Customer Reviews for

Catching Fire (Hunger Games Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 29189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22162)

4 Star

(4556)

3 Star

(1352)

2 Star

(423)

1 Star

(696)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

519 out of 588 people found this review helpful.

I got an ARC, but didn't want to write a review until now...

While considerably darker than The Hunger Games, Catching Fire was an immensely thrilling book. An indispensable quality of writing with a voice true to the character teamed with an overwhelming plot full of blood-curdling twists and heart-wrenching turns ensure Catchin...
While considerably darker than The Hunger Games, Catching Fire was an immensely thrilling book. An indispensable quality of writing with a voice true to the character teamed with an overwhelming plot full of blood-curdling twists and heart-wrenching turns ensure Catching Fire a special home on my bookshelf. Catching Fire is most definitely the best YA novel to present itself to me in years. The ending does not merely leave you hanging precariously off the edge of your seat, but gives you the sensation of being shoved out of a moving plane. Quite frankly, I loved it.

posted by Fiddlesticks on September 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

96 out of 173 people found this review helpful.

Download Catching Fire For Free

Download Catching Fire For Free From Here goo.gl/HeJwR

posted by 9502659 on August 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 29582 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 1480
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Well

    I didn't really get the catching fire book. It was like sorta in the middle. I never got the chance to read hunger games.is that why it was in the middle. I read moking jay first then i read catching fire and now i checked out hunger games. So sence it started out in the middle i wont rate it 5 sorry for people who liked it dont get mad at me ;)

    6 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Second book is ok

    I have started reading catching fire and i am a little bored to say but i am not to far into the book but if you want to take it from me i would say be patient with the book because i was really bored at first but now i am getting hooked so... BE PATIENT WHEN YOU ARE READING CATCHING FIRE!!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Sample

    I read the sample and loved it wanted to read more so I purchased it...now when I go to read it its still only the sample..what did I do wrong?!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Modan321

    Kept me glued to my nook!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Amazimg

    Best book of the seris!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Best series EVER

    I absolutely love the hunger games series! I just barely finished catching fire and i am now ready to read Mockingjay!! I got so into the series, I found myself choosing between Gale and Peeta!
    The first book i absolutely hated Peeta and now Im getting to like him more.
    I would definenly reccomend this book to anyone 11 and up. (I just cant imagine a little kid loving this book.) Can't wait to read Mockingjay!! :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Best book ever

    My friend recommended this book i thought at first it was going to be boring but after i read it i was begging my mom to buy me the second one it was one of the best most thrilling romances after the twilight series i recommend this book to everyone no wonder this book is in the top 100 of barnes and noble

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    AWESOME

    This book was so good page turner suspense. WHO CAN forget romance i wrote one reveie during reading now after reading i am HOOKED.Anybody hating this book and all the others read it if not i have better things to do then mess around.I am going to get Mokingjay right after this reveiw wish me luck.So there is trouble brewing with the districts and the capitol and in Katnnis amd gale.So get the book to find out what happeneds.GET THE BOOK

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    What!?!?!!?

    People r saying they hate this book but idk why!?!?!?!?!?!?!??! Its AWSOME 2 me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Catching Fire

    Catching Fire is the second book to the Hunger Games and it's just as good. Katniss and Peeta just survived the deadly Hunger Games and because of how they won they are now in big trouble with the capitol. The capitol saw what they did as an act of rebellion and they think it could cause uprisings in other districts. Fighting the capitol could be even harder than it was fighting in the Hunger Games for Katniss and Peeta. The capitol can easily control there lives and if they lose against the capitol they're not the only ones whole will die but their family and friends will too.

    I really liked this book because like the first one it is really exciting and you want to keep reading it to see what happens to Katniss and Peeta. I also like this book because there is a twist in it that happens that you never thought would have happened and it just makes the book even more exciting.

    I recommend this book to anyone who liked the first book because this one is just as good. I also recommend this book to people who like to read books where you don't know what's going to happen next. This book is very exciting and a page turner. I think this is a very good book and that many people will like it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Its Alright

    The book is boring for the most part. It gets better towrds the end. Its not as good as the first book but its alright

    4 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Sequel Segue, But Still Fantastic

    This book was more of a segue piece to connect books one and three in the Hunger Games Series together than it was as a stand alone. It lacked the full bravado and masterful styling and construction of the first book, but held a very strong intrinsic value to the series as a whole. The genuine charm from new characters is fading and I found myself hoping that they would have been developed more. It takes what was built up in book one and polished the rough details and rips apart loose ends with such rapid attention that it leaves us with what we know to grow into what we hope to happen. We meet our characters again as they return home, only to be faced with a more perilous journey thrust at them. There is no time to recover, no time to weep and reflect, only time to see what must be done and do it to the best of their abilities. The title of the book is quite fitting to the content. What began with a Spark begins to catch fire, and the book continues its relentless one way battle to the finale that awaits in book three. Its unforgiving style and pace that it sets is truly remarkable and I found it to be far more pervasive than I expected as it not only consumed my waking hours but my dreams as well. The book makes a great mark but falls short of being superb. Whether you believe it or not, you probably wont be able to put this down until you burn your way through the fire and reach the end.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Mtc

    If you love catching fire dont look in the least helpfull reviews because all youll see is dumb reviews saying that people hate catching fire. I mean i know its a matter of opinion but dont hate on the book. i think this is an awesome book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    All these comments are stupid

    All these comments are stupid

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    SCARY

    This book was very scary. I am an old lady and when i get scared i tend to wet my pants.

    3 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Catching fire

    This book is not as good as rhe first one

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Awesome

    This is the best of the hunger gemes

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    this book i think is the best one out of the three hunger games

    this book i think is the best one out of the three hunger games book. you dont want to leave, you always want to keep reading and dont want to stop and me a person that despise reading i actually wanted to do just that even when i went out i read it while eating tooo my mom got so mad at mez1 but its that addicting and when i finished it i was so depressed :( but overall its amazing and its 53456436 times better than hunger games because its all the victors that won before! i wont spoil it but theres so many new charceters ,new enemys, new relationships i give this book 5 stars suzanne is a incredibly writer and hipifully she writes more good books just like this piece i suggest everyone should read this (but need to read hunger games first to understand it ) but its thrilling so many cliffhangers and a little bit of a love triangle! so even people that hates reading can find something that has intrest in them it also myseterious and action dont know whos going to turn on their backs to save the ppl they love

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Click here (and im not asking to chat or anything like that)

    Roses are red
    Nightlock is blue
    It's called Catching Fire
    Not Hunger Games two

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Better than the first

    This book is a must read. Once you start it you can't stop I read it in about a week. Its so much better than the first theres all kinds of new people in like Finnicks Odair. You should really read this.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 29582 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 1480