Customer Reviews for

Cat's Cradle

Average Rating 4.5
( 490 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(315)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

A Good Place To Start

I'd never had the priveledge of reading any of Vonnegut's work and this book blew me away! It was unlike anything I'd read previously and I absolutely loved the writing style and story! Vonnegut's wit and talent are on full display in this novel and I found myself unabl...
I'd never had the priveledge of reading any of Vonnegut's work and this book blew me away! It was unlike anything I'd read previously and I absolutely loved the writing style and story! Vonnegut's wit and talent are on full display in this novel and I found myself unable to put the book down! Simply a fantastic book that I cannot recommend enough.

posted by 437723 on January 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Minus stars

I dont get all the rave reviews. This book was dry as dust, made no sense and to be honest was boring as hell. That being said...i wish bn would put a STOP to these kids rolepkaying on the book review site. 98% of the reviews were kids either chatting, having nook sex, ...
I dont get all the rave reviews. This book was dry as dust, made no sense and to be honest was boring as hell. That being said...i wish bn would put a STOP to these kids rolepkaying on the book review site. 98% of the reviews were kids either chatting, having nook sex, or talking about some dumb cats. Please bn, cant you fine and ban these kids from this idiotic roleplaying junk? It does not belong on a book review site.

posted by 8888649 on January 3, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 493 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Place To Start

    I'd never had the priveledge of reading any of Vonnegut's work and this book blew me away! It was unlike anything I'd read previously and I absolutely loved the writing style and story! Vonnegut's wit and talent are on full display in this novel and I found myself unable to put the book down! Simply a fantastic book that I cannot recommend enough.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Vonnegut at his best

    This is one of the best books I've read in a long time. Even more so than Slaughterhouse Five, Cat's Cradle exhibits Vonnegut's biting writing style and wonderfully odd ways of telling a story. The entire novel can be taken as a cynical review of humanity and its absurdity. Cat's Cradle has to be the best treatment of the end of the world I've yet read, ranking up there with Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy in humor but with a great deal more cynicism.

    If you enjoyed the movie Doctor Strangelove you will enjoy this novel. I highly recommend it for all readers.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    Cat's Cradle: IRP Review

    Cat's cradle is a biting and witty satire based on Vonnegut's own experiences working in public relations for GE. The story centers around a young narrator, John (or Jonah) who is doing research for a book he plans to write focusing on what Americans were doing the day the atomic bomb was dropped on hiroshima. His journey for research takes an interesting turn when he learnes that one of the primary developers of the atomic bomb, Dr. Felix Hoenikker, invented a deadly substance called ice-9. His interest in the substance leads him to the destitute island of San Lorenzo, where romance and danger await him.

    I found this book to be a fun and easy read. I loved the incorporation of Bokonism throughout the novel as foreshadowing, and I thought it added an extra level of satire as a commentary on religion. I reccomend this book to those interested in adventure, humor, science fiction, and well, just good literature!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cat¿s Cradle is another example of Vonnegut¿s mastery of using

    Cat’s Cradle is another example of Vonnegut’s mastery of using satire and dark humor to get the reader to take a closer look at themselves and the world around them. The characters and the protagonist in many of Vonnegut’s books are not your typical run of the mill characters, yet you can always relate to them and Cat’s Cradle is no exception.


    The heart of the story takes place on the island of San Lorenzo. The main character John, a writer, finds himself on the island along with the rest of the characters – a dictator, an ambassador, the three (adult) children of a scientist that invented a doomsday device, an old religious leader/outlaw and a few other characters. But the real star of the book, for me anyways, was the religion that Vonnegut invented call Bokononism. The first page of the Bokononist book warns reader to not read the book because it is full of lies. The motto of the Bokononist’s religion is “Live by the foma (harmless untruths) that make you brave and kind and healthy and happy.”

    Cat’s Cradle takes a look at science, religion, technology and human nature in classic Vonnegut form. In my opinion, reading Vonnegut can lead one to a higher level of enlightenment quicker than any so called spiritual or religious book ever could. I have read several books by Vonnegut and even though I didn’t love them all, all of them has given me something to think about.

    I highly recommend Cat’s Cradle to everyone. The truth be told I recommend reading all of Vonnegut’s books to everyone.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    love, love, love

    One of my favorite books, not just by this author, but ever!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    As Good as I remembered

    I expected this to be a bittersweet journey. I am, after all, a much different reader at 60 than I was as an innocent, small town Oklahoma Junior High School Student. But, it wasn't. It was as much thought provoking fun as it was the first time. Vonnegut endures. I am so glad I visited the characters and the Island again.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "No Damn Cat, No Damn Cradle"

    Cat's Cradle is by far the best Vonnegut book written. The novel is based on the premise that everything is unimportant, which grounds the reader in an ironic, paradoxical tumult that makes way too much sense. While reading the first half of the book I kept asking myself 'What is this novel even about?', then I realized I need not worry because it was simply about nothing. However simple the message may be it is certainly not easy to understand because of the paradox underlying the premise of the novel. Cat's Cradle is deeply thought provoking and mesmerizing; it will leave the reader thinking about life long after the novel is finished. Truly, I have never before read a book which I can relate to more than Cat's Cradle. An interesting philosophy is presented in a fake religion called "bokononism." Completely and admittedly a foma, Bokononism is grounded on the belief that all religion, all religious texts, and all religious beliefs are lies which will make us happy in the end. Brilliant satire strikes the realms of truth we hold so dear to us; religion, politics, and human nature to name a few.

    Aside from laugh out loud hilarity, Cat's Cradle is interesting, fun, and exciting. Adding to Vonnegut's hysterical voice is an intricate, and equally funny plot line. Almost as a cherry on top Vonnegut adds a deep and meaningful message one might even call life changing.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Minus stars

    I dont get all the rave reviews. This book was dry as dust, made no sense and to be honest was boring as hell. That being said...i wish bn would put a STOP to these kids rolepkaying on the book review site. 98% of the reviews were kids either chatting, having nook sex, or talking about some dumb cats. Please bn, cant you fine and ban these kids from this idiotic roleplaying junk? It does not belong on a book review site.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    Cat's Cradle is one of my favorite books. Wild, inventive, and a

    Cat's Cradle is one of my favorite books. Wild, inventive, and as fun as it is heavy. Read this.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Caramelstar

    Np

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Thought-provoking and fun read. Huge fan of Vonnegut. This autho

    Thought-provoking and fun read. Huge fan of Vonnegut. This author endures. Cat's Cradle is the tale of a writer, a scientist, a religious leader, a midget, and a clarinet player that takes the reader on a madcap adventure leading up to the end of the world. In this work, Vonnegut comments on religion, relationships, philosophy, and the woes of scientific discovery. One of the best books ever written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    If Only All Literature was Like This

    This is my third Vonnegut book I have read. I absolutely adored Breakfast of Champions and Slaughterhouse Five. With each book I have read, my love for Vonnegut's insane stories, mind-blowing wisdom, and hysterical black comedy have grown and grown. This book is no exception. I stayed up late into the night finishing this book, and when I finally closed it, I punched my fist into the air and exclaimed "Oh my gosh!" This was not because I was excited to have finally finished the book. Rather, I was simply overwhelmed by the sheer awesomeness of it. Vonnegut's storyline never failed to grab my attention and keep me wondering. As always, it was full of controversial and revolutionary ideas that contradict the thinking of modern society. Furthermore, ideas always lead to that feeling of wonder that make you question everything when you read Vonnegut. After I had finished the book that night, I couldn't go to sleep for hours simply pondering over the many mysteries of life. I would highly recommend this book to anyone considering reading it and I will be looking forward to my next Vonnegut book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    Cat's Cradle - An Aquired Taste

    The message in Kurt Vonnegut's novel, Cat's Cradle, is the result of a fusion between insanity and morality. Concisely, Cat's Cradle is the tale of a writer, a scientist, a religious leader, a midget, and a clarinet player that takes the reader on a madcap adventure leading up to the end of the world. In this work, Vonnegut comments on religion, relationships, philosophy, and the woes of scientific discovery. Although the book had redeeming moments, I did not particularly enjoy reading it. From start to finish, the book leaves the reader with a certain amount of uncertainty about what lies in the future, and a certain level of confusion about what was communicated in the past. Even the last paragraph of the novel leaves the reader grasping for answers. This is not to say the book was always vague and un-gratifying. The book succeeds at keeping the reader thinking, even asking themselves questions about philosophy. In addition, some of the anecdotes in Cat's Cradle 'fictional though they may be' were entertaining. Having read, and enjoyed, Slaughterhouse V, I have concluded that half of the battle to appreciating Vonnegut's work is to go into the novel expecting a great work. The other half is wrenching yourself away from what Vonnegut writes, and diverting your focus to what Vonnegut means.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Hilarious and sobering

    One of his best books and a fine place to start for the uninitiated.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    This is quite possibly my favorite of the Vonnegut novels.  I ra

    This is quite possibly my favorite of the Vonnegut novels.  I rank it as one of the best American novels ever written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Danny

    Hey we need to go somewere else go to abc 4 th res kk?

    1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    Vonnegut's best work I think. I read most of it in a single aft

    Vonnegut's best work I think. I read most of it in a single afternoon because I simply could not put it down. This book is like sushi, delicious bit sized pieces of story. The story looks a people from the weirdest and most vulnerable parts of their lives and deals the threat of a bizarre apocalypse. You can find it in free box somewhere or you can buy it here. Worth getting however you get it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    "No damn cat, and no damn cradle"

    The metaphor of a cat's cradle and the aforementioned conclusion sums up Vonnegut's philisopy better than 1,000 words can.

    This book is brilliant!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Best book ever

    Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    :D

    love love love anything Kurt Vonnegut!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 493 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25