Customer Reviews for

The Catcher in the Rye

Average Rating 4.5
( 1602 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(965)

4 Star

(325)

3 Star

(153)

2 Star

(85)

1 Star

(74)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

The Catcher in the Rye-a book for the young, old, readers and nonreaders

J.D. Salinger's coming of age novel The Catcher in the Rye has delightfully captured the attention of readers for decades. Its popularity is primarily, but not exclusively, due to the realism behind the plot, characters, and themes. Although the story takes place duri...
J.D. Salinger's coming of age novel The Catcher in the Rye has delightfully captured the attention of readers for decades. Its popularity is primarily, but not exclusively, due to the realism behind the plot, characters, and themes. Although the story takes place during the late 1940s, teenagers everywhere can still relate to the sixteen year old protagonist, Holden Caulfield. The combination of his criticism, bitterness, and pessimism towards society was carefully crafted to create Holden as a unique narrator with many conflicting thoughts. In fact, Holden feels so torn between becoming an adult and staying a child that he essentially alienates himself from those who have conformed to one or the other. The distress and confusion of growing up is the underlying theme that follows Holden throughout the entire novel.
From just the first chapter of the novel readers come to learn that Holden is not your typical adolescent boy. He does not hold back when criticizing his "phony" schoolmates, whose obsessions include girls, sex, smoking, and drinking. Although Holden feels compelled to engage in the latter two activities himself, he does not necessarily agree with it. He is merely trying to find a medium between childhood and adulthood. Feeling alone and isolated, Holden carries out the extreme by leaving his prep school to escape those around him already engrossed in maturing into adults. The story follows with a number of events that all contribute to Holden's intriguing journey to understanding himself; a journey many young people in the world today go on themselves.
Because Salinger's themes are so universal yet realistic, The Catcher in the Rye is found to be satisfying and relatable to all types of readers. Holden and his struggles bring each reader back to a time in their own lives when they were going through a drastic change. For that reason The Catcher in the Rye can easily be considered timeless. The thought of keeping this novel off libraries' shelves because of its vulgar language, sexual references, and so-called promotion of drug use is ludicrous. Do not let the accusations and believers of censorship keep you from becoming immersed into the world of Holden Caulfield.

posted by CC19 on June 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Download The Catcher in the Rye For Free

Download The Catcher in the Rye For Free From Here goo.gl/cgq5P

posted by 9114493 on August 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 965 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 49
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    The Catcher in the Rye-a book for the young, old, readers and nonreaders

    J.D. Salinger's coming of age novel The Catcher in the Rye has delightfully captured the attention of readers for decades. Its popularity is primarily, but not exclusively, due to the realism behind the plot, characters, and themes. Although the story takes place during the late 1940s, teenagers everywhere can still relate to the sixteen year old protagonist, Holden Caulfield. The combination of his criticism, bitterness, and pessimism towards society was carefully crafted to create Holden as a unique narrator with many conflicting thoughts. In fact, Holden feels so torn between becoming an adult and staying a child that he essentially alienates himself from those who have conformed to one or the other. The distress and confusion of growing up is the underlying theme that follows Holden throughout the entire novel.
    From just the first chapter of the novel readers come to learn that Holden is not your typical adolescent boy. He does not hold back when criticizing his "phony" schoolmates, whose obsessions include girls, sex, smoking, and drinking. Although Holden feels compelled to engage in the latter two activities himself, he does not necessarily agree with it. He is merely trying to find a medium between childhood and adulthood. Feeling alone and isolated, Holden carries out the extreme by leaving his prep school to escape those around him already engrossed in maturing into adults. The story follows with a number of events that all contribute to Holden's intriguing journey to understanding himself; a journey many young people in the world today go on themselves.
    Because Salinger's themes are so universal yet realistic, The Catcher in the Rye is found to be satisfying and relatable to all types of readers. Holden and his struggles bring each reader back to a time in their own lives when they were going through a drastic change. For that reason The Catcher in the Rye can easily be considered timeless. The thought of keeping this novel off libraries' shelves because of its vulgar language, sexual references, and so-called promotion of drug use is ludicrous. Do not let the accusations and believers of censorship keep you from becoming immersed into the world of Holden Caulfield.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Greatest Book I've Ever Read..

    I read this book this year for school, I was in a bad mood and I ended up reading half of it in one night. Its a book that's so easy to understand, its so human. There's no action or any thrill much at all besides the everyday life of Holden Caulfield. I recommend this book to anyone who's human. Its enjoyable and relatable. Also, I love the Holden.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2010

    "The Catcher in the Rye": More Than Timeless

    The novel "The Catcher in the Rye" by J.D. Salinger was written in 1951. However, it is still being read in schools today. Unlike many timeless novels, "The Catcher in the Rye" not only provides a strong message that still resonates today, it also is a fascinating, creative piece of writing.
    "The Catcher in the Rye" takes place in the 1940s and tells the story of Holden Caulfield, a troubled teenager haunted by the death of his little brother. The story follows Holden as he runs away from private school while hoping to find to find happiness somewhere in the streets of New York. Holden is both the protagonist and antagonist of his story. He is stubborn, rude, and judgmental without a cause. On the other hand, Holden loves his little sister and wants to protect children from the world around them. He is broken and in search of something he can't seem to find. He is searching for love. When his brother died, Holden lost someone who loved him. Even though Holden couldn't see the love depart, he feels it slipping away. Holden's parents are too caught up in their own pain to recognize that Holden is struggling. Holden is forced to bear all of his burdens by himself. It is this struggle that makes the novel timeless. In essence we are all Holden, a little lost and a little broken, but always pushing forward, looking for a glimmer of happiness in the distance. Everyone knows the feeling of being in a place where everyone else belongs. Anyone can relate to Holden's struggle to find himself in a place where people look down on those who differ from the status quo. "The Catcher in the Rye" makes the experience both poignant and humorous. Holden is a teenage boy whose thoughts are often ludicrous and socially incorrect. J.D. Salinger knew that there was more to writing a novel then just getting the message across. He accomplishes it with comedy and intrigue. It is hard not to laugh when Holden is lying to a women about his age while calling those around him phonies. "The Catcher in the Rye" is a classic because it would remain a talented piece of writing even without a moral "point". The novel merges timeless and engaging with an effortlessness that many authors can't achieve.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    A good book for late teens

    I read this many years ago when I was a teenager, and then again just recently. It once again reminded me of all of the freedom a young man has compared to an adult and the book brought me back to when I was young. This is a must-read for all teens since it will give them a sort of guide as to what to do and not to do, but it will also entertain them if they are a cosciencious reader.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    amazing.

    absolutely amazing. Catcher in the Rye is a wonderful novel by J.D. Salinger. I love how Holden, the main character, narrates the happenings of several of days in his teenage life. So although this book is only a few days time, it did not lack in content at all.
    I liked this book because when Holden talks, it feels like he is speaking only to you. J.D. Salinger is an amazing writer, and made me laugh throughout the book. He gave Holden a very unique and interesting personality.
    Holden goes through seemingly pointless events, though he hopes somebody will care. Holden feels hopeless and lonesome, in a world that he thinks is heartless and filled with fake people. It really makes you think about the world as you see it. Holden's beliefs and judgments alone were very amusing. After you read the book, you start thinking about situations in your life and wonder what Holden would do in your place, or at least I did.
    Throughout this book, Holden gives his opinions and observations on everything he encounters. I didn't ever want to stop reading. There are not many books i'd ever read again, but this book is one that i could read over and over again. There are so many things that didn't make total sense to me, but im sure that if i read it again, it will become more clear. LoVED IT! read IT.
    So, I loved every bit. I don't think i will ever forget it, great book from the start to finish. read it! if you start reading and it doesn't seem to be your kind of book, keep reading! you may surprise yourself.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely worth my time

    I knew that "The Catcher In the Rye" was an older book because my dad had talked about how it was such a classic, even to my grandpaw. I decided to buy it and I finished it the day it was purchased. I usually don't read that quickly but it was very good. Not a lot actually happens within the time it was narrated by Holden, but the best part of the book is how the author is descriptive about things that deserve to be described and leaves out the less important things, which many other authors fail to do, making their books drag on. One of the few books I'll remember for a long, long time.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    The Catcher in the Rye is a Great book

    The Catcher in the Rye is not a waste of time, it will keep you on the edge of your seat the whole time while reading it. I am one of those people who hate reading to and I could not put this book down. The author is grerat and his originality is amazing. just read the book it will not be a waste of time or a disapointment.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Love this book! I'm so happy to finally have this on my nook! 5

    Love this book! I'm so happy to finally have this on my nook! 5 stars!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    A timeless classic that will speak to people of all times and ag

    A timeless classic that will speak to people of all times and ages. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    I purchased this book for my Nook. The only thing is, when I loo

    I purchased this book for my Nook. The only thing is, when I look under Nook books, it is no longer there. The one I purchased is with the front cover just as pictured above. Anyway, I LOVED the story. I have been wanting to read it for years and finally did. It was so witty. I chuckled throughout the entire story, almost. I loved Holden! He was so representative of kids back in that day. Now, I do not know if the Nook edition is different from the paperback/original edition but there were TONS of errors, mostly typographical and spelling, I'd say. I cannot believe how many. It was as though no one ever proofed the book. But still, I LOVED the story and Holden!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    I don't care what anyone says, this is the best book of all time

    I don't care what anyone says, this is the best book of all time. I read it for the first time the summer before my freshman year of high school and it legitimately changed my life. I've read it 8 times since then during the past 7 years. It's a timeless classic written by one of the best authors in the world. With characters this intriguing, who needs a blockbuster plot? Read it. I have hope that someone out there will appreciate this book as much as I did/do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Intense

    Intense

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    Great Novel-Really makes you think!

    The Catcher in the Rye is one of my top 10 favorite books. Salinger illustrates the complexities and struggles of life that everyone at one point or another must go through. Holden, the main character of Salinger's novel, is a brilliant but confused adolescent who is trying to make sense of his life, which is something that any human can relate to. I recommend this classic novel only to advanced readers with highly developed literary analysis skills, because younger and therefore more immature readers do not seem to fully grasp the symbols and themes of the novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An excellent novel for the non-conformists

    Great novel with excellent writing. Salinger's style is dead-on is his development of Holden. There is an abundance of criticism for this book, and, for the most part, it seems to come from the ordinary fools our world is plagued with. I recommend this book to anybody that wants to step into the past and delve into the cynicism of the teenager's mind; it's well worth it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    A classic novel done right by J.D. Salinger

    Perhaps one of the best thing about this classic novel is that virtually anyone who reads this can relate to it somehow. This novel, that was published in 1951, reads like it was published last year. The themes included in these few days in the life of Holden Caulfield are very real, some of them being a bit taboo for today's society (not to mention the society of 1951).

    The Catcher in the Rye follows main character, Holden Caulfield, for a few days after failing out of his fourth high school. The sixteen year old is very rebellious, but has a kind nature. After a fight with his roommate, Holden opts to duck out of Pencey Prep a few days early. He decides to stay in a hotel until he thinks his parents have cooled down after receiving news he was being kicked out of another school. His antics over the next few days include a prostitute, a night club, an old girlfriend, and a visit to his baby sister at her elementary school. This is a coming of age story; after one has read it, it's obvious why this work by Salinger is considered a classic novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Review of a classic tale showing how it feels to have to cast aside youth ideals to embrace adulthood.

    This novel earns its place of fame with an emotional story of events that force the narrator, Holden Caulfield, into adulthood. All the emotions he feels are projected perfectly in a writing style closely matching a casual monologue. You can feel his pain as losing his childhood values to the cruel hand of fate takes its toll on his thoughts. Although the book has a compelling plot, many of the story's ideas and events are obscured by either a lack of details or because they are never entirely revealed, leaving an ambiguous conclusion. Despite this, J.D. Salinger has created a fantastic story with a truly inspirational plot built up with emotional writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    You really need to think to see why it's a classic.

    I can understand why it might have been a disappointment to many.
    But once you really understand what your reading, it's simply amazing. I mean, I'd say there's two main characters. There is the one everyone seems to dislike, the Holden that the story is happening to. He's whiny, conflicted and all that we'd like to admit we're not. Then there's the Holden that narrating the story. He can look back and describe such a dark time in his life, and make you feel for him. And that basically all the Holden1 wants, he wants someone to understand him, but he's os bad at making people understand him, that none, not even a prostitute, wants to talk to him.
    And yes, this book has no plot. Because life has no plot.
    I also think it's worth mentioning that I feel bad for those who don't like Holden, those who don't like him because he's depressing. Because to be honest to your self, your probably not likable either.
    But I guess it's modern literature to blame. That's why this book is a classic. Because Holden isn't some one you want to be, or someone you want to be with. He's not Edward Cullen, but he's someone you find your self to be, no matter how much you try and deny it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    I know so many people say they can relate to the character, although I am not one of them, but I LOVED this book! I loved the humor in it, and I belive this book had one of the best opening lines. I just started getting into classics and this is one of the first I read. a quote I found funny was, "What really knocks me out is a book that, when your all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it." it makes me laugh, because when I was done reading it I wish the author really was a friend of mine. its a Great Great book that I think EVERYONE should read in their lifetime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST READ

    To date, THE CATCHER IN THE RYE by J. D. Salinger has sold over sixty-five million copies since being published in 1951. It is considered one of the best novels of the 20th century. If you haven't read it, read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A book with a great self-awareness of the mind...

    I loved this book. However, at certain points in the book, I got fed up with the character but when I stopped and dissected Holden, he was a revolutionary character; a character we lack in the ambiance of the public. I wonder if Salinger projected himself onto this character; if so, it would give great insight to what type of man he was.

    Really recommend this book..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 965 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 49