Customer Reviews for

Cat's Cradle

Average Rating 4.5
( 488 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(314)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

A Good Place To Start

I'd never had the priveledge of reading any of Vonnegut's work and this book blew me away! It was unlike anything I'd read previously and I absolutely loved the writing style and story! Vonnegut's wit and talent are on full display in this novel and I found myself unabl...
I'd never had the priveledge of reading any of Vonnegut's work and this book blew me away! It was unlike anything I'd read previously and I absolutely loved the writing style and story! Vonnegut's wit and talent are on full display in this novel and I found myself unable to put the book down! Simply a fantastic book that I cannot recommend enough.

posted by 437723 on January 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Minus stars

I dont get all the rave reviews. This book was dry as dust, made no sense and to be honest was boring as hell. That being said...i wish bn would put a STOP to these kids rolepkaying on the book review site. 98% of the reviews were kids either chatting, having nook sex, ...
I dont get all the rave reviews. This book was dry as dust, made no sense and to be honest was boring as hell. That being said...i wish bn would put a STOP to these kids rolepkaying on the book review site. 98% of the reviews were kids either chatting, having nook sex, or talking about some dumb cats. Please bn, cant you fine and ban these kids from this idiotic roleplaying junk? It does not belong on a book review site.

posted by 8888649 on January 3, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    Cat's Cradle - An Aquired Taste

    The message in Kurt Vonnegut's novel, Cat's Cradle, is the result of a fusion between insanity and morality. Concisely, Cat's Cradle is the tale of a writer, a scientist, a religious leader, a midget, and a clarinet player that takes the reader on a madcap adventure leading up to the end of the world. In this work, Vonnegut comments on religion, relationships, philosophy, and the woes of scientific discovery. Although the book had redeeming moments, I did not particularly enjoy reading it. From start to finish, the book leaves the reader with a certain amount of uncertainty about what lies in the future, and a certain level of confusion about what was communicated in the past. Even the last paragraph of the novel leaves the reader grasping for answers. This is not to say the book was always vague and un-gratifying. The book succeeds at keeping the reader thinking, even asking themselves questions about philosophy. In addition, some of the anecdotes in Cat's Cradle 'fictional though they may be' were entertaining. Having read, and enjoyed, Slaughterhouse V, I have concluded that half of the battle to appreciating Vonnegut's work is to go into the novel expecting a great work. The other half is wrenching yourself away from what Vonnegut writes, and diverting your focus to what Vonnegut means.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    Not Bad At All

    This was my first book by the author so perhapes I am not use to his style. It was funny at times and had a interesting story, but for the most part not what I expected to read. The further I read in the book the stranger it became all leading up to a questionable ending. Ironically, it is almsot humorous that this strangness is what kept me from putting the book down. Overall I would recommend it to anybody interested in reading a book that pokes some fun at society but not to anybody looking for a great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Decent enough

    It held my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Liam

    That sucka...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    WHO IS THE LEADER OF THIS CLAN

    From nick ( i am not trying to kill )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Interesting storyline

    Fairly good book, mostly for its novel story. Campy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Fuzzypaw

    Name:Fuzzypaw*-*-*Mentor and position: Warrior apprentence of Redfur.*-*-*Desc: A light grey she cat with white stripes,paws, and tail tip. Her eyes are aqua blue.*-*-* Personality: veey entergetic and fun loving. She cares very much for her clan for she has no parents.*-*-*She has a hidden power. She can feel othees pain an heal it with just her paws. She can cause wounds but is unable to kill unless it is prey. She doesnt know out this power... yet.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Rock

    Huh where am i

    0 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2001

    I dont get it

    Maybe I missed the 'funny' but I didnt laugh once. What about this book, other than a midget being in it, is funny? I will give it this it only took me 3 hours to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3