BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Catching Fire (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 29271 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22230)

4 Star

(4563)

3 Star

(1353)

2 Star

(425)

1 Star

(700)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

519 out of 588 people found this review helpful.

I got an ARC, but didn't want to write a review until now...

While considerably darker than The Hunger Games, Catching Fire was an immensely thrilling book. An indispensable quality of writing with a voice true to the character teamed with an overwhelming plot full of blood-curdling twists and heart-wrenching turns ensure Catchin...
While considerably darker than The Hunger Games, Catching Fire was an immensely thrilling book. An indispensable quality of writing with a voice true to the character teamed with an overwhelming plot full of blood-curdling twists and heart-wrenching turns ensure Catching Fire a special home on my bookshelf. Catching Fire is most definitely the best YA novel to present itself to me in years. The ending does not merely leave you hanging precariously off the edge of your seat, but gives you the sensation of being shoved out of a moving plane. Quite frankly, I loved it.

posted by Fiddlesticks on September 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

96 out of 173 people found this review helpful.

Download Catching Fire For Free

Download Catching Fire For Free From Here goo.gl/HeJwR

posted by 9502659 on August 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29664 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1484
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    I got an ARC, but didn't want to write a review until now...

    While considerably darker than The Hunger Games, Catching Fire was an immensely thrilling book. An indispensable quality of writing with a voice true to the character teamed with an overwhelming plot full of blood-curdling twists and heart-wrenching turns ensure Catching Fire a special home on my bookshelf. Catching Fire is most definitely the best YA novel to present itself to me in years. The ending does not merely leave you hanging precariously off the edge of your seat, but gives you the sensation of being shoved out of a moving plane. Quite frankly, I loved it.

    519 out of 588 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    345 out of 457 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Leaves you hungry for more!

    I loved the first book so much I managed to get my hands on an ARC for Catching Fire. I finished the book in one sitting and it is just as extraordinary as the first. It picks up almost right where the first book leaves off with Katniss and Peeta's return home to District 12. This book focuses less on the Games and more on the unrest that Peeta and Katniss' defiance of the Capitol has created throughout most of the Districts. It is just as gut wrenching and heart breaking as the first. The story is chilling and draws the reader into the harsh yet frighteningly realistic dystopian society of Panem. Collins is a magnificent writer and I can't wait to read the third and final book!

    273 out of 321 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    omg!!!

    i loooooove love love this book series! i kinda cheated....i was walking in walmart yesterday and thought i would check out some books. For some reason they always put out books early, so after i found a book there that wasnt suppose to be released for another week, i figure 'whats the harm'...... and OMG!!! right there in the center isle all shinny and new was catching fire!!!!

    i took it home and read striaght thorugh the night (thank lord i was off work today) and it is the perfect book to follow hunger games!!!! everyone should read this book!!!! its nothing short from AMAZING!!!! now the only problem is, how long until the third book come out lol :-D

    115 out of 162 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    5 Stars!!!

    Honestly, besides the first book, this is the only title I have ever felt passionate enough about to give 5 stars for each category. Perfect for adults and young readers alike, this series is one you will find hard to put down! I have never been so drawn into a story, and I can't wait to find out what happens next!

    101 out of 122 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    CANNOT WAIT TIL SEPTEMBER!

    The Hunger Games is the best book I have ever read. I'm not fan of romance books but this book leads into it perfectly. I wanted to read it cover to cover but school got in the way. I can't wait until September, when I should be getting ready for school to start I'm going to be reading but if Catching Fire is as good as The Hunger Games getting grounded for reading instead of getting prepared for school will be way worth it.

    77 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I can't wait for this book!

    I can't wait until Catching Fire comes out! It's on my wish list. I hope it meets (or even exceeds) my expectations. Only a few more days and I can't wait.

    P.S.- If you liked the Hunger Games, you should check out whatshouldireadnext.com. Just type in the Hunger Games and it will recommend other books to read while you wait for Catching Fire.

    70 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Was not disappointed at all

    I had read "The Hunger Games" last year and fell in love with the story and the characters. I couldn't wait until "Catching Fire" came out to know what happened next to Katniss, Peeta, Gale and the rest of District 12 and the wait was well worth it. This book was excellent, a page turner and a definite re-read. I can't wait for the next and final book in the series.

    66 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Catching fire

    This book was soooo gripping, and kept me rrading afterlights out under my covers!

    65 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Loveitt!!!!

    OMG BEST BOOK EVER HAVENT FINISHED BUT I KNOW I WONT BE DISSAPOINTED!!!!!!!

    63 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Epic

    GREATEST BOOK EVA!!!!!!!!!!

    45 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    Worth the wait!

    Yet again, amazing book! I really enjoy the new group of characters in the mix, particularly Finnick. I really hope there is a third! You get too see some different sides of Katniss and Peeta's personality. Two words: Get It!! :]

    38 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    AMAZING

    THIS BOOK IS AMAZING! IT IS MY FAVORITE IN THE SERIES! IT IS A MUST READ AFTER YOU HAVE READ THE FIRST ONE!

    35 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    couldn't put it down

    oh, the perks of being a bookseller. after an advance copy of The Hunger Games, i was dying for the next installment, Catching Fire [as was a good half of our staff]. i began reading the second i got my hands on it. this book is amazing. i think i might have loved it even more than the first book. i got completely lost in it for hours on end, finishing the 400 page book in less than 12 hours. i had to stop myself from picking it up the second i turned the last page & set it down to begin again. packed with adventure, surprises, & love triangles, we're reunited with our favorite characters [and a few new ones!] still fighting to survive in the destructive world of Panem. the ending of the book is so fast paced & intense that you're devouring every word & the last page comes too soon. Catching Fire leaves you more attached to the brave & humble Katniss and the smart & loving Peeta. i'm already anxious for whatever Suzanne Collins has in store next for them.

    35 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Great read

    if you read the first one, how could you not continue to the second... enough said

    33 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Love the book

    It is adventerous and heart stopping,even without a movie!!!!!!

    28 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    So so so great!

    Nothing will beat The Hunger Games (book one) but this book was sure close! Exciting and sad....not a whole lot of happy. Katniss is a character like none before! She is so strong willed and literally puts everyones safety ahead of her own. I sometimes wish i could yell at her through the book and tell her to run...tell her to pick gale...no wait...pick peeta...no wait...gale! And even though its been days since turning the last page i still think about her and those she loved most. The games will never leave me. It's as if i survived too!

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    OMG!!!

    Josh Hutcherson is so awesome!!!!! I can't wait for the next movie on November 22 2013!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Catching Fire was my favorite out of the entire series!

    23 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Compelling Sequel

    From start to finish this is an absorbing read. It entertains with a combination of compelling narrative, sympathetic main characters and gripping action. The pace increases throughout the novel and reaches break-neck speed as the novel nears completion. The plot encompasses themes of love, survival, defiance, courage and loss. Story line predictability is partially avoided by the surprise ending. The book's only substantial flaw is the instability of the protagonist's character. At times, Katniss is the appealing, resourceful, pragmatic, cynical and kind-hearted survivor first introduced in "Hunger Games." But, she occasionally morphs into an over-emotional basket case who does foolish and/or illogical, (sometimes nihilistic), things. Plus, her feelings toward Gale and Peeta are unnaturally skewed toward indecision. Any seventeen year old girl would intuitively know which guy she preferred romantically. Furthermore, her reaction to President Snow's course of action is implausible. Anyone with half-a-brain knows what Snow is going to do to her, and she should have expected or, at a minimum, vaguely anticipated it. Despite these shortcomings, the book is fast-paced and extremely entertaining. It leaves the reader both satisfied and wanting more.

    22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Perfect!

    This book and series make me want to read all day every day. It is perfect for preteens as i am one. I am very excited to watch the movie!!!

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29664 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1484