Customer Reviews for

The Cause within You: Finding the One Great Thing You Were Created to Do in This World

Average Rating 5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    YOU HAVE TO READ THIS!!!!!

    This book is so amazing!! Matthew Barnett is such an amazing man of God to follow his dream and shares his cause. This book showed me that I have a cause and I am on my way to helping others because of it. You have to read this!!! GOD BLESS!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Awesome !

    Great book for anyone wishing to discover God's plan for their life. Anyone from the new Christian all they way to the experienced pastor will benefit from reading this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Great book

    THIS BOOK IS SIMPLY AMAZING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Something Missing?

    If you are looking for the unexplained missing piece in your life, stop looking. The Cause Within You spells it out in a straightforward, inspirational outline that is as much a manual as it is a mental pep rally! Read Matthew Barnett's book and change the world around you forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Cause Within You and amazing read

    Pastor Mathew Barnett feels that we all have a cause within ourselves if and when we listen to God. He teaches us ways to learn to listen to what God is telling us our cause is and not what we want to tell God that our cause is. We get to see and understand how to prepare for our cause and how to use our own life experiences for our cause. We learn how to believe in our cause after things don't go as we expect and finally how to experience the rewards of our cause.
    This book was amazing. Hearing how he went to the slums in LA to start the Dream Center and reach out to those that society had gave up on. Spending the night on the streets of LA's skid row as a homeless person so he could experience what they go through was heart breaking in his frankness of the telling of his story.
    Members of the Dream Center tell their own personal stories about how they came to be saved and in turn work in the Dream Center and help others now. Hearing team member's Alfred's testimony about when he was approached by a grandma who just walked up to him and started to talk to him. He was fresh out of jail was a mean looking guy, had lived a rough life, was into drugs and gangs. Yet he says this elderly grandma with her dazzling smile and beautiful blue eyes was able to reach out to him!
    There are so many stories in this book where people are sharing their salvation and then their cause and how it carries on to another person and another. A lady with a special needs daughter who finds her cause in caring for other special needs and terminal babies. She takes this on even though she is met with naysayers along the way including her husband. How many people have the love and trust inside of them to take in the care of a baby who is terminal? She trusted God even though she felt not ready to do it. She had the love of God to take care of these precious gifts to give them a real life no matter how short it was.
    There is so much more to this book I think it should be a must read for every person. I grew closer to the Lord while reading this and now I am on my own personal search to find my cause from within from God.
    I was sent a copy of this book to review thanks to the Tynedale Media Center.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    This is amazing!

    Inspiring! I can't find a better word to describe this book. I love how everybody can relate to Pastor Matthew's heart behind what started it all. The way God revealed the hurt that was right in front of him that changed his vision to this day. Not only does his story show beautifully the love that God has for us, it creates a burning desire in our hearts to love the broken. Simple encouragement and compassion gives so much hope!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    Somebody Has To Read This!!!

    The Cause Within You is a great book! it tells the story of Pastor Matthew Barnett and how he found his cause in life by serving and helping others in need. As a ripple effect to him finding his cause, many others began to find their own cause by supporting his dream. In the book The Cause Within You, we are told Pastor Matthew's cause along with the stories of how others found their cause. Now as you read this book i challenge you to search within yourself and find your cause! This book isn't just another book on the shelves this book will change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    This is a must read!

    This book is so inspiring and it can change your life. It makes you want to start serving so you too can find your cause. Its incredible what we can do if we are willing to carry out Gods call for our life. You have to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    What an inspiration!

    This book has inspired me to live for a dream not just my own but for one greater than me. I have learned that God has such big plans for his people and when we can learn to submit to him he will take us to greater places than we could ever imagine! The many miraculous stories that Barnett tells in this book have caused me to realize the importance of serving and loving my brothers and sisters first and when we do that God will give us the desires of our heart. This book has been a great encouragement to me and a tremendous inspiration!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Captivating Story!

    Not only do I get an opportunity to read the book behind Pastor Matthew's cause, I get to be a part of it everyday! What a compelling and awesome way to allow people to find their causes through this amazing book! Each story within it is a daily happening and a true testament to being a servant filed with unconditional love! What an inspiration thank you for allowing us to discover our causes through sharing your very own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    The Cause within you

    "The Cause within you" by Pastor Mathew is filled with amazing testemonies of people who live in the Dream Center and are part of the enumerous ministries there which were started over fifteen years ago by Pastor Mathew when God showed him the cause he was created for.

    When you read this book you will be inspired to find out your great purpose in life!!! Go get inspired!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Book Review - The Cause within you- by Pastor Matthew Barnett

    The book "The Cause within you" by Pastor Mathew is filled with amazing testemonies of people who live in the Dream Center and are part of the enoumerous ministries. The Dream Center was established by Pastor Matthew over fifteen years ago, when God showed him the cause he was created for.

    When you read this book you will be inspired to find out your cause in life, which you were created for and this book gives you some excamples how. It is great, you should reed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    This book will change your life!

    Reading this book is inspiring on many levels. Hearing the testimonies of lives restored a hope discovered in Jesus Christ. Who wouldn't want to read about that?! This book has inspired me to strive to serve and love others as much as possible whenever given the chance. Thank you Pastor Matthew for being faithful to God and following his incredible journey for your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    higher learning

    This is an excellent book... it innovates and inspires faith just like the book of genesis in the bible did when Abraham believed God and it was accredited to him as righteousness. it is a powerful example of faith in action. The cause within you will most certainly cause an effect in you...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    The Cause Within You

    Matthew Barnett's The Cause Within You is a very inspiring book. It tells the story of how as a young boy he came into Los Angeles with a dream and how he began to live it out. It talks about the Los Angeles Dream Center. Because of the vision that Barnett had, he is making way for other people to go out and find their cause. He is now helping many lives. Because of his cause, he is able to save millions of lives. The inspiration that this book has is remarkable. It is truly a success story. Not only is it his success but he is humble enough to share it with others. i highly recommend this book to everyone. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    its great

    i love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    highly recommended -you must check it out

    i love this book and because of pastor matthew barnett i was able to find my cause

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    GOOD READ!

    I loved the truth and power behind this book! I highly recommend :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    Such an amazing book!

    This book is so great!!! I can see it changing lives around the world!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    Freedom

    I have received so much revelation about the freedom I have to impact this world by reading this book. It gives so many relative examples of ways to push through our comfort zones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2