Customer Reviews for

Cauldron (Priscilla "Hutch" Hutchins Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    a must read and i mean all of his works

    a great book which like so many of his works is a gem and will keep you reading to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cauldron ┬┐ ** Spoilers ** I have found McDevitt┬┐s stories str

    Cauldron – ** Spoilers **

    I have found McDevitt’s stories strangely compelling, despite the many throwaway characters and the only stable person, Hutch, at times making incredible decisions in her life, you just have to slap your forehead and ask why. Why? Because I like space adventure and a great female lead.

    After reading the Hutchins’ series of novels, I had to read Cauldron. The Cauldron is a place at the center of our galaxy that the omega clouds come from – strange machines, light-years wide, that destroy anything at right angles, i.e. buildings.

    After a confrontation with one at the start of the story, we first get an update on what has been happening with Hutchins. That’s fine, but the domestic stuff goes on and on way more than necessary. I want to get to the good stuff.

    Faster than light travel is about to be trumped by a new drive that may save the space program, as more humans want to forget about space exploration and stay on planet Earth. This of course is a criticism of the same things now with NASA. We have not been on the Moon in decades and unmanned probes have taken the place of manned missions. (Frankly I thought I’d be on Mars Station by this time!). But I digress.

    After a half a book of handwringing we finally make it back in space: an ex-pilot cum real estate agent who gets to go back in space, a man who invented the new space drive and wants to take some ships out for a spin and Hutchins, who had sworn never to do deep space exploration but what the heck, just this one more time. Yeowza.

    Spaces and Places:

    The Chindi – we find where it finally came from, but unfortunately the planet they discover is a 20th century technology of frumpy aliens who live a very long time. The A.I. on board, trying to translate their language confuses physics with physical. Hey, it happens.

    The Omega – we find it possessed by an entity who, as one reviewer mentioned, is similar to the alien God in the film Star Trek V. Trek fans take note.

    Sigma – hey, cool planet with lizards that blend into snow. I liked it!

    Bottom Line:

    Overall enjoyable. I liked how the new Earth looks, what global warming has finally done, and Hutchins’ new love life and family. I enjoyed ex-pilot Mike’s exploration back into the unknown and that he no longer felt archaic. And finally liked how new inventions still often meet with opposition – nice tension there. If you followed the novels from the first, you may be disappointed. But the book stands on its own.

    Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    The best for last

    The 6th book in the Priscilla "Hutch" Hutchins series has finally answer the question of the Omega Clouds that has been traveling to other planets just to see whatever has been living there to be wipeout. Only the way, they lose a member of the team as well.

    You have to read this series ending book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    This is the last book in the Priscilla Hutchins series.

    It was an enjoyable quick read and most likely the the final book in the
    "Hutch" series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    And the story continues

    This is an excellent continuation of the Hutch series. It starts a little slow with Academy closed and space travel closing down with only true believers still calling for space exploration. (Very similar to the problems of NASA today with too many people thinking the whole space program is wasteful and the money should go to more terrestrial needs.) The only real flaw was the forced attempt to add some sentimentality by killing off one of the characters near the end of the book. Lastly, the ending and feel of the book makes it seem like this will be the end of the series.
    If you have enjoyed this series then this would be a pleasurable read but if not as a stand alone story too many references to past books will make it a pass.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    Big letdown at the core

    I have read all the books that Jack McDevitt has written in this series and I was very much looking forward to seeing some of the questions raised in earlier books answered. I was happy with the book until the events at the galactic core. That part of the plot was almost a direct rip-off of the plot of the 5th Star Trek Movie in which Kirk has the famous quote 'what does God need with a starship?' That being the case, I think this book is ok but the plotting was lazy and ultimately disappointing in the final confrontation. I hope Mr. McDevitt returns to form in his next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    Jack, I'm always going to read your books but...

    You know Jack probably my favorite SF book is your 'Deep Six' which is entirely creative, daring, imaginative, well written and you are enthusiastic about the story line and the charaters. Hutch is the central character as the starship captain and her adventures are very exciting and creative. Somehow in 'Cauldron' you translate the space age as old and unimportant - the philosphy is that there really isn't any other intelligent beings in the universwe save us. All this leads to a somewhat depressing story line. Hutch is even subdued and not enthusastic. I felt all the pages 'about 150 of them' leading up to the new drive were not all that necessary and I would have loved you to have put in more adventures of the starship with Hutch as the captain. I kept waiting for that to happen and it did a little bit but the ending story line was not worthy of you Jack - you can and have done a lot better. I want the old Jack McDevitt to come home now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    well written outer space thriller

    Government sponsored interstellar flight research is a thing of the past as it proved to expensive some private foundations provided limited funding to scientists, but by 2255 everyone knows that the dreams of the now defunct Academy of Science and technology are over. --- That is until now when physicist Jon Silvestri insists he has found an efficient effective star drive. The Prometheus Foundation decides to fund his tests, which prove successful. The Foundation assigns Priscilla ¿Hutch¿ Hutchins to join Jon and a crew on the Cauldron, whose mission is to learn what is inside the omega clouds at the core of the galaxy that is expanding outward and destroying other segments of the sector. However, the trip proves nonlinear as the Cauldron meet technologically impaired aliens, land on a deadly seemingly deserted planet, and is pulled towards a black hole. --- Although a well written outer space thriller starring Hutch and a crew of eccentrics, the prime directive of the story line is penetrating the clouded core to learn what is going on, but that segue is given a short climatic coda no more than fifteen percent of the tale). Instead over eighty percent of the exciting story line involves the travel. Thus the audience will appreciate the superior writing as the crew of the cauldron goes where mankind has never been before, but is also disappointed in the omega cloud finish that proves faster than Silvestri¿s star drive. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2