Customer Reviews for

Catholic New American Bible Revised Edition (NABRE)

Average Rating 3.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Excellent & well-organized Bible!

I'm so pleased that we now have an authentic Catholic Bible for Nook, and even better that it's the NABRE edition. This is well organized; the hyperlinks to go to a book or chapter, a footnote, etc, work well, and very quickly. It's really nice that I can use the high...
I'm so pleased that we now have an authentic Catholic Bible for Nook, and even better that it's the NABRE edition. This is well organized; the hyperlinks to go to a book or chapter, a footnote, etc, work well, and very quickly. It's really nice that I can use the highlighting & notes features to prepare for Bible study class.

The only tiny quibble is that I now really wish my Nook Color had a good "back" function; when I jump to a footnote, I have to back up to the point of citation manually.

The Douay-Rheims Nook Bible I purchased a while back is going to my archive shelf; this is far superior. Excellent reference and well-organized Bible!

posted by BarbaraC1977 on August 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

very poor

I enthusiastically purchased this bible for my Nook color and was very disappointed. It is impossible to navigate, especially in Psalms. The bar with the table of contents, book marks, etc will not come up. I took it to a store and they could not make it work, even on...
I enthusiastically purchased this bible for my Nook color and was very disappointed. It is impossible to navigate, especially in Psalms. The bar with the table of contents, book marks, etc will not come up. I took it to a store and they could not make it work, even on their unit. They called Nook support and they would not believe the store personnel. They had to argue with a support supervisor to get me a refund. This is not the first issue I have had with Nook support. Very poor customer support and very disappointed in the book. I was really excited about being able to have this bible on my Nook color. Maybe I would have better luck with a Kindle.

posted by lynettemtait on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Excellent & well-organized Bible!

    I'm so pleased that we now have an authentic Catholic Bible for Nook, and even better that it's the NABRE edition. This is well organized; the hyperlinks to go to a book or chapter, a footnote, etc, work well, and very quickly. It's really nice that I can use the highlighting & notes features to prepare for Bible study class.

    The only tiny quibble is that I now really wish my Nook Color had a good "back" function; when I jump to a footnote, I have to back up to the point of citation manually.

    The Douay-Rheims Nook Bible I purchased a while back is going to my archive shelf; this is far superior. Excellent reference and well-organized Bible!

    35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    My Favorite Bible of them all!

    I sort of struggled to find a bible that suited me-some had too many "thees" and "thous"; some were way too modern and didn't sound very holy to me at all. This NAB was just right and I believe that it is the version that I hear read in Mass at my parish, which is terrific, too. It must be said right here and now that I have NEVER had any navigation issues with this bible. I have read some of the previous reviews and I became a bit concerned, especially about the Psalms. So I went to my own nook version of the NAB Bible and specifically went to Psalms and I did not have a single problem. Once in a great while I have to wait for the page to load when I first turn on my nook, but after all this is a HUGE work and I do not have a problem waiting for a few seconds. Once everything is loaded, it all works just fine and I can navigate around, highlight, make notes, etc. without any problems whatsoever. I really enjoy this bible and I highly recommend it. I especially love the notes and explanations after each chapter-very handy for newer bible readers like myself. Peace.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Frustrating

    As one who prays the Psalms each day, I am having lots of trouble with the Psalms links, especially with Psalms 130-150. The pages won't load, and after a several minute wait, it just times out. Too bad, since this is a great translation. Very disappointed and frustrated.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    Excellent Edition

    Works great on the NOOK. Easy to navigate to particular book and chapter and I use it everyday. Great price given such a new edition.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    I am responding to those individuals who have had a negative exp

    I am responding to those individuals who have had a negative experience with the Psalms.  I have the Nook Simple Touch BNRV300 software version upgrade 1.2.1.  I have gone through all 150 Psalms without problems.  Perhaps the problems are with the Model Number or the software version.  This is a beautifully edited edition of the NABRE and I recommend it to anyone wanting the complete Old and New Testaments.  All references are hyperlinked which makes it even more valuable as a reference and reading source. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Portable Bible

    I love having this Bible in my Nook. All I need each morning is the slip of paper with the list of readings for Mass and I am all set. I can make the text as large as I need, and I am very happy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Five Star Translation

    Thank you to the publishers! This is a beautiful translation of the complete Bible. I, for one, and delighted with it. LMG

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    highly pleased

    I am happy with the purchase. The nookbook is large but so far seems very stable (no freezing up or crashing). The links work well. It is easy to go to footnotes and from there to the referenced versus.

    the revised NAB is a good/dependable modern translation. The commentary/study notes conform with current Catholic teaching the best I am aware, but by no means attempts to be an exhaustive study.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    An updated catholic bible for my nook!

    Great to be able to search. Almost like having a concordance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Bible

    This bible works great im 12 and used it for homework this bible made it quick and easy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    01/2014 version fixes problems

    I was hesitant to buy due to reported problems with Psalms and nook color back button. Both of these are solved in the Jan 2014 version. I am enjoying using this version. Well worth the $5.95

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Bible man

    Jesus said that none come to the father but through him. We must come to know jesus. Love him and lean on him for knowledge and understanding. Ask question please

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    May the lord be with you

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3