Customer Reviews for

Caught Stealing (Hank Thompson Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    NYC, 4 Million Dollars, Russian Mob.....

    A great 1st novel by Charlie Huston!

    "Caught Stealing" has been on my short list of books to read for quite awhile!

    Finally, I took the plunge and read it straight through in one night!

    Henry "Hank" Thompson is a great character, he turns from nice average guy to cold blooded killer towards the end of the book.

    The book has alot of well written so called bad guys, the action is good!

    I really liked the direction Charlie Huston was taking this novel towards the end of the book and I can't wait to read Part 2 "Six Bad Things" and Part 3 "A Dangerous Man" soon!

    Highly recommended hard boiled action read....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    You feel Hank's Pain

    Love Huston's works. This 1st book is where Hank is constantly getting hurt. Huston writes so that you feel every punch and cut. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Very Good Book! Loved the ending!

    This book had me from the very first page. I could not put it down as it keeps you drawn in wanting to find out what happens next. The ending was a nice surprise I look forward to reading the 2nd book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best story ever

    I can say, without any hesitation, that this is the best book/series that I have ever read. I know that may seem extreme, well with all the books out there, but it's the truth. It's also just my opinion. I dare you to find a story that has dialog with a more real, gritty feel. It can't be done. The characters pull you in by the short and curlies like a busty dominatrix and all you can do is grimace and ask for more. There are no punches being held, no safe words being used. The ball gag is in and the pages keep turning. The only fault I can find in this series is that it's a trilogy, I would prefer it to be a neverending story. But, if you read this book, you'll know why there's a better chance of Disney making a cartoon version of this book, than a fourth installment coming out.
    Get the book. Read the book. Nod your head in approval of everything I just typed. Go get the next book. Repeat this process until there's nothing left to read. You can thank me later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Very good story of bad luck

    I was very impressed with Caught Stealing. The main character has found himself in a nasty situation that is not of his making. He then spends the next few days trying to make things right until he has to make some tough choices he can't walk away from. I found myself many times wondering what I would do if I was in a similar although highly improbable predicament.

    A very enjoyable read that I highly recommend to anyone who likes a good thrill ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Explosive!

    Caught Stealing is as funny as it is thrilling. Hank Thompson's life is turned upside down and he is thrown into a world of corrupt cops, Russian mobsters, and extremely dangerous men. Cat-sitting has gotten Hank into a world of trouble and he is forced to think on his feet as much as he's using them to run. Caught Stealing takes twists and turns at high speed and will have you on the edge of your seat. Charlie Huston is a genius. The dialogue is smart, sharp, funny, and believable. Reading Caught Stealing is like watching TV.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2007

    Excessive humor detracts from the plot

    While I was initially intrigued with the book and was enjoying a few laughs, halfway through, I realized that I didn't care one bit about the main character. The author's use of humor, and he IS funny, takes away from the plot's plausibility. A crime thriller and humor, at least as much humor as the author uses, don't mix well in my opinion. An occasional dose of humor might work, but then he'd have to develop the characters more and make the plot more credible than it is. Overall, I am disappointed, and I'm not even curious enough to read the rest of it. The author obviously has some talent, but I think he got sidetracked by making numerous humorous observations about the main character's obsession with alcohol to the detriment of the plot and character development. I realize that my opinion is in the minority, but thanks for considering my observations.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2007

    Perfectly entertaining diversion!

    I just completed reading this book-- very cinematic and wholly entertaining! Vivid characters and visceral action, perfect for curling up in front of a fire during the winter! Thank goodness there's more in this series. Very highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    First-Rate Thriller

    A really solid thriller with plenty of twists and turns and shocking moments, this book will definitely keep you reading it from sunrise to sunset because its easy to read and runs at a pretty fast pace, much like a action/thriller movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    Totally entertaining

    I love a good thriller and this fills the bill. Action packed with great characters... and a lovable cat to boot. Can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2006

    Excellent, Fast Paced Thriller

    An exciting, fast moving book that holds you from the first page to the last

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Couldn't Put it Down

    This was an amazing book, putting it down seemed wrong. It's a total crime thriller!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    a fantastic book that nobody's buying

    this is crime noir par excellence. it is far more original in its genre than anything i've read in years. original dialogue, unexpected twists, original 'hero', none of the usual cliches like saving the girl (avenging is more like it)etc. i don't understand why nobody's buying this book. it's good stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2