Customer Reviews for

Catching Fire (Hunger Games Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 29065 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22068)

4 Star

(4537)

3 Star

(1347)

2 Star

(421)

1 Star

(692)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

512 out of 581 people found this review helpful.

I got an ARC, but didn't want to write a review until now...

While considerably darker than The Hunger Games, Catching Fire was an immensely thrilling book. An indispensable quality of writing with a voice true to the character teamed with an overwhelming plot full of blood-curdling twists and heart-wrenching turns ensure Catchin...
While considerably darker than The Hunger Games, Catching Fire was an immensely thrilling book. An indispensable quality of writing with a voice true to the character teamed with an overwhelming plot full of blood-curdling twists and heart-wrenching turns ensure Catching Fire a special home on my bookshelf. Catching Fire is most definitely the best YA novel to present itself to me in years. The ending does not merely leave you hanging precariously off the edge of your seat, but gives you the sensation of being shoved out of a moving plane. Quite frankly, I loved it.

posted by Fiddlesticks on September 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

96 out of 173 people found this review helpful.

Download Catching Fire For Free

Download Catching Fire For Free From Here goo.gl/HeJwR

posted by 9502659 on August 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22068 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1104
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    I got an ARC, but didn't want to write a review until now...

    While considerably darker than The Hunger Games, Catching Fire was an immensely thrilling book. An indispensable quality of writing with a voice true to the character teamed with an overwhelming plot full of blood-curdling twists and heart-wrenching turns ensure Catching Fire a special home on my bookshelf. Catching Fire is most definitely the best YA novel to present itself to me in years. The ending does not merely leave you hanging precariously off the edge of your seat, but gives you the sensation of being shoved out of a moving plane. Quite frankly, I loved it.

    512 out of 581 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    343 out of 454 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Leaves you hungry for more!

    I loved the first book so much I managed to get my hands on an ARC for Catching Fire. I finished the book in one sitting and it is just as extraordinary as the first. It picks up almost right where the first book leaves off with Katniss and Peeta's return home to District 12. This book focuses less on the Games and more on the unrest that Peeta and Katniss' defiance of the Capitol has created throughout most of the Districts. It is just as gut wrenching and heart breaking as the first. The story is chilling and draws the reader into the harsh yet frighteningly realistic dystopian society of Panem. Collins is a magnificent writer and I can't wait to read the third and final book!

    270 out of 318 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    omg!!!

    i loooooove love love this book series! i kinda cheated....i was walking in walmart yesterday and thought i would check out some books. For some reason they always put out books early, so after i found a book there that wasnt suppose to be released for another week, i figure 'whats the harm'...... and OMG!!! right there in the center isle all shinny and new was catching fire!!!!

    i took it home and read striaght thorugh the night (thank lord i was off work today) and it is the perfect book to follow hunger games!!!! everyone should read this book!!!! its nothing short from AMAZING!!!! now the only problem is, how long until the third book come out lol :-D

    112 out of 158 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    5 Stars!!!

    Honestly, besides the first book, this is the only title I have ever felt passionate enough about to give 5 stars for each category. Perfect for adults and young readers alike, this series is one you will find hard to put down! I have never been so drawn into a story, and I can't wait to find out what happens next!

    99 out of 119 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    CANNOT WAIT TIL SEPTEMBER!

    The Hunger Games is the best book I have ever read. I'm not fan of romance books but this book leads into it perfectly. I wanted to read it cover to cover but school got in the way. I can't wait until September, when I should be getting ready for school to start I'm going to be reading but if Catching Fire is as good as The Hunger Games getting grounded for reading instead of getting prepared for school will be way worth it.

    76 out of 102 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I can't wait for this book!

    I can't wait until Catching Fire comes out! It's on my wish list. I hope it meets (or even exceeds) my expectations. Only a few more days and I can't wait.

    P.S.- If you liked the Hunger Games, you should check out whatshouldireadnext.com. Just type in the Hunger Games and it will recommend other books to read while you wait for Catching Fire.

    69 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Was not disappointed at all

    I had read "The Hunger Games" last year and fell in love with the story and the characters. I couldn't wait until "Catching Fire" came out to know what happened next to Katniss, Peeta, Gale and the rest of District 12 and the wait was well worth it. This book was excellent, a page turner and a definite re-read. I can't wait for the next and final book in the series.

    65 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Catching fire

    This book was soooo gripping, and kept me rrading afterlights out under my covers!

    63 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Loveitt!!!!

    OMG BEST BOOK EVER HAVENT FINISHED BUT I KNOW I WONT BE DISSAPOINTED!!!!!!!

    62 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Epic

    GREATEST BOOK EVA!!!!!!!!!!

    45 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    AMAZING

    THIS BOOK IS AMAZING! IT IS MY FAVORITE IN THE SERIES! IT IS A MUST READ AFTER YOU HAVE READ THE FIRST ONE!

    34 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    couldn't put it down

    oh, the perks of being a bookseller. after an advance copy of The Hunger Games, i was dying for the next installment, Catching Fire [as was a good half of our staff]. i began reading the second i got my hands on it. this book is amazing. i think i might have loved it even more than the first book. i got completely lost in it for hours on end, finishing the 400 page book in less than 12 hours. i had to stop myself from picking it up the second i turned the last page & set it down to begin again. packed with adventure, surprises, & love triangles, we're reunited with our favorite characters [and a few new ones!] still fighting to survive in the destructive world of Panem. the ending of the book is so fast paced & intense that you're devouring every word & the last page comes too soon. Catching Fire leaves you more attached to the brave & humble Katniss and the smart & loving Peeta. i'm already anxious for whatever Suzanne Collins has in store next for them.

    34 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Great read

    if you read the first one, how could you not continue to the second... enough said

    33 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Love the book

    It is adventerous and heart stopping,even without a movie!!!!!!

    28 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    So so so great!

    Nothing will beat The Hunger Games (book one) but this book was sure close! Exciting and sad....not a whole lot of happy. Katniss is a character like none before! She is so strong willed and literally puts everyones safety ahead of her own. I sometimes wish i could yell at her through the book and tell her to run...tell her to pick gale...no wait...pick peeta...no wait...gale! And even though its been days since turning the last page i still think about her and those she loved most. The games will never leave me. It's as if i survived too!

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    OMG!!!

    Josh Hutcherson is so awesome!!!!! I can't wait for the next movie on November 22 2013!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Catching Fire was my favorite out of the entire series!

    23 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Perfect!

    This book and series make me want to read all day every day. It is perfect for preteens as i am one. I am very excited to watch the movie!!!

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    We pick up about six months after the last games. Katniss and he

    We pick up about six months after the last games. Katniss and her family are living in a posh townhouse, near Haymitch and Peeta. She still goes hunting but only on Sundays and sadly she doesn’t see Gale nearly enough. As a winner of the Hunger Games, she now has obligations to the capitol, and one is to make appearances. Before one such event, she heads home for a make-over from Cianna and the troops, only to find President Coriolanus Snow sitting in the parlor. He gives her a warning about her impact on the districts and makes a threat. Katniss is terrified by it, but will protect her family and Gale at all costs to herself. As she and Peeta tour the districts, the discontent of the people is evident. Despite her intentions to heed Snow's warning she is unable to change things. After their return to District Twelve, there is a mandatory announcement. This year to celebrate the Quell or the seventy-five anniversary of the Hunger Games the reaping will be different. The tale that unfolds is riveting and the ending left me screaming for more.

    We see some growth in the characters, and meet new players. Hints are dropped, and key elements are set into place for the final novel Mockingjay. Katniss begins to question things, and looks beyond her family and personal dilemmas to see the bigger picture. The events in the game had me glued to the pages, as one thing after the other happens at a maddening pace. The secondary characters were fascinating and had depth. We begin to see characters both in the capitol and the districts seek an end to the reaping and the suppression of the districts.

    Collins world-building is amazing, and I loved the glimpses into the districts, the bearing down of the government and the glaring contrast between the districts and the capitol. Whether intentional or not Collins presents food for thought. The similarity between this dystopian and ours, causes the reader to take pause, and think about the wastefulness of the wealthy. Individuals and nations waste without thought as some go hungry or do without. The capitol represents greed, and its people love everything in excess. The districts are little more than slaves. She reveals the human spirit in all its glory, its will to survive and the power of hope. I love the depth she brings to her characters whether they are exorbitant and flashy or quite and thoughtful. Every character is fleshed out and it makes the tale powerful.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Better than Twilight

    I saw this book recommended on Stephenie Meyer's website and from the moment I read the synopsis(front inside cover) I knew I would love the book and with no disapointment I did! I'm a freshmen in high school and started a book club recently. Right now I'm having them read this book and all the people who have allready read it, have said that it was AMAZING! I can't wait until our discussion for this book! A MUST READ!!!

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22068 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1104