Customer Reviews for

Catching Fireflies (Sweet Magnolias Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Catching Fireflies A Sweet Magnolia Novel by Sherryl Woods ISBN:

Catching Fireflies A Sweet Magnolia Novel by Sherryl Woods
ISBN: 9780778313595
Laura Reed is a high school English teacher and she's noticed one bright girl has not been attending her classes.
Misty confided in her friend Katie, who had gotten in trouble for skipping...
Catching Fireflies A Sweet Magnolia Novel by Sherryl Woods
ISBN: 9780778313595
Laura Reed is a high school English teacher and she's noticed one bright girl has not been attending her classes.
Misty confided in her friend Katie, who had gotten in trouble for skipping school because of her and Misty was now being pressured to tell an adult about why she no longer wanted to go to school.
She had even gone to the doctor and made a deal with him that she'd talk to an adult about the problem.
And now the coach was onto her skipping classes and she is also Katie's stepdad.
Misty has to get a handle on the problem.
Laura meets with the doctor, JC to compare notes as to why Misty wants out of her classes.
The women in town have been trying to fix the doctor up with females for dates to no avail.
Love catching up with everyone in town and that they all come together to help one when the need arises.
Small town living, festivals, football games, and gossip.
Had shivers as the authorities dealt with the situation...
Easy to follow although there are a lot of players they are not confusing.
Love how this book is so up to date with happenings in todays' society.

posted by jbarr5 on July 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Star

*talks in cheeta* Why do you want Goldenstar?

posted by 11016604 on August 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Catching Fireflies A Sweet Magnolia Novel by Sherryl Woods ISBN:

    Catching Fireflies A Sweet Magnolia Novel by Sherryl Woods
    ISBN: 9780778313595
    Laura Reed is a high school English teacher and she's noticed one bright girl has not been attending her classes.
    Misty confided in her friend Katie, who had gotten in trouble for skipping school because of her and Misty was now being pressured to tell an adult about why she no longer wanted to go to school.
    She had even gone to the doctor and made a deal with him that she'd talk to an adult about the problem.
    And now the coach was onto her skipping classes and she is also Katie's stepdad.
    Misty has to get a handle on the problem.
    Laura meets with the doctor, JC to compare notes as to why Misty wants out of her classes.
    The women in town have been trying to fix the doctor up with females for dates to no avail.
    Love catching up with everyone in town and that they all come together to help one when the need arises.
    Small town living, festivals, football games, and gossip.
    Had shivers as the authorities dealt with the situation...
    Easy to follow although there are a lot of players they are not confusing.
    Love how this book is so up to date with happenings in todays' society.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Thomas

    Love you too. Goodnight sweetheart.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Highly recommed

    I love Sherryl Woods Sweet Magnolias Series and this was a very good read. This book is a good book for club discussions. Sherryl's books are for everyday happenings and most people can relate to them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Good Reading!

    As usual, all the Sweet Magnolia books are well written and very enjoyable and this one is no different. A new set of characters and generous helping of the ones we already know make this book a pleasant departure from our own reality and takes us back to visit what seems to be like old friends. Can't wait for the next one to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Another Hit !!

    Another hit for the Sweet Magnolias. Highly Recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Nico

    Somtimes i mastuebate anwatch porn nook sex?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Nico

    Nothing much. Just bored. Cant sleep. Again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    To nico

    Ha me too sumtimes but then i just bore my self to bed lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Darris

    Hey i have a question?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    ~~~~FireflyClan's Leaders Den~~~~

    Thi is where te High Stone is at.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Stacy

    Pushes off of him. "Your really inexperienced....i feel like a pedo im gonna go" puts on her clothes and leaves

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A rating....

    My Review:
    This was such an amazing book, partly because it faces head-on a subject that has gotten a lot of press lately, bullying. BUT what this book does is shows the very real consequences of bullying...both with teens, children, and adults. It's a REALLY wonderful book and has such an amazing message.

    In this book, J.C. (a pediatrician) and Laura (high school English teacher) are brought together by their concern for Misty, a junior in the high school. Misty is smart and talented and an all-around nice girl, but something's going on with her. She's skipping Laura's English class and went to J.C. hoping to get a note to excuse her from school, but she refuses to explain what's going on. The only person who knows is Katie, her best friend. Katie was in the last book and got in trouble for skipping school. We never did find out why she was doing that, but now it comes out....she's trying to help her friend Misty. Katie is the friend that every mother hopes her kid has...steadfast and true and willing to stand up for what is right. Katie's finally the one who finds help for Misty. It truly is just a great book.

    Already with the set-up, you know that J.C. and Laura are going to be amazing characters. They are out to protect this teenager who, at first, doesn't have many allies. But they both have such deeper stories. They both have their own harsh experiences with bullies and the mental scars from those. J.C. also has relationship scars which have put him off relationships forever. He has NO DESIRE to ever get romantically involved again and is very upfront with Laura about that from the very beginning. He's here for Misty and only Misty, but slowly that changes. I really liked the way that their relationship evolved and the morning he called Laura to go running had me cracking up. I love that they are friends first.

    Again this is a series with a VERY strong small-town vibe and this whole town rallies around this issue. I've only read the book before this one even though this is #9 in the series. You absolutely don't have to read the others to enjoy any of these novels, but I have a feeling you will find, like I am, that you will want to go back and read other books from the series after starting it. They truly are just good books. I'm a big fan of Robyn Carr's Virgin River series and these remind me a lot of that one. Just an amazing cast of characters that you can't help but fall in love with!

    I received a complementary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    I have passed this book on and recommended it to all my family & friends.

    This book is a "keeper"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Warriorpaw

    I think good. She sees a finch in the tree and climbs up. She gos u the same way as she walked. When she got to the branch it was on she crouched and pounced. She had it in her mouth. She put it on the ground. Here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Awesome!

    Loved this book. Great Series.. Can't wait til the next book comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    Great read and a must for parents of teenagers (and for teenager

    Great read and a must for parents of teenagers (and for teenagers
    themselves). The effects of cyberbulling are set forth in a very
    readable way and the response of the school and the community is very
    believeable. Thank you Sherryl Woods for addressing this topic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Med den

    V

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Darkpelt

    He bowed his head to Firestar, "I am very sorry for the interuption. You see, a cheetah took our leader, Goldenstar, here. As her warriors we naturally ran after her to get her back. That led to a fight with one of our warriors and one of your warriors. Once again, I am very sorry for the interuption. I will be living now." He padded away.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Blossomwing

    Maybe it was because she had NO IDEA that their was a clan here!? Your not exactly the most active Clan. -Blossomwing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Dragonspirit

    *I watch you tear the illusion of me apart and purr* "Cute"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2