie knows first hand how fast gossip travels although she admits she is part of the instant messaging. She especially knows her relationship fiascos moves around the town faster than the speed of light she jokes about her failures but inside Maggie hurts as she wants a man to love who will cherish her forever just like her sister has.----------- In spite of efforts to conceal her desire, to her chagrin the townsfolk believe Maggie has the hots for the forbidden, a priest. Maggie figures this is just another failure at finding a hunk for herself while the Father is determined to find a perfect catch for the kind restaurateur. However, no one expected her to fall in love with taciturn lobsterman Malone and him with loquacious Maggie.------------- CATCH OF THE DAY is a lighthearted contemporary romance starring two opposites as she never shuts up (her asides are often witty self-deprecating digs) and he never opens his mouth except to eat. Fans will enjoy their relationship as the eccentric townies are shocked that love blossoms between them.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Great book!

    This was my first Kristan Higgins book and I loved it! I already bought another one. The characters are well developed with such descriptive scenes that you feel like you're there. I especially liked Maggie. I cheered for her and cried for her. Read this book...you won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Catching on....

    Hey B/N, thanks for putting this as a daily deal. Otherwise i wouldn not have found this author. I loved everything about this story, not the typical cookie cutter romance! Finally catching on....put good authors on the daily deal, and now i will be buying more of her books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Love!

    Okay my favorite so far! I think i liked it so much because it was different from other kristan higgins books, becuase usually the girl ends up with a guy who is friendly, talkative, and outragously beautiful. But in this one the girl unexpectedly goes for the one thats quiet, hard-working, and secretly good hearted... its eas a wonderful book that i could not pit down until i got to see how it ended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Decent story but part of what kept me so riveted was the hope that somewhere toward the end the strong silent hero would open up and we'd get some insight into what's been going on in his head the entire time. That was not the case. The story was very one sided and while it had a happy ending I was still left feeling a little let down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    Not like her other books

    This book starts out like her other ones but the plot and character of the main male character is very different. I didn't enjoy it like her other ones.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    LOVE THIS AUTHOR!!!

    Anyone who loves a light, romantic comedy should read both books by Kristan Higgins. Both should definately be made into films. They are laugh out loud funny and heartwarming. I can't wait for more from Kristan!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Great Read!!!

    I have read several books by the author and have enjoyed them all. This may have been my favorite! I know this sounds cliche but I laughed and I cried. Such a great love story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    MysticClan bios

    Plz do one :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 612 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31