Customer Reviews for

Catfish Alley

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Anonymous

    Great book! A must read! Enjoyed getting to know the characters in the book. This book is book club worthy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Loved it! A bit like The Help. I love books that jump back and

    Loved it! A bit like The Help. I love books that jump back and forth from the past to the present and are told from several viewpoints.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Catfish Alley is the surprising story of a Junior League, South

    Catfish Alley is the surprising story of a Junior League, Southern woman making friends with an elderly black woman while learning the history of the town she lives in. It is the story of an awakening of this middle-aged, upper-crust woman to what is right in front of her eyes, yet she had never seen before.

    I picked this book up after spending some time in Mississippi and wanting to know more about life there. What I thought was going to be a book about Southern ladies and friendship bloomed into so much more. While friendship is the heart of the novel, Lynne Bryant also weaves in a story of forgiveness and encouragement through the heartbreaking and brutal days of being a black man or woman in Mississippi in 1931.

    Once Introduced to Bryant's characters of Grace, Zero, Addie and Junior, I found myself embroiled in their lives and wrapped up in the story that, while I knew how it would end, was touching and heartbreaking all at the same time.

    Although I love spending time in Mississippi now, I'm glad I didn't then. Bryant captures the fear and injustice of the times without going overboard.
    I enjoyed this book and look forward to Bryant's next story about Mississippi, Alligator Lake.

    Victoria Allman
    author of: SEAsoned: A Chef's Journey with Her Captain

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Cafish Alley is a MUST READ

    This book got me from the start. Couldn't put it down.
    Lynne BRyant tells the story of 1930's Mississippi with skill and knowledge.
    From Grace to Zero, the characters are vivid and come to life with her story telling.
    Rosie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Awesome!!

    A little bit of "Fried Green Tomatoes" mixed with some "The Help", but with a story all its own... love love loved this book!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Moriah to jordan

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Well Done

    Actions and deeds often resonate throughout history being felt for generations. Such is the case in Catfish Alley. While working on a community historical project, Roxanne Reeves must deal with the sins of the past and the scars of the present.

    Set in modern day Mississippi, the book is interwoven with recollections and memories of the 1930s South. The book deals with race, family, and friendships, both then and now. The characters are genuine and wise. The relationships are full of all that real life is made of.

    Even when writing outside her realm of experience, Ms. Bryant's observations are keen and accurate. She has done her homework. She has tried to depict the South with its people and history in a broader sense. She has done it well, and its people proud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1