Customer Reviews for

Cat's Eyewitness (Mrs. Murphy Series #13)

Average Rating 3.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fantastic feline mystery

    In a small hamlet in Virginia, animals talk to each other across species lines and the only ones unable to understand is the dumbest species: humans. Mary Minor ¿Harry ¿ Haristeen loves her two cats Mrs. Murphy and Pewter and her corgi Tee Tucker; they reciprocate her feelings, going so far as to help her when she becomes too deeply involved in a murder investigation and puts her life in danger.--- The Greyfiars Monastery¿s has a Virgin Mary statue on their property that starts weeping bloody tears. Many people including some of the monks think it is a miracle. Monk Thomas is found frozen to death in a kneeling position besides the statue. Harry¿s intuition screams murder and her four legged protectors know a cardinal witnessed the homicide. The journalist covering this phenomenon is killed when someone sticks a pen in his eye. Harry thinks the killings and the tears are linked; she investigates but it is only because of her animal friends that she doesn¿t become the third murder victim.--- It is always a pleasure to read a book starring Harry and Mrs. Murphy but the CAT¿S EYEWITNESS is particularly good as several changes in Harry¿s life has occurred. The heroine¿s ex-husband gives Harry a marriage proposal ultimatum or he will look elsewhere for love. Harry no longer works in the post office because she cannot bring her animals into the new facility. Susan, Harry¿s best friend, reveals a secret she kept for over two decades, and the sexpot Boom Boom finds a surprising new lover. Readers will find it impossible to figure out who the perpetrator is among the even tempered monks. Rita Mae Brown delights her fans with this fantastic feline mystery.--- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    Kept you wanting to find out what was going to happen next.

    Of course, Mrs. Murphy was superb and very right on with her thinking. All the animals were looking out for the "human". The story line was interesting and led you to the right answers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    To all of pure evils clan

    This result isnt our territory. ~scar

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    A grey twoleg road

    A huge grey twoleg road leads to the last result...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Dapplesong

    Dapplewong hunted. She caught two fat rabbits and two thrushes. She buried
    it to get more

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2008

    things change even for Harry

    Another great book in the series. Ms. Brown has done an excellent job of giving the reader insight into new aspects of her family of characters - yet maintaining a good mystry and fun read. Keeps the series fresh & interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    I'm glad I read the other reviews, which echoed exactly what I thought. The lesbian theme, and the preachy philosophy did not make for fun reading. I loved the earlier books, but over time noticed a big increase in profanity (there was little in her earlier books)and the philosophy and preachy stuff (including racial remarks), made it no longer a 'fun' read. I don't think I will buy any more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    Too preachy. Too much personal philosophy and not enough crime-solving. Plus, a principal supporting character's sudden conversion to lesbianism comes out of nowhere. I've loved Brown's books up until now, but this one was a major disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    Terrible

    I was disappointed by the lack of deep plot as I was used to from the past books. Gay characters and preachy statements about race is a way to annoy your fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    Insulted & Disappointed

    'Neither of us was born rich but we weren't poor, we received excellent educations, we're white--which is still an advantage in this world' Page 209 - Cat's Eyewitness, Rita Mae Brown & Sneaky Pie Brown. As a black woman I find this statement extremely disheartening, and insulting. It's sad to even imagine that in 2005 there are still people who believe that the color of your skin gives you special rights. I will no longer buy, read or recommend the series or author. I also didn't see the point of lesbianism in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2005

    Needs more Tucker, Mrs. Murphy and Pewter

    While I have loved the series in the past, I fear Cat's Eyewitness continues a downward trend. The plot itself is a good one, but suffers dearly from an overload of preachiness and lesbianism. Trim the fat; keep the main plotline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    A disappointing series 'end'?

    An avid fan of the Mrs. Murphy Mysteries, I was very disappointed in this book. This seemed to be a hastily and poorly written series finale. The mystery plot was uninspired and the writing was lackluster. The previously well written and thought provolking dialogue between the animals was missing, replaced instead with a heavy handed philosophical drone. The human dialogue and descriptive narrative were stilted and tedious. The revelation of Boom Boom's lesbianism seemed awkward and forced. Should this book NOT be the series finale, I'm not certain I would read a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2005

    So disappointed

    I thought this was preachy and badly plotted. I enjoyed all the other Sneaky Pie books but found this one tedious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2005

    Not enough of Mrs. Murphy, Tucker and Pewter in this book!

    I have read the entire series with Mrs. Murphy, Tucker and Pewter and have found the last 2 in the series to be lacking. There is too much writing about religion and lesbianism. I want to read about the interaction of the animals with each other and with humans and the solving of a mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2005

    Harry, Murph and the gang are back

    Loved book 13 as i have the previous 12 books in this charming series. But its bittersweet as it almost seems like the author(s) are tying up loose ends..for a possible series finale...Love the closeknit family interaction between the humans and also the animals..a good book to curl up with a cat or 2 with a cup of Starbucks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    An enjoyable read!

    This book has made the series all the better. Instead of such a heavy focus on the animal characters, Ms. Brown focuses on the heroine Harry. Harry has undergone some big life changes which like the rest of us, have gone through. Didn't take alot of time, the plot was well done and savor each page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2