Customer Reviews for

Cat's Claw (China Bayles Series #20)

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    A Nice New Direction Ah, the author took a different approach i

    A Nice New Direction

    Ah, the author took a different approach in this series by focusing more on Sheila with China taking the secondary role in this wonderful series. I like how the author kept the story moving between Sheila and China’s lives, letting us see Sheila in her new role as she investigates this murder mystery. With a solid plot, with a look into the everyday occurrences, and with the gang all back, this was a nice new direction taken in this enjoyable and pleasant series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Another great book in the China series

    I have read the entire series and enjoy learning about herbs as well as reading a mystery. This book is another great read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    A Great Read

    In this fast moving, character driven plot, Smart Cookie, aka as Sheriff Sheila Dawson, gets her own novel. China finds the body, but the story is Smart Cookie's, and what a great story it is! There's murder, of course, blackmail fear, and betrayal. There's also detecting, logic, understanding and humor to lighten the story. "Thumbs up!"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    ANother winner

    Highly recommend i like that now we are getting to know the other characters in pecan springs as usual I felt like knew all the people in pecan springs could hardly put it down until it was finished

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    I always wonder when an author begins a new series if it will be

    I always wonder when an author begins a new series if it will be as interesting as the previous one. Well have no doubt about CAT'S CLAW. Susan Albert has written given her readers their money's worth with this one. She cleverly weaves China and to a lesser extent Ruby into the story line which adds a comfort level to the series. But this is Sheila (Tough Cookie's) story, a by the book police procedural, taking us step by step into her professional world. I too figured out who the murderer was, but that was only one part of the whole story. The writing was crisp and the story line was woven together seamlessly. I'm looking forward to reading more books with Sheila and her Pecan Springs Police Department. Maybe a book on Blackie is in the offing too - who knows. Ms Albert is one SHARP COOKIE!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    I'm a long-time fan of the China Bayles series by Albert and whi

    I'm a long-time fan of the China Bayles series by Albert and while she is still featured in this new series, the focus is on Sheila Dawson as she navigates her role as the new police chief amidst a murder investigation. She is a strong character, so it works to have the series shift to her while maintaining China's presence.




    Even though I guessed who the killer was before it was revealed, the story kept me interested as the details of motive and possible accomplices were worked out in the end. It was easy to read in a weekend while still having the kind of substantial storyline I've come to expect from the author. As always, the herbal facts sprinkled into the storyline were interesting.



    I think a spin-off series highlighting other characters from the China Bayles mysteries will work and I look forward to reading the next one.

    I received a copy of this book for review from the publisher but the opinion of it is my own and was not solicited, nor was a positive review required.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Great read

    Very enjoyable writer and storyline!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Slave Qaurters

    Rest of reses. Read discription eight res or 10 res.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Ebony

    She looks at him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Dagger

    He emerges from the shadows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Star pool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    LightBlood

    This is my name on here. I rp at Starclan (Blueripple, 'star dust' res 1), LightClan (Duskclaw, siblings, Mossflame, 'plato love' res 1), finish later...gtg watch something :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Lepordkit

    Please place an ad for horse clan at horse thoughts chb at sailing alone and Mt . Olympus at olympia

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Alexis

    She nods. ((Gtgts))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Warrior TopNews! Adoption center

    Adoption news for today: Nightkit;a black kit with white flecks. Blue eyes. Soulkit; white kit with gray tabby lines. Yellow eyes. Crismonkit;reddish-brown kit with black tabby markings.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Hollystorm

    "I'll see if I can. I have to advertise for my clan, PoolClan, and "Yellowfang's Secret" is the only book I can post on. Whats our clans name?"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Flamestar

    Firecats clan. You dont have to.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Zeviah

    Fixes her den~zeviah

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Darkclaw

    I will b back soon ur in charge for a while until i return

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Thunderstrike

    I try.....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2