Customer Reviews for

Catholicism: A Journey to the Heart of the Faith

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    A revitalizing perspective of faith with clarity and reason

    I received this book through a series of synchronicities while I was having a serious crisis of faith. That made me see that perhaps it was being sent to me, when I was ready and willing to see it. A few weeks later, I ended up meeting Father Barron through another coincidence. After speaking to him and reading this book, I have finally come to appreciate the "genius" of my faith, which is a choice of lifestyle, a way of living in gratitude to the inscrutable and unknowable IT that made all of this. I believe that all things happen for a reason, and this book and meeting Father Bob made me realize how true that statement is. Despite the failings and weaknesses of the biggest Christian "organization" in the world, this book and the series that goes along with it, will bring about a renaissance of faith for many Christians, not only Catholics, and I think it is much needed now. He has started a revolution of epic proportion with his intellect and eloquence, and it is a book I will treasure, re-read and share. Not to be missed by anyone questioning their faith or wanting to gain deeper understanding and knowledge. The mystery of life and faith will remain so for those of us still here, but this text with is thought provoking and faith restoring. If it worked for me, it is powerful enough to make a difference to others.

    36 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Learn the Truth

    If anyone wants to understand the Catholic Church, this is the book to read. Father Barron, explains in beautiful, understandable terms the Church, it's origin, it's fundamental truths and why Catholics consider the Church their call from Christ. This is in contrast to the modern western view of the Catholic Church as nothing more than the original man made Christian organization that may or may not be attractive based on one's own personal preconceptions and ideology.
    This is a book for devout followers of Christ as well as those who question their faith. It inspires, not through mere sentimental imagery and moral content, but through reason and rationale.
    I read Father Luigi Guissani. I find Father Barron's message a parallel to his message. It helps to explain how the Church functions as the way for man to become fully human and find his meaning for life.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Share this book!

    Fr. Barron does a great job in exploring the roots of the Catholic faith and writes in a way that can be understood by almost any reader. In a time when we need good catechesis and a constant reminder of the greatness of the Church, our brother in Christ shows us the glory of the Catholic Church through a variety of perspectives. Though there are many good texts on Catholicism, this one is a contemporary jewel. Share this with your friends, buy it as a gift for those who have fallen away, and for those of you who are curious as to what the Catholic Church is - this book is for you. A must have in any library.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Highly recommend to anyone wanting to know more about the faith

    I cannot recommend this enough to anyone who wants to learn about Christianity or God. A wide range of topics are explored with surprising depth, and I felt like most of the questions I had were explained clearly and concisely. Barron's writing is both philosophical but completely relatable, exactly what I wanted. I believe I know vastly more about the theology of my faith after reading this.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Simply unbelievable!

    This book explains, in the clearest terms, why I am Catholic and what that really means.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    A must read to understand the church

    Very thought provoking and honest. Definately gives you the foundation for the church, its character, and humanity.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Highly Reccommended-for everyone!

    Excellent book! Very educational, informative, and accurate about Christ's one true Church on earth - the Roman Catholic Church. The ONLY Church on earth founded by Jesus Christ Himself. I reccomend this book for EVERYONE and ANYONE.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Explains the faith clearly

    Finally! A book on the Catholic faith that explains it in a way that lay people can understand.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    Very Enlightening

    I was raised Catholic, but this book, along with the wonderful dvd series that goes with it, helps me see things from another perspective. It's nice to look at teachings from different angles than we usually look at them, like what the Beatitudes really mean, and how important Peter and Paul were. I am really enjoying this book and recommend it to anyone that wants to know more about the Catholic religion or Christianity in general.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    By far the best book on catholicism

    Great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Great book - thoroughly enjoyable

    Great book, concise and very readable. Not too scholorly for general reading, Useful information and fluid style. Very readable. Like the photos too

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Beautiful

    This book sums life into a simple four letter word: love. The meaning of which we can only discover in God.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    Based off his new series, Fr Robert Barron's new book Catholicis

    Based off his new series, Fr Robert Barron's new book Catholicism is very comprehensive and informative.

    Chapters include:
    The Revelation of God become Man
    The Teachings of Jesus
    The Ineffable Mystery of God
    Mary, the Mother of God
    Peter, Paul, and the Missionary Adventures
    The Mystical Union of Christ and the Church
    The Mystery of the Church's Sacrements and Worship
    The Communion of Saints
    Prayer and the Life of the Spirit
    Last Things


    He has such a way with words that really brings things to life.  I love this line "Catholicism is a matter of the body and senses as much as it is a matter of the mind and soul, precisely because the Word became flesh."
    I love when he talks about a painting in pointillism style and compares God to the artist.  When viewed up close (by us) it just looks like a bunch of dots and doesn't make sense.  But when you see it from Gods view, the entire painting (His plans) becomes clear.  Fr Barron has such a great way of describing things.
    It's a great book on Catholicism.  I recommend it for anyone that wants to learn more about the beautiful faith.

    Blogging for Books provided this book to me for free in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2