Customer Reviews for

Caught

Average Rating 4
( 796 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(298)

4 Star

(241)

3 Star

(146)

2 Star

(61)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

CAUGHT

WOW!! What A Story!!

I don't want to tell you too much because I don't want to spoil any of the suspense the builds throughout this book but here are the basics:

This is the story of high school senior, Haley McWaid, the pride of her family, good grades, never get...
WOW!! What A Story!!

I don't want to tell you too much because I don't want to spoil any of the suspense the builds throughout this book but here are the basics:

This is the story of high school senior, Haley McWaid, the pride of her family, good grades, never gets in trouble, a little obsessive compulsive who doesn't come home one night and goes missing.

It is also the story of Dan Mercer, a social worker, who works with troubled teens, who may be a sexual predator, as he is "CAUGHT" by a television show, hosted by Wendy Tynes who is on a mission to expose internet predators. It also delves into the lives of Dan's old college roommates and how they may have complicated Dan's life. The whole thing leaves Wendy worrying about who she can trust.

This story takes more twists and turns than an old country road and you better be belted in. It is a story filled with tension, stress, pressure, that challenges the reader. It is a thrilling, gripping, spine tingling novel that deals with things that could only be seen on television setting up shop in this community.

Harlan Coben takes all these plots and ties them together in what I believe will be the best book I read this year.
You will be "CAUGHT" from the first page and you will not be RELEASED even after the last word.
If you have not Pre-ordered this book, you should do it NOW.
This is definitely not a book to me missed.

http://dollycas.blogspot.com/

posted by Dollycas on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

!

Thanks to harriet klausner and all the other plot spoiling posts, here is another book ruined. Why cant u ppl learn to write a review and not a book report, cliff notes and dissertations. Most ppl like to read a book and be surprised. When u tell every detail u ruin ior...
Thanks to harriet klausner and all the other plot spoiling posts, here is another book ruined. Why cant u ppl learn to write a review and not a book report, cliff notes and dissertations. Most ppl like to read a book and be surprised. When u tell every detail u ruin ior others. These ppl should be banned from posting their plot reveals.

posted by 8888649 on December 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 797 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 40
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    CAUGHT

    WOW!! What A Story!!

    I don't want to tell you too much because I don't want to spoil any of the suspense the builds throughout this book but here are the basics:

    This is the story of high school senior, Haley McWaid, the pride of her family, good grades, never gets in trouble, a little obsessive compulsive who doesn't come home one night and goes missing.

    It is also the story of Dan Mercer, a social worker, who works with troubled teens, who may be a sexual predator, as he is "CAUGHT" by a television show, hosted by Wendy Tynes who is on a mission to expose internet predators. It also delves into the lives of Dan's old college roommates and how they may have complicated Dan's life. The whole thing leaves Wendy worrying about who she can trust.

    This story takes more twists and turns than an old country road and you better be belted in. It is a story filled with tension, stress, pressure, that challenges the reader. It is a thrilling, gripping, spine tingling novel that deals with things that could only be seen on television setting up shop in this community.

    Harlan Coben takes all these plots and ties them together in what I believe will be the best book I read this year.
    You will be "CAUGHT" from the first page and you will not be RELEASED even after the last word.
    If you have not Pre-ordered this book, you should do it NOW.
    This is definitely not a book to me missed.

    http://dollycas.blogspot.com/

    25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    !

    Thanks to harriet klausner and all the other plot spoiling posts, here is another book ruined. Why cant u ppl learn to write a review and not a book report, cliff notes and dissertations. Most ppl like to read a book and be surprised. When u tell every detail u ruin ior others. These ppl should be banned from posting their plot reveals.

    15 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Save Your Money...

    I was OK with it up until about mid-way through. Then the number of inplausible events started to multiply into the silly. There are many twists and turns throughout the second half of the book, one more unbelievable (in not a good way...) than the next. In the end, I was very annoyed that I stuck it out through the entire book. Not worth the money...and certainly not worth the time!

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    Such a Let down

    I have read most of his books, and i was quite excited when i saw that he came out with a new one. I went right to the store and bought it. It is an easy read, but over-all a complete let down. The whole time i was reading it, it seemed like it wasnt even him that wrote it. It was like the publishers were like you need a new book, so write one. Well no good. It will never be a timeless classic due to its use of the way too modernized use of "facebook" and "twitter" when i read those in there it ruined it for me. Honestly the end was good, but as a whole i give this book a thumbs down. And to everyone that has only read this book by Coben, try not to let it ruin his other books because honestly he has some pretty amazing other books. Really try reading Gone for Good, or Tell No one. These two books are absolutely amazing.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Bitterly Disapointing

    I am a great fan of Harlan Coban. I have read all his books and usually clamour for more. I was eager to start reading his new book, Caught, and was certain that I would stay awake till all hours in order to finish it.
    Oh, but what a bitter disappointment I encountered. This book is boring, boring, and more boring. The plot is poorly created, the characters lack in luster. Coban has tried to create a modern day social problem, that of child molestation in the suburbs, and has infused it with corny dialogue and poor literary style. The only saving grace of this immaturely written novel, is that the reader gets a glimpse of Win, a character we have seen in Coban's more exciting former books. Unfortunately, this glimpse is only that, a glimpse.
    I have snoozed my way through this book, and instead of staying awake to read it, I have used it as a sleep aid. It is boring to the core. I kept reading, hoping that the book would turn out to be as good, if not better, than the other books I have read by this author. I was bitterly disappointed.
    If you are a Coban fan, do not read this book. You may never read another one written by Coban again. If you are a newbie to Coban, do not read this book, as you will be turned off to the man who has written so many entertaining and delightful books in the past. Bottom line, save your time and put it into better reading. I recommend that you skip this book completely.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This will hook readers from start to finish with terrific twists throughout

    National TV investigative reporter Wendy Tynes exposes sexual predators on her show Caught in the Act. When a seventeen years old lacrosse playing high school student Haley McWaid vanishes without a trace, her hometown is stunned. Three months later, they remain shocked as the good girl never came home and there is no word about her.

    Wendy investigates the case and finds evidence that links the missing teen to social worker Dan Mercer. She exposes him on national TV as a sexual predator of children, but soon begins to find discrepancies in the slam dunk evidence. When a father of another teen victim claims to have killed Dan in what is vigilante justice, Wendy wonders what she has wrought as she now reconsiders her instincts though too late as he is caught dead.

    This will hook readers from start to finish with terrific twists throughout as Harlan Coben provides a great thriller. The story line is fast-paced and never stops for a moment; yet is also filled with deep characterizations especially the accused and his accuser. Fans will relish this powerful tale of justice is not blind when the media gets involved.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Not his best, but still good

    There is no question Harlan Coben is a master at gripping the reader immediately after the first page. Coben takes us on a roller coaster ride of an adventure, where the story twists and turns and things definitely aren't what they seem. Unfortunately, three quarters of the way through this book, the story falls apart and although the ending is interesting, the reader is left unsatisfied. The idea of forgiveness and how willing you'd be to forgive is questioned and it is one that gives pause. In the end, I can't wait for his next book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Too many themes

    I anxiously await a new Coben novel. I pounced on Caught and read it over a weekend. It had some of the hallmarks I have come to expect from Mr. Coben, fast pace, a plot with twists and turns, good writing. In this work the writing style was great, the book had a fast pace, there were plenty of plot twists, but the story had too many underlying themes and the mechanics of getting to the ending was unrealistic. Revenge, forgiveness, loyalty, lack of honor, duty, on and on and on, each chapter seemed to promote a new theme. And the plot device which moved you through sordid details, long held secrets and intimate events was by using characters who exercised no restraint to withhold anything. "I won't tell you." "Please tell me" "Okay". An exaggeration but not too far off. I was reminded of a film noir detective film where the villain at the end, before he is going to shoot the good guy, tells him how he committed the crime. And the poetic license used when the criminal system was involved was way off base. A character is arrested, then released because his lawyer says they are wrong. Unbelievable. No bond setting, no preliminary hearing, just allowing some evil breathed barrister to tell them what they should do. What planet do the characters live on? So, while I read the book quickly, and tried to follow the plot amongst all the disparate themes, this was not a book I ended with a feeling that I had been on a great trip. More like an excursion to an amusement park with diverse rides, none of which provided the thrill which would keep me coming back. Mr. Coben can do better.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Harlan Coben's Caught is a magnificent thriller with more who-done-it's than you can shake a stick at.

    During an investigation for her expose TV show reporter Wendy Tynes has uncovered yet another child predator. This man Dan Mercer has ties in the local community where three months prior a teenaged girl went missing without a trace. As the hammer begins to fall and justice served things start happening that make her question the case and the perpetrator up to this point. There's something rotten in New Jersey the roots of which are far and wide, but to get to the truth Wendy must soul search to find the answers, is she willing to get there no matter the cost, especially when the cost is personal.
    Harlan Coben is a masterful storyteller as proven by this spine tingling can't stop page turning thriller. He brings us a tale of a parent's worst nightmare right from the front pages of newspapers all over the world, and then he ups the ante by taking his readers on a roller coaster adventure ride where the dips and turns are as dangerous as they are entertaining, where he has you constantly wondering "Who-Done-IT". He uses dialogue that informs us and entrances us, that scares us and gives us hope. His star character Wendy is a complicated and complex woman, one you'll spend time deciding whether she's friend or foe, but believe me it'll be time well spent. His supporting characters, all memorable are so intricately important to the story that you'll find yourself intimates with each one, some you'll cheer and some you'll curse but all you'll never forget.
    Be prepared to be wowed as you get enmeshed in a web that just keeps getting bigger the farther you read, be prepared to be entertained with nail biting tension and edge of your seat excitement, be prepared to be wowed when you reach the pinnacle. But most of all be prepared to spread the word of this must read and Number 1 on the New York Times Best Seller list.
    This book will make you think, make you cringe, and make you mad, but above all this book will make you glad you read it.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Highly recommend

    First book I have read from this author and it will not be my last. Thriller with lots of twist and turns to keep you turning the pages. No sex, cuss word here and there, over all a very good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    If your into Mystery, this is definelty a book you want to read!

    A mystery book that will make you want to keep reading. This was a really interesting and emotion-packed book. I loved it. Coben shows that holding a grudge is not that best way to go. Also that you can't really judge someone without knowing them fully. Be careful with what you say to other people.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    You think you know where this is going...

    ..but I promise you really don't. Some neat plot twists take you in directions Coben foreshadowed, so don't blame him if you guess wrong! It was fun to see Facebook and Twitter used in the story, but I'm afraid some of the references are too "now" to make sense to a reader even a few years down the road (a recent commercial is references, for example) Of course, Facebook may well be passe by Christmas, so who knows. Love the balance of the first and last chapter! (no peeking, gentle reader)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    Very Disappointed

    This was the first book I have ever read by this author and I guess it will be my last. The synopsis of the book seemed very promising and I know that Harlan Coben is a best selling author so I figured it would be very interesting. However, I did not find the book interesting at all. Mr. Coben's writing style is all over the place, jumping from one scene to the next without any convincing cohesion. I found that I never cared enough about his characters to want to turn the page and find out what was their next move. I did notice that several Coben fans have written reviews that this was not one of the authors best books. However, from the lack of character development and leap-frog plot development, I doubt that I would like this authors best book, either.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    Kept me interested

    Harlan Coben is one of my favorite authors and I always enjoy reading his books. I was not sure I was going to like Caught as much as his previous books when I first started reading, but (in my opinion) it turned out to be one of Coben's best books yet! I am an avid mystery reader and could not put this book down. Just when I thought I knew where things were going, Coben would throw a curve - but it worked well! Caught was definitely suspenseful, but the message(s) in the book are also important. I look forward to Coben's next book - hopefully it will be just as good!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pay close attention

    There are several storylines with many twists and turns in Coben's latest offering. This is good, but not one of the best by this author. I do like the way he brings up current issues, such as the role parents play in the formation of their children's values. The idea of forgiveness of course is a Christian one, even though Coben downplays the spiritual and belief in an afterlife.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    A very fascinating riveting story that drew me in immediately. S

    A very fascinating riveting story that drew me in immediately. Several plots are occurring simultaneously in this book that appear to be separate and individual but begin to connect together. A missing teenager who vanishes in the middle of the night without a trace and leaves the entire community baffled. A social worker’s arrest as a sexual predator of children opens up more questions than answers. I was prepared to dislike Wendy Tynes initially. She struck me as a Nancy Grace type of journalist looking for explosive headlines and bright lights and assuming her target was guilty without due process. The story weaves in and around the characters of this story to make the reader unsure of their own convictions. Several times while reading this book I was positive that Dan Mercer was a pedophile and had killed the missing girl, but a few pages later, I began to doubt and then start the process over again. This book really made me think about the criminal justice system in this country, when it works and works well, and also when it doesn’t.




    This book is also about rash decisions and how they can alter lives forever. Decisions made by Haley, Dan, Wendy and others lead to actions by others that cause a tsunami effect of destruction in their wake. This book showed me that nothing is ever as it seems on the surface but all too often, people go with that perception and make judgments based on it.




    Harlan Coben is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors to turn to when I want a story that packs a solid punch but still manages to surprise the reader. This story brought out a range of emotions in me while reading. Everything from anger and shock to fear and sorrow combined with some tears and laughter will give the reader a thoroughly entertaining, though exhausting experience.




    If you enjoy James Patterson, I highly recommend you try Harlan Coben. He is definitely a master of his craft. Find a comfortable chair, kick off your shoes and settle in for a thrilling adventure when you open this book. You won’t want to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    I think this is one of the best books I've ever read.  From firs

    I think this is one of the best books I've ever read.  From first page to last you're taken on a quest trying to figure out what is the truth.  
    Dan Mercer is a pedophile and collector of child pornography.  Then he's not; then he is.  What is the truth?  Corben keeps you hanging
    until the very end where everything is satisfactorily revealed and all the loose ends neatly tied off.  

    I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Couldn't put it down!

    I loved this book! I hate to use cliches, but it was a real page-turner! Not once when I put it down did I want to and each time I did, I couldn't wait to get back to it. There was a lot to figure out and I ended up being surprised by most of it. I will definitely read another Harlan Coben book again soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Great book

    Lovet it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    One of his best

    I have read many of his books and never read one I didnt like, but this one is exceptional. Lots of twists and very thought provoking while keeping you guessing. I didnt predict any of it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 797 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 40