Customer Reviews for

Caucasia

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    I am getting a master's in English literature, and having read a

    I am getting a master's in English literature, and having read a wide spectrum of books I can honestly and unequivocably say that this is one of the best books I've ever read. Why? When it comes right down to it---it touched a nerve that evoke tears, laughter, wonder, yearning, relief. Thank you Danzy Senna.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    Great!

    Really deep and intellectually stimulating book. Not as heavy and tough to read as I thought it would be-- it definitely captured my attention. It brings up interesting issues about race and identity and mindsets that existed years back, although I don't know how accurate they are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Sisters

    This was a strikingly, beautifully written novel.I loved the way birdie and cole still stayed in contact with each other, or at least tried to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    Great

    I've read this book for a course on race and ideology and I must say, it is one of the best books I've ever read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2007

    such a good book

    I will definetly recommend this book to every one i know..It was beautifally written and keeps you wanting more!..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2000

    An immediate must read!

    This is an interesting look into the world of a bi-racial girl and how she tries to fit into each world juxtaposed with what it's like to be a political radical. This was an outstaniding first novel hopefully there will be more to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    From the minute I started this book, I found a hundred things to

    From the minute I started this book, I found a hundred things to relate to while I watched Birdie Lee grow up. The issues with your hairstyle not "matching" your face, being forced to choose between one ethnicity and another, the eternal separation between siblings with different skin tones...the list goes on and on. I have been searching for years for Birdie's story without even realizing it, and I feel as though Danzy Senna has done a marvelous job of creating a setting where all the struggles of a young mixed girl can be witnessed at once. Brilliantly written and an excellent example of biracial-friendly literature!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2006

    Great Writing

    I have to admit the title of this book really turned me off. I thought it would be more intricate than I could handle. Boy was I wrong! I could not put this book down and enjoyed the author's writing style. The character's came to life and stayed with me even after I closed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2005

    Race in America

    I wanted to comment on a statement by another review, which was 'As a biracial female who happens to be very fair and who has been mistaken for being caucasian..', I think it odd, and somewhat strange that a girl who is half caucasian is not caucasian, but black...Haven't we progressed at all since the days of slavery. Yes, a person who is half caucasian and half black is caucasian as well as black.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2005

    Moving

    Birdie's family is a microcosm of our nation we separate to find our ourselves and nuture our pride, but we only become truly mature and sane when we acknowledge our shared history and connection to each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!

    A wonderful summer read!! This book kept my attention...and, I would recommend this book!!!! Also the book made me think!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2004

    A Truthfully Written Experience of Being Biracial

    As a biracial female who happens to be very fair and who has been mistaken for being caucasian, I can relate to the deeply disturbing and heart wrenching experiences in this book. Many biracial people are forced to choose between being Black or white in America. Depending on your skin color, hair texture, etc., you are either not white enough or not Black enough, as some are not even acknowledged by their family. This book was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2002

    Caucasia

    I thought this was a great book and I would recommend it to anyone. I also think having a narrerator of mixed races was a crucial and good part of the book because it brought different views on racial discrimination- from someone who could see it from both ends of the spectrum.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    A Amazing Book that gives a true message

    I am 13, and I love to read but this is one of the best books I have ever read! It was very obvious that the author was biracial( I apoligize if that was the wrong word to use) she made you feel like you could very easily realte even if it had no connection to our personal life WARNING! Mature Content and Language! Soory for the Spelling mistakes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2002

    great read!

    I thought it was an awesome book! A real page turner! :)~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2001

    Awesome

    This was one of the best books that I have read in a while. Danzy Senna writing is magical and beautiful as she describes Birdie Lee and her life as a biracial child and matures into young adulthood. This novel is a eye-opener for those who just do not know, but want to know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2001

    A Wonderful Story

    Outstanding and highly recommended. This story pulls you in from the beginning as the story unfolds when sisters Birdie and Cole are separated, all the way to the reuniting of the two sisters at the end. I felt empty and incomplete until I finished the book. This is a book you just can't put down and forget about it. I would love to see Caucasia the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2001

    Miss Senna portrays life beautifully

    This book was a wonderful blend of real life and life which most people haven't yet experienced. She takes us into a different world, and explains life with so many details that it is overwhelming. The story itself is great, a new way to put growing up with a borderline-insane mother, missing a peice of you're life for many years upon reuninting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2001

    The best book I have read in a long, long time

    I did not know if the author was multi-racial, but as I read the book, and being from a multi-racial family, I knew that she must be bi-racial in order to understand and describe in such detail and depth many of the things discussed. I would recommend the book to people of all races and ages as a valuable learning tool and a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2000

    birdie lee...to....jessie goldman!

    a woderfull book for all ages im 13 years old and my teacher gave me this book. i truly think that birdie lee is a great charactor for ex:every person she meets is either a slut a whore or is crazy. but she still stays strong!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2