Customer Reviews for

A Cavern of Black Ice (Sword of Shadows Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2001

    J.V.Jones is a wonderful discovery for anyone who loves fantasy!

    A Cavern of Black Ice is unlike any other fanstasy I have ever read. It is brilliantly written, refreshing change from the standard 'magical takeoff on the middle ages' story line. She does this with all of her stories. Jones takes the characters of this story and artfully brings them to life in such a way that you truly feel that you know them. The day that I discovered ALL of the books by Jones was a great day indeed. I had been restricted to total bedrest the the last three months of my last pregnancy. I devoured every book of hers that I could get my hands on and finished all of them in just a couple of months. I was so dissappointed when I came to the end of all the books that are in print. My only problem is that all of her devoted fans are impatiently awaiting the release of 'A Fortress of Grey Ice' the sequel. WHERE IS IT ??!! Does anyone know when It will finally be released? I highly recommend this book and all the others by Jones, especially 'The Bakers Boy' If you like fantasy, you will be glad that you bought this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2001

    Well Done!

    I find that I really like this book. I am an avid fantasy reader. I like almost all fantasy. I found that I really liked the The Book of Words series. I thought that the intrigue was amazing. She slipped in the Barbed Coil. I read about half and it never grabbed me. I kept putting it down and reading another book. I thought she might be a one hit wonder writer, but i gave her another chance with this one and I am glad that I did. It is definitely more mature. Mrs. Jones is definitely coming into her own and I am waiting for the next one. Keep it up Jones.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Great fantasy

    Gripping tale, dishonor, magic, and the fate of tje world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Am left without words...

    Thank goodness JV Vance wasnt. A lifetime ago I read the first two books in this..waiting with bated breath for the third in this series. I am a vociferous reader and often stories and sort of all blend together, not so with tales of the black and grey caverns. I cannot afford my reading habit , so I utilize the public library system to satisfy my endless needs. The next in the series never showed up despiite queries . JV's name and never faded as somany do

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Yes

    Yes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Good

    Well written with excellent character and plot development. Almost impossible to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2002

    This started my fantasy collection

    I ordered this at the beginning of 7th grade, realizing it was a biggest book I've ever seen when it came in the mail. The first few pages got me hooked. The characters are awesome and you can't help but skip pages every once in a while to know what happens next... I did get the sequel, and it's even better than this (haven't finished it yet either)... for all of you waiting, it's out in the UK, email me if you want a link to buy ;D (from a trusted bookstore, not myself!) Although it shouldn't be too hard to find by your lonesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2001

    What have you done for me lately?

    Great book! Not the average tame and gentle little fairy tale. I would recommend this to pretty much anyone EXCEPT those who would want to read part 2 anytime soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2001

    A MASTERPIECE FOR ALL TIMES

    WHAT CAN ONE SAY BUT READ IT! IT IS CAPTIVATING ALL THE WAY TILL THE VERY END. ROMANCE AND FANTASY HAVE NEVER MIXED SO WELL AS WHEN J V JONES CAST HER MAGIC ON A PIECE OF PAPER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2001

    I just want to read more!

    I read a ton of books, and this has got to be one of my all time favorites!!!! When I started the book i got so sucked into it, that when i was done...I was really dissapointed! It's one of those books that you cant put down until the last page is read, and you just want to read more of it! I cant wait till the sequal comes out(A Fortress of Grey Ice)!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2001

    One of the best books i've ever read

    i love this book, very cleverly written, one of the only things that makes a fantasy book stand out, as most parts of plots are similar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2000

    Captivating

    I believe that this is one of the best books of all time. I couldn't put it down. It's filled with advernture, magic, destiny, love, death, courage, and truth! A young boy named Raif follows the path to becoming a man while following his heart. He struggles to change his destiny and his place in life. Ash, a young lady troubled by nightmares of black ice struggles to free herself of eternal demons that haunt her. *FOLLOW THE PATHS OF THOSE WHO WISH TO CHANGE THEIR LIVES!*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2000

    A Great Find

    A Cavern of Black Ice is indeed a pleasant suprise. Though the length of this book might be intimidating, it stays interesting and intriguing throughout. Jones does a great job of bringing together the main characters, and making you sympathetic towards the obstacles that they are faced with. The book has similarities with Goodkind and Martin, and therefore hooked me right away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2000

    Better than the Book of Words

    While Jones' previous trilogy, the Book of Words, was what first drew me to her as an outstanding fantasy author, this first book in the Sword of Shadows saga is more to my liking. It can slighty confuse the reader at first as the scene is being set, and one may need to read the novel more than once to understand all the references and 'hints', but it ruthlessly grips your attention until I couldn't even set it down. I especially liked the concepts of the Black Cavern itself, the Sull, the code of honor and the rituals such as the guidestone which the clans live by, and the story's various links to the world of Jack, the baker's boy. A colorful, exciting story of sorcery, ancient cultures, and unseen threats that one needs to read to believe. I found that Jones' first attempt at a trilogy was a little rough around the edges and in some cases a little too extreme. However, the style of the Sword of Shadows #1 is eye catching and intriging while mellowed down into a tale of intense action, unforeseen mysteries, turns, and twists, and undying love and dedication. My hat is off to the author: another masterpiece. You finish the novel to find yourself gasping for breath and wanting more. Can't wait for the next shade of ice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2000

    Good reading

    This book is really good. It's a little slow in the begining, and I kept wondering how J.V. Jones was going to stretch this out into three books. It's not the best book I've ever read. The ending is anticlimatic, and the cliffhangers she leaves at the end of the book are more like she just stopped in part of the story. Still, I like it a lot, and I can't wait to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2000

    A great book

    J.V. Jones is being added to my list of favorite authers. Great characters really make this book stand out. This promises to be the start of a really great epic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2000

    Great fantasy writing. Top quality performance by J.V. Jones

    I loved the way Jones developes her characters and pulls you into the story. Raif and Ash are strong characters, but still shown signs of vulnerability. I can definitely see how everyone can 'hate' Mace Blackhail. I am eagerly awaiting A Fortress of Grey Ice, volume 2 in this trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2