BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Cause of Death (Kay Scarpetta Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 1999

    Love at first sight

    This is the first of her books I have read and I loved it. Her writing style flows and pulls you in, I was hooked on the first page. She involves enough characters to keep it interesting but not so many that you lose track and she keeps the players straight for you. Her characters are interesting and have depth and shades of gray. I enjoyed the story and plot though I thought they both got a little 'big'. I would have like it better if the scope of the mystery were more contained. It also appears to continue threads from previous books, and I'm not crazy about that (though the threads of the main character's personal life are a nice touch). I look forward to reading the rest of her books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Great book

    I have been reading Patricia Cornwell for years, she is great

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Addicted!

    I have read Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta series in order and most recently finished this book. By far, this is my favorite. The summary did not capture my interest at first but I was hooked within the first few chapters. I love Dr. Scarpetta - she is a brilliant and strong character I cannot help but cheer for. Her niece, Lucy, sidekick, Marino, and friend/lover/coworker, Benton Wesley, are incredible in developing the storyline and persona of Dr. Scarpetta. I highly recommend this series to anyone who has not started it. I strongly encourage you to read the books in order - there are references to some of the characters and cases she previously worked and nothing ruins a book for me like finding out the ending before I read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Fresh Start

    Cause of Death was a fresh start from the past three books that focused on Temple Gault. It was refreshing to start over with a new plot while progressing with the main characters. I was surprised to see how the story line connected the events in the book. At times I thought that it flowed too easily to picture it happening in real life, but this is a fictional book and not a true story. I imagine that the story line from this book will flow into the next book in the series. The ending was slightly disappointing as it was a bit of a cliff hanger, but it leaves me eager to read the following book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    loved it

    oldie but goodie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    The worst book I ever read!!!

    I don't know why I even finished it except I have read other books by this author and hoped there might be something redeeming at the end.The story line was boring and unrealistic and there were too many characters with none of them well-developed. Very disappointing and I felt it was a waste of time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    First one

    Well this was the first Patricia Cornwell I've read. It was ok, I've read better and I've read worse. I'll read another of her books but this was a little hard to follow it jumped around a little. At one point I had to go back and look at when did this one get killed I don't remember that. Did I miss some pages?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    Well written, but...

    As always Patricia has produced a brilliant piece of writing - never fails. I don't think anyone could censure the way she researches, nor the way she portrays her characters. The investigatiion keeps you on edge --- and yet there is nothing fresh. If this were the first book of Patricia's I'd read, I'd be thrilled, I would be captivated. She weaves her way to the end, yet it is so similar to her other stories I felt a touch of having being there before. Having said all that, I must recommend it, especially if you've not read one before

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2006

    Unbelievable and drawn out

    I have read Cornwell's books before but this was a difficult read. It was so drawn out with long descriptions of even a cup of coffee and where she was sitting while she drank it and what she was looking at. This was a boring read, the ending came out of nowhere - quite unbelievable and the story really fell flat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2006

    Another good read!

    This is my third Scarpetta novel. While it was not the best, I did enjoy it. I have the impression Cornwell does not have a very high opinion of our military and this seems to come out at every opportunity her stories present. While on the military, on page 255 Cornwell introduces the character 'Lynwood Sessions' as a 'Major General' in the Navy...we do not have generals in the Navy. A couple of pages later Sessions is given the title (properly) of admiral, but this lasts for only a page or so and then he reverts back to being a general. Another character, Captain Green, identified as being with the NIS, is also another naval officer. Within the story reference is made to the abbreviation of his rank as CPT. The only branch of our military that uses this rank abbreviation for captain is the US Army. There, captain is paygrade O-3, the same paygrade for captains in the Marine Corps and the Air Force. In the Navy, a captain is paygrade O-6...a much more senior officer. While these may seem very minor points to some, when something so simple as these is misrepresented, I can't help but wonder what else in all of the other much more complicated and technical parts of the story is also incorrect. Finally, Cornwell's seemingly unnecessary inclusion of homosexual 'sidetrips' in her stories serves as an unwelcome distraction to an otherwise entertaining story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2005

    A WINNER

    I am a very big fan of Patricia Cornwell I have read every book she has written, all her books are the kind you can't put down. I recommend her books to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2004

    Not the best in the series

    I have recently gotten into the Kay Scarpetta series and can't stop reading one right after another. I found this one to be the worst one in the series that I have read so far. To me, the ending just somewhat happens. It doesn't draw you in or make you want to continue to the next book. I, personally, enjoy the relationships she has as a side story to the solving of cases, but the writing on the relationships in this story seems forced and choppy. I am beginning the next in the series and am hopeful that they don't start declining in quality and appeal. If you are reading the series, I encourage you to read it to follow the future books, but don't expect the same quality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2003

    Lions and tigers, and fascists, oh my!

    The first time I read this novel, I breezed through it in less than twenty four hours, and thought the world of it. It was well-written, scary, unpredictable, and the characters were as well-developed as ever. I loved the dialogue and Cornwell's prose, but upon second reading, didn't enjoy it as much. Perhaps it's because of the ridiculous ending. However, I still highly recommend this title and anything else by Patricia Cornwell, a true master of the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2003

    all of the KAY SCARPETTA novels

    I HAVE NEVER READ A SERIES OF BOOKS AS WONDERFUL AS THE SCARPETTA BOOKS. I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOREVER FOR HER NEXT ONE AND HOPE IT IS SOON. I CAN READ ONE OF THESE BOOKS IN ONE NIGHT. PLEASE DON'T KEEP US WAITING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2002

    VERY VERY GOOD ~~!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was also hard to put down, really kept my interest all the way to the end. Very very good story, I would recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2002

    Cause of Death (Kay Scarpetta Series #7)

    This is the first book that I have read by Patricia Cornwell and I throughly enjoyed it.I am a fan of C.S.I. and simply loved all the the forensics details of this book.Dr. Scarpetta is the best female detective since Miss Marple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2002

    Cause of Death (Kay Scarpetta Series #7)

    This is the first book that i have read by patricia cornwell. i throughly enjoyed it. I couldn't put it down and it kept me awake late intothe night until i finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2000

    Great thrilling book

    It was a really good book. I had no clue as to what was going on. I couldnt even put the book down. The ending was the best that i have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7