Customer Reviews for

Caught

Average Rating 4
( 793 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(297)

4 Star

(239)

3 Star

(146)

2 Star

(61)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

CAUGHT

WOW!! What A Story!!

I don't want to tell you too much because I don't want to spoil any of the suspense the builds throughout this book but here are the basics:

This is the story of high school senior, Haley McWaid, the pride of her family, good grades, never get...
WOW!! What A Story!!

I don't want to tell you too much because I don't want to spoil any of the suspense the builds throughout this book but here are the basics:

This is the story of high school senior, Haley McWaid, the pride of her family, good grades, never gets in trouble, a little obsessive compulsive who doesn't come home one night and goes missing.

It is also the story of Dan Mercer, a social worker, who works with troubled teens, who may be a sexual predator, as he is "CAUGHT" by a television show, hosted by Wendy Tynes who is on a mission to expose internet predators. It also delves into the lives of Dan's old college roommates and how they may have complicated Dan's life. The whole thing leaves Wendy worrying about who she can trust.

This story takes more twists and turns than an old country road and you better be belted in. It is a story filled with tension, stress, pressure, that challenges the reader. It is a thrilling, gripping, spine tingling novel that deals with things that could only be seen on television setting up shop in this community.

Harlan Coben takes all these plots and ties them together in what I believe will be the best book I read this year.
You will be "CAUGHT" from the first page and you will not be RELEASED even after the last word.
If you have not Pre-ordered this book, you should do it NOW.
This is definitely not a book to me missed.

http://dollycas.blogspot.com/

posted by Dollycas on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

!

Thanks to harriet klausner and all the other plot spoiling posts, here is another book ruined. Why cant u ppl learn to write a review and not a book report, cliff notes and dissertations. Most ppl like to read a book and be surprised. When u tell every detail u ruin ior...
Thanks to harriet klausner and all the other plot spoiling posts, here is another book ruined. Why cant u ppl learn to write a review and not a book report, cliff notes and dissertations. Most ppl like to read a book and be surprised. When u tell every detail u ruin ior others. These ppl should be banned from posting their plot reveals.

posted by 8888649 on December 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 297 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    CAUGHT

    WOW!! What A Story!!

    I don't want to tell you too much because I don't want to spoil any of the suspense the builds throughout this book but here are the basics:

    This is the story of high school senior, Haley McWaid, the pride of her family, good grades, never gets in trouble, a little obsessive compulsive who doesn't come home one night and goes missing.

    It is also the story of Dan Mercer, a social worker, who works with troubled teens, who may be a sexual predator, as he is "CAUGHT" by a television show, hosted by Wendy Tynes who is on a mission to expose internet predators. It also delves into the lives of Dan's old college roommates and how they may have complicated Dan's life. The whole thing leaves Wendy worrying about who she can trust.

    This story takes more twists and turns than an old country road and you better be belted in. It is a story filled with tension, stress, pressure, that challenges the reader. It is a thrilling, gripping, spine tingling novel that deals with things that could only be seen on television setting up shop in this community.

    Harlan Coben takes all these plots and ties them together in what I believe will be the best book I read this year.
    You will be "CAUGHT" from the first page and you will not be RELEASED even after the last word.
    If you have not Pre-ordered this book, you should do it NOW.
    This is definitely not a book to me missed.

    http://dollycas.blogspot.com/

    25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This will hook readers from start to finish with terrific twists throughout

    National TV investigative reporter Wendy Tynes exposes sexual predators on her show Caught in the Act. When a seventeen years old lacrosse playing high school student Haley McWaid vanishes without a trace, her hometown is stunned. Three months later, they remain shocked as the good girl never came home and there is no word about her.

    Wendy investigates the case and finds evidence that links the missing teen to social worker Dan Mercer. She exposes him on national TV as a sexual predator of children, but soon begins to find discrepancies in the slam dunk evidence. When a father of another teen victim claims to have killed Dan in what is vigilante justice, Wendy wonders what she has wrought as she now reconsiders her instincts though too late as he is caught dead.

    This will hook readers from start to finish with terrific twists throughout as Harlan Coben provides a great thriller. The story line is fast-paced and never stops for a moment; yet is also filled with deep characterizations especially the accused and his accuser. Fans will relish this powerful tale of justice is not blind when the media gets involved.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Harlan Coben's Caught is a magnificent thriller with more who-done-it's than you can shake a stick at.

    During an investigation for her expose TV show reporter Wendy Tynes has uncovered yet another child predator. This man Dan Mercer has ties in the local community where three months prior a teenaged girl went missing without a trace. As the hammer begins to fall and justice served things start happening that make her question the case and the perpetrator up to this point. There's something rotten in New Jersey the roots of which are far and wide, but to get to the truth Wendy must soul search to find the answers, is she willing to get there no matter the cost, especially when the cost is personal.
    Harlan Coben is a masterful storyteller as proven by this spine tingling can't stop page turning thriller. He brings us a tale of a parent's worst nightmare right from the front pages of newspapers all over the world, and then he ups the ante by taking his readers on a roller coaster adventure ride where the dips and turns are as dangerous as they are entertaining, where he has you constantly wondering "Who-Done-IT". He uses dialogue that informs us and entrances us, that scares us and gives us hope. His star character Wendy is a complicated and complex woman, one you'll spend time deciding whether she's friend or foe, but believe me it'll be time well spent. His supporting characters, all memorable are so intricately important to the story that you'll find yourself intimates with each one, some you'll cheer and some you'll curse but all you'll never forget.
    Be prepared to be wowed as you get enmeshed in a web that just keeps getting bigger the farther you read, be prepared to be entertained with nail biting tension and edge of your seat excitement, be prepared to be wowed when you reach the pinnacle. But most of all be prepared to spread the word of this must read and Number 1 on the New York Times Best Seller list.
    This book will make you think, make you cringe, and make you mad, but above all this book will make you glad you read it.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Highly recommend

    First book I have read from this author and it will not be my last. Thriller with lots of twist and turns to keep you turning the pages. No sex, cuss word here and there, over all a very good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    Kept me interested

    Harlan Coben is one of my favorite authors and I always enjoy reading his books. I was not sure I was going to like Caught as much as his previous books when I first started reading, but (in my opinion) it turned out to be one of Coben's best books yet! I am an avid mystery reader and could not put this book down. Just when I thought I knew where things were going, Coben would throw a curve - but it worked well! Caught was definitely suspenseful, but the message(s) in the book are also important. I look forward to Coben's next book - hopefully it will be just as good!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    A very fascinating riveting story that drew me in immediately. S

    A very fascinating riveting story that drew me in immediately. Several plots are occurring simultaneously in this book that appear to be separate and individual but begin to connect together. A missing teenager who vanishes in the middle of the night without a trace and leaves the entire community baffled. A social worker’s arrest as a sexual predator of children opens up more questions than answers. I was prepared to dislike Wendy Tynes initially. She struck me as a Nancy Grace type of journalist looking for explosive headlines and bright lights and assuming her target was guilty without due process. The story weaves in and around the characters of this story to make the reader unsure of their own convictions. Several times while reading this book I was positive that Dan Mercer was a pedophile and had killed the missing girl, but a few pages later, I began to doubt and then start the process over again. This book really made me think about the criminal justice system in this country, when it works and works well, and also when it doesn’t.




    This book is also about rash decisions and how they can alter lives forever. Decisions made by Haley, Dan, Wendy and others lead to actions by others that cause a tsunami effect of destruction in their wake. This book showed me that nothing is ever as it seems on the surface but all too often, people go with that perception and make judgments based on it.




    Harlan Coben is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors to turn to when I want a story that packs a solid punch but still manages to surprise the reader. This story brought out a range of emotions in me while reading. Everything from anger and shock to fear and sorrow combined with some tears and laughter will give the reader a thoroughly entertaining, though exhausting experience.




    If you enjoy James Patterson, I highly recommend you try Harlan Coben. He is definitely a master of his craft. Find a comfortable chair, kick off your shoes and settle in for a thrilling adventure when you open this book. You won’t want to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    I think this is one of the best books I've ever read.  From firs

    I think this is one of the best books I've ever read.  From first page to last you're taken on a quest trying to figure out what is the truth.  
    Dan Mercer is a pedophile and collector of child pornography.  Then he's not; then he is.  What is the truth?  Corben keeps you hanging
    until the very end where everything is satisfactorily revealed and all the loose ends neatly tied off.  

    I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Great book

    Lovet it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    One of his best

    I have read many of his books and never read one I didnt like, but this one is exceptional. Lots of twists and very thought provoking while keeping you guessing. I didnt predict any of it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Can't put it down

    Mr.Coben has done it again.Starts off keeping you on the seat of your pants and keeps on doing it over and over again.

    I would also recommend the trielogy by Steig Larsen,The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo,The Girl Who played with fire and The girl who kicked the hornets nest.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Great book!

    Such a great read. So many twists in it, it definitley keeps you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Are u thare?

    Kera

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Second read

    This book was just as good the second time I read it as the first. Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    Caught up in Reading!

    This book had me roped in from the very start. The story starts out with interesting characters and catches the reader up in a wave of twists and turns. I couldn't put the book down. Bravo Mr. Coben!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    Oh so good!! I got into the characters as they were believable.

    Oh so good!! I got into the characters as they were believable. Kept me on the edge and was hard to put this book down. Just when you think you know what is going on... BOOM! another twist comes around. I bought this for $2.99 as a daily find, but it is well worth the $9.99 it is now.Don't get "Caught" without this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    recommended

    Interesting plotline, moral decisions, would read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Excellent book, well written, easy to read. Definitely held my i

    Excellent book, well written, easy to read. Definitely held my interest and what a great ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Loved it

    Its been a long time since ive read one of harlen corbens books, im very glad i decided to read another. I didnt want to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Excellent read!

    Excellent read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Loved this book and have recommended it to all I know. Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 297 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15