Customer Reviews for

The Cater Street Hangman (Thomas and Charlotte Pitt Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Good Ending

    Anne Perry is good at working her characters, and casting a shadow on everyone eventually. The ending is satisfying, but the book is a little slow. My only complaint is that much like some of Agatha Christie's books, Ms Perry drags on a little too long in the emotional dregs of her main protagonist causing the reader to skim and skip at times starting about three quarters of the way through the book. Being the first of a series, I am sure she was trying to give us all a good look into her main characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    good still

    I read the 2011 Open Road ebook edition of this book. This is the first book I have read of hers but won't be the last. I was into the characters I really like charlotte and her sisters.
    Charlotte is reading the paper in secret because her father thinks that their is only a little on the news fit for women and he will read it to them. So she reads them when the servants put it away for them to read so at least its a day old by the time she can read it.
    Charlotte has a crush on her sister Sarah's husband. She is very out spoken and not afraid to say things to others. She is also caring about others and trys to help when she can.
    Sarah is married and she lives with her husband and her mother & Father, two sisters and grandmother in the same house.
    Emily is the youngest of the three sisters and romance is very important to her. She can manuver with the best of them.
    Someone is killing women on their street with a wire around their necks. Soon everyone is questioning everyone else. Pitt is the policeman that is in charge asking all the questions.
    I did not guess the real murder till the end of the book I suspected a few but was wrong. I recieved this ebook from netgalley in exchange for honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2009

    Rereaad again and again

    I bought this book years ago and recomend it to anyone. I have lost track of how many times I have reread it, but it has been at least 20 times. I may have to buy a second copy of it soon because it is almost worn out. Any of the Tomas and Charlottt Pitt novels is worth buying and I have most of them. If you like a good mystery and historical fiction this book is for you. In fact any of the Pitt novels is worth buying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2014

    These are great mysreries with wonderful historical detail.

    I love her both of her book series. This is the first one in thiscseries. I have read each one as they were published since I first read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2014

    I have greatly enjoyed the William Monk series and felt I needed

    I have greatly enjoyed the William Monk series and felt I needed to delve into the Thomas and Charlotte Pitt series. Perry shows that the police department in England did not evoke respect in the 1880's. No privileged family would welcome a policeman into their family. Policemen are barely above the riffraff that they must arrest. Perry spends much time in describing the everyday life of the English, and the role of a lady in this society. That life stands as a boring march to the grave. Women have no life and have been held to strict principles. Men, in contrast, lead a different life with different principles. The killer/hangman comes as a surprise, but the story abruptly stops with the discovery of the hangman.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2014

    Another wonderful story

    anne perry is always good. and this is her at her best.
















    anne

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Interesting story

    Good story line. Was disappointed that it included 50 pages of next book at the end of story. Will read next story though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Anne Perry's first book in this wonderful series, had me staying

    Anne Perry's first book in this wonderful series, had me staying up all night till 3am to finish reading- Loved how the book made you keep turning the page. I totally thought I knew who dun it. Boy, was I wrong.. What a great author and story teller. Bring on the rest of the series..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Loved it

    This was my first mystery, and i loved it. I couldn't put it down. The characters were intriguing, the plot was perfectly paced, and i can't wait to read the next book.

    I hope the rest of the series is as engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Great intro to Charlotte and Thomas Pitt.

    I love Charlotte & Thomas and while the story is tragic, it captures the superficial prissiness of Victorian culture that overlies the often gritty and sordid realities and inequalities, as well as the ingrained classism of England. I look forward to more investigations in the pursuit of justice in 19 th century London.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Anne Perry is my favorite author, ever. Read her books by protag

    Anne Perry is my favorite author, ever. Read her books by protagonist, from the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Great read.

    Anne Perry got me hooked on murder mysteries with this one. She's a very good writer and keeps the suspense going till the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    This was a wonderful historical mystery, it is the beginning of

    This was a wonderful historical mystery, it is the beginning of Charlotte Ellison and Inspector Thomas Pitt's romance. A madman is garroting women at night on Cater Street. These women are a mixture of classes, both maids and young ladies of the family. When the Ellison's maid is murdered Inspector Pitt goes to their home to question the family and that is where he meets Charlotte. Things progress and each develops feelings that neither will admit until the final murder occurs. A well written storyline and great characters make this a great book.

    Thank Net Galley and Random House Publishing Group

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    I first started reading Anne Perry with "Death in Devil's A

    I first started reading Anne Perry with "Death in Devil's Acre" and while I thoroughly enjoyed the book, it made reference to characters I did not know or understand why they were mentioned. Having read "Cater Street Hangman" it all makes sense. To know really understand Charlotte and Thomas Pitt, one needs to begin with the first book. If you want to start a collection of Victorian murder mysteries, this is a great place to start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    First of a wonderful series

    This is the first of the Thomas and Charlotte Pitt series. It was great to find this one as it gives background on the characters. I have enjoyed everyone of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent read!

    I have to say, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and the time period it was set in. I was not surprised by the end, I had the killer figured out way ahead of time, but I was surprised by the motive until the last chapter when I thought it was pretty evident.

    The book is about a family that is of high social order. Though rich and entitled, the women in the family do their best to attend to the ill and poor, perhaps on a superficial level but still, they try according to their upbringing. As the story goes, several women are found murdered on Cater Street somewhat reminiscent of the Boston Strangler. It is the mention, several times, that the women were not molested that made the killer evident to me but I read enough of this type of book to find the clues.

    The good - the book is wonderful with its characters, its attention to even the smallest details and made me care about the family. The women are Caroline (mom), her eldest Sarah who is married to Dominic, her second eldest Charlotte who is the main character pretty much and the one who defies the societal norms the most, then the youngest Emily who only wishes to marry well. As the story goes and the murders hit closer to home (they live near Cater Street), secrets they wished to keep hidden begin to be exposed as everyone is suspect.

    The bad - I couldn't really come up with anything bad to say about the book. The sample was done in extremely small print - smaller than any book I have ever read in my life - but to make it larger was to distort the sentences.

    I have to say, I really enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to anyone who likes historical romance/murder mysteries. I give this book an A!

    **I received this book from Netgalley which required me to read and write a review. The review is not required to be favorable though, in this case, it certainly is. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Captures the essence of Victorian society

    In this first of the series, Anne Perry captures the atmosphere and essence of Victorian society. This is an entertaining read that will keep you guessing till the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good, Not Great

    When I learned that there was a series of Victorian era murder/mysteries I became excited since I was bored with the usual historical romances. Ah, thought I, now for some excitement. In the Cater Street Hangman, the first of this series, the plot is good as mysteries go with any number of red herrings thrown in. The final denouement is a surprise (at least it was to me). However, the characters all seem a bit shallow and story movement is slow. At the outset I thought this would be one of those books where I read the first couple of chapters and set it aside. Not so. After a slow start, the story does indeed pick up with bits and pieces of the puzzle being revealed slowly.

    For this reader, however, there are many unanswered questions about dangling story lines. Hopefully, they will be answered in the next book in the series. I've given this book 3 stars based on the originality of the plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    First in the Thomas & Charlotte Pitt series

    This is an excellent beginning to the Pitt series by Anne Perry. I have read every one so far and have not been disappointed in any of them. If you like mysteries, you will love this book, and the Victorian England history is excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    An excellent guessing game

    With a Victorian England setting, intriging characters, and a few maids and high class young women being garrotted on Cater street, I was absolutley hooked. Perry does a great job of describing women's roles, class society, and of course a wonderful mystery that will keep you guessing until the end. I recommend this to anyone who loves a page-turning mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3