Customer Reviews for

Catholicism For Dummies

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

After years of study, we still find this book has a lot of food for thought as well as information for informed and uninformed alike.

My husband and I have gone through various programs and courses of formation and study including a Ministry Formation program and his studies to prepare him for his ordination as a Deacon. There was a lot of tedious reading. This book is not tedious and gives a good bru...
My husband and I have gone through various programs and courses of formation and study including a Ministry Formation program and his studies to prepare him for his ordination as a Deacon. There was a lot of tedious reading. This book is not tedious and gives a good brush up for Catholics, but we also use it to instruct RCIA Candidates and Catechumens who may not have read much about what the Catholic Church teaches. It certainly is not the Catholic Faith in its entirety and in detail, but there is enough information there to give those new to the faith a very solid base, and to give accurate and adequate information on the Catholic faith to those inquiring about what the Church really teaches or to those who are seeking to become Catholic. We find it a good springboard for deeper study and great for discussion in our classes. We have bought and given many copies, and will probably continue to do so.

posted by Deacon-n-spouse on February 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Some Parts are Great -- Others are Not

This book has the potential to be really helpful for catechists, non-Catholics, and even cradle Catholics seeking to broaden their fundamental understanding of Catholicism. One caveat: I am really disturbed by what appears to be the book's political bias, i.e. to pla...
This book has the potential to be really helpful for catechists, non-Catholics, and even cradle Catholics seeking to broaden their fundamental understanding of Catholicism. One caveat: I am really disturbed by what appears to be the book's political bias, i.e. to placate right-wing American Catholics. The authors state unequivocally and thoroughly the Church's position on subjects like abortion, euthanasia, and women in the Church. However, they considerably soften their rhetoric and their theological rigor when it comes to subjects like capital punishment and war. They even refer anecdotally to military tribunals and terrorists, seeming to suggest that summary executions may be morally permissible under certain circumstances.

posted by Anonymous on January 22, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    After years of study, we still find this book has a lot of food for thought as well as information for informed and uninformed alike.

    My husband and I have gone through various programs and courses of formation and study including a Ministry Formation program and his studies to prepare him for his ordination as a Deacon. There was a lot of tedious reading. This book is not tedious and gives a good brush up for Catholics, but we also use it to instruct RCIA Candidates and Catechumens who may not have read much about what the Catholic Church teaches. It certainly is not the Catholic Faith in its entirety and in detail, but there is enough information there to give those new to the faith a very solid base, and to give accurate and adequate information on the Catholic faith to those inquiring about what the Church really teaches or to those who are seeking to become Catholic. We find it a good springboard for deeper study and great for discussion in our classes. We have bought and given many copies, and will probably continue to do so.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2004

    Comments from a Protestant

    I noticed that the reviews of this book were written by Catholics (I'm assuming), so as a Protestant (raised in the Evangelical church) I thought I'd offer my comments on it. I've had a strong interest in Catholicism since my teens (I'm in college now), and this is one of the best and most complete books I've read on the Catholic faith. The authors explain everything in clear english and its style is not too sophisticated for common people, nor is it too simple for scholars. I enjoyed that the authors compare and contrast Catholic doctrines and Protestant doctrines. The authors also treat Orthodox and Protestant groups with respect and seem to want to promote unity among the devided Christian churches. I like the Dummies books verses the Complete Idiot books because there are less side bars to distract the reader and words are defined in the text rather than in a side bar or glossery. However, one feature of the Complete idiot books that I liked was that they sum up the main points of the chapter at the end of the chaper. I would also of liked this book to provide a recommended reading list or an index of places to get more information in Catholicism. But all of those faults can be easily forgiven. This is a excellent resource for those who want to know anything and everything about Catholicism. The book is arranged so that you can start at any section and not be confused (although, if you read it straight through, you will probably grow weary of constant repetitions and references to other chapters)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    A fun read! A great lesson.

    Concise representation of Catholic teaching in common language. Some great examples. Much easier to read than the Catechism, but consistent with that, and includes references to it. We use it for RCIA classes, and though I'm one of the Catechists, I find this book clarifies what is sometimes vague in my own understanding. Highly recommended for any Catholic, and anyone else who wants to understand Catholic teaching. If more people read this, there would be very few who find offense at what the Church teaches.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Great for converts

    All you want to know and in short simple sections

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Great book & easy to understand!

    My mother refered this to me when I said I was interested in the catholic church. All I can say is mother does know best. A easy to read and understand book that helped me start my journey with a good overview.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Excellent resource

    Easy to read and great explanations and descriptions of the Catholic christian faith. Highly recommended, and not just to 'dummies'. : )

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    A terrific Catholic primer!

    Whatever you want to know about Catholicism is found in this book. Easy to read, with concrete examples. The difference between dogma and discipline, the priest sex scandal, the history of the Church, and clear explanations of the Sacraments makes this a winner. Whether you want to know more about your Catholic faith, or are a non-Catholic looking for answers, this is the book for you. We used this in my parish's RCIA classes with great success.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    A resource for everyone

    This is a great resource for everyone who has a question about the Catholic faith. This book provides great insight into the Catholic faith.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great survey of the Catholic faith

    It may be called "Catholicism for Dummies", but there is nothing dumb about this book. It gives a very clear and concise survey of the Catholic faith. As one who has a Master's Degree in Divinity and who is called on regularly to instruct people in the truths of the Catholic faith, I invariably use "Catholicism for Dummies." It is readable and very "user friendly." It presents Church doctrine in clear and concise terms. I give it my highest recommendation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    HELPFUL

    My grand daughter just started at a Catholic School. This book has been very helpful to her especially since she had not had the experience of growing up as a Catholic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    Easy to read refresher course!

    We use this book for our adult classes for those who wish to become Catholic. It is very accurate and true to Church teachings. It is not at all dry, there are excellent anecdotes and "charms" throughout the book. Faithful practicing Catholics find it to be an excellent refresher. Packed with interesting information, history, tradition and why we do what we do as Catholics.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    Informative and Easy to Read

    Catholicism for Dummies is a great book for those interested in learning more about the Catholic faith. It is easy to read and very informative. I often did not want to put the book down; quite an odd reaction for a book of this nature! The book answered all of the major questions I had about Catholocism. I even started attending RCIA classes soon after finishing Catholicism for Dummies. It has provided me with a great background on which to build my knowledge of and faith in the Catholic Church.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2009

    Amazing how few people know their own faith....

    This book has been very helpful to me and quite a few of my friends. This book is accurate and easy to read. If you grew up anytime after the 60's your faith formation was questionable at best with all of the "feel good" faith influence. This book taught me so many things that 4 years of Catholic grade school, 4 years of CCD and 4 years of Catholic college classes never taught me about my faith. After reading this I discovered how so many people are uninformed about their faith.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    Great book

    Very well written and easy to understand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2004

    Great addition to your Catholic resource library

    I am always on the lookout for resources that will assist me in learning about my own Catholic faith and in sharing that faith with my children, family and friends. I find this book an excellent resource for both my own research and for teaching the faith in a straightforward manner. Written in a concise, organized fashion, the book offers practical information on all of the most basic elements of Catholicism, including - but not limited to - the Four Marks of the Church (One, Holy, Catholic, Apostolic), the structure of the Church, basic beliefs, worship types, the Sacraments, the Mass, and much more. Timely issues of concern (and sometimes controversy) to all Catholics are discussed. I found especially enjoyable the 'Part of Tens' which relates the stories of remarkable Catholic role models and landmarks. The two appendices, one detailing the popes and a second outlining a brief history of the Church, are helpful additions. Buy this book for your own Catholic library, or as a gift for a friend interested in exploring our Catholic faith.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2004

    Fair, well-balanced and very orthodox

    I found CFD to be faithful to the Catechism of the Catholic Church, which is neither conservative nor liberal, neither republican nor democrat, and neither American nor European. The bias and heterodoxy found in other versions ('The Complete Idiots Guide to Catholicism' and 'The Everything Catholicism Book') is absent in 'Catholicism For Dummies.' I am Canadian and I found the book to be wonderful even though I may not share a 'right-wing American' political ideology. Besides the down-to-earth approach in explaining the doctrines, liturgy, morality et al. of the Catholic faith, the authors also have a great mini-history of the Church in the appendix which I found fascinating. The 10 famous Catholics, 10 favorite saints and 10 places Catholics visit were equally enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Amazing book

    I wish I had this book before I converted to the Catholic faith, it would have saved me time looking for answers to questions I had about Catholicism. This book would be a great book for all RCIA classes. After becoming Catholic, there were many parts of the faith I still did not understand such as the difference between a sermon and a homily or why a novena is nine days. What does the communion of saints mean? My favorite part of the book, was the section on the 'Part of Tens.' This section talked about ten popular saints, ten famous Catholics, and ten popular Catholic places. Easy to read small sections, makes this book easy to put down and read more at a later time. Everyone needs to read the brief history of Catholicism. The history is brief but gives enough detail to understand. If any Christian read and understood Catholicism's history, they would have to become Catholic or deny Christ's true Church on earth today.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    Well worth the inverstment

    This work makes an excellent and handy reference. So often today works of this nature are extremely unorthodox. Not this one. The author does a fine job of following the teachings of the Catholic Church in a very user-friendly format. Far better than that other work out there with a similiar name... This book would be extremely useful for anyone in a CCD or RCIA program within the Catholic Church.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2003

    Concise, Correct and certainly Catholic

    'Catholicism for Dummies' is a must read for all non-Catholics curious about the 2,000 year old religion, steeped in ritual, tradition and institution. It is also a great informal textbook for High School religion, CCD, RCIA or adult education classes in the typical American parish. Though written for non-Catholics, I found this book to be superb review and an excellent resource to introduce cradle Catholics as well as converts to the universal Catechism. Unlike some other contemporary books on Catholicism, this one is orthodox (faithful to the Magistgerium), and yet not intimidating. It teaches without diluting the content of Catholic doctrine; it explains the sacraments, spirituality, canon law and other structural, moral as well as dogmatic areas of Catholicism yet never insults the intelligence of the reader. I highly recommend it to grandparents and godparents to give as gifts and for parents to refresh themselves and help them as primary teachers of their children to reinforce the faith at home as well as at school and CCD. I recommend it to college students before they get indoctrinated and brainwashed in so-called and alleged 'Catholic' colleged and universities.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    SO much better than Catholicism for Idiots, which should be avoi

    SO much better than Catholicism for Idiots, which should be avoided COMPLETELY!  Catholicism for Dummies, on the other hand, is not only a true rendition of the teaching of the Church, but it is done in a fun, interesting, and highly readable style.  Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2