Customer Reviews for

The Caves of Steel (The Robot Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

one of the best books ever

I haven't read this in years but I needed to leave a review for one of my favorite books of all-time. This book got me into reading in general, not just sci-fi. Asimov was a master of his craft, and this book could easily appeal to those who would otherwise have no in...
I haven't read this in years but I needed to leave a review for one of my favorite books of all-time. This book got me into reading in general, not just sci-fi. Asimov was a master of his craft, and this book could easily appeal to those who would otherwise have no interest in sci-fi because it reads well as a mystery, too. I read this a decade ago and the world that is created within still stays with me. Highly recommended.

posted by Anonymous on March 22, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Should be complete "Robot Series"

Disappointed complete series not released for NOOK @ this price

posted by RinebergReviewer on April 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    one of the best books ever

    I haven't read this in years but I needed to leave a review for one of my favorite books of all-time. This book got me into reading in general, not just sci-fi. Asimov was a master of his craft, and this book could easily appeal to those who would otherwise have no interest in sci-fi because it reads well as a mystery, too. I read this a decade ago and the world that is created within still stays with me. Highly recommended.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Should be complete "Robot Series"

    Disappointed complete series not released for NOOK @ this price

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2000

    Hooked!

    I am a big sci-fi fan and I love Asimov but this book was extraordinary and it hooked me into the trilogy. It has to be one of the best books I have ever read and recommend it to everyone. The thing that made it so enoyable was the way he combined mystery and sci-fi together, a pure masterpiece. If you do not love this book by the end then sci-fi is not your genre.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    It's Asimov!

    Readable over and over and over.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    A very good weekend read

    I'd read I, Robot and, liking robots as much as I do, I was told by some friends from college that I should pick this one up. I loved it! I was expecting the first chapter or two to go like it did in I, Robot (which I couldn't put down, by the way), but once I got into chapter 3, I literally stayed up hours to finish reading it.

    Earth created robots, but when humanity branched out into space, the Spacers took the robots and most of Earth doesn't want anything to do with them-- and suddenly, an Earth detective is assigned a highly advanced robot to help solve the murder of the same Spacer who created that robot!

    A really great book if you love the futuristic, robotic side of Science Fiction.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    A Unique Example of Asimov's Uniquely Philosophical Writings

    Isaac Asimov's The Caves of Steel is a tribute all in itself to the author, who had not only the talent of writing a story both part science fiction and part mystery, but the gift to create something as complex as psychology - robot psychology. For once we can truly understand robots, and can view ourselves from their eyes. It is both a humbling and a disturbing image that we glimpse, but that is what makes Asimov's works so great: They are true to reality. I think this belongs in a genre of its own, along with the Foundation novels: Intellectual Thriller.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    Holds up well

    I just read Caves of Steel this past week. It had been some time since I had read anything related to Asimov's Robots serirs; the last time being in highdchool, circa 1999. What really surprises me, though this novel was written in the 1950s, the narrative still holds up very well. Certainly, there are some items in the narrative which date the story a little bit, but these are easily over-looked. Asimov is a great writer, and can easily get you to keep turning the pages to find out whst happens next. Fun read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    old favorite

    I was a huge Asimov fan growing up and still find the books entertaining 20 years later. a lot of the novel is kind of clunky and hokey, but on the other find I find many of the ideas still very compelling. Is there something in humankind that would be resistant to getting robot assistance, even if that meant making their lives more difficult? Still a fascinating look at possible future psychology, and how the human race is in danger of undergoing a type of speciation if groups are too separate. It is also entertaining how Asimov puts so many diverse threads into one book- detective thriller, speculative future, history lesson, even a kind of love story. As an entree into the robot/galactic empire/foundation world of asimov, this book is indispensible, along with I Robot. It is fascinating how different this book is from the Foundation stories- Asimov may not have been a stylist on the level of a Ray Bradbury or Theodore Sturgeon, but he was certainly capable of a diverse array of writing styles.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2005

    Good Intro to Isaac Asimov

    So many people express their distaste of the strange genre of science fiction, including myself until reading this novel. What makes Isaac Asimov such a great sci-fi writer is that the world he creates is so visually complete that we can really picture it in our imagination. But fortunately, the grand technology of the future doesn't take center stage. It is the characters and the intriguing plot that draw us into the story. While it is a satisfying mystery, it is also a story of hope in a future filled with friction between humans and progressing technology.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2004

    The first step

    When I picked up this book, I never expected it to lead me to voraciously reading another 10 books after it. It's amazing how all of Asimov's works interweave with each other. From the Robot novels you should move to the Foundation Series (starting with Prelude to Foundation and then Foward the Foundation, etc.) I love how he ties both series together. A set of books that I will read over and over again and not tire of to be sure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2001

    All robot novels are complex, but cool

    I have already read I, robot. It is awesome, and my favorite is 'Robbie'. At first, I did not know it was short stories, but then I got it. The book is beat; it fell into a bowl of juice when i took a vacation to yellowstone, and it is beat up, but it is simply an awesome book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2000

    This Book is Awesome

    This book is pretty tight. You should get the whole robot series. Asimov is awesome.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2000

    a reviewer

    Well, this is neither complex or a masterpice, yet it is a great story that is wonderfully descriptive a awesome. Science fiction, yet you may actually lear a thing or two. Read this book and find out what I mean.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2000

    The Caves of Steel

    A wonderful and complex science fiction mystery. Very good ending (it's always who you least suspect)!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 1999

    This Book is Most Excelent!

    This book has a very captivating, complex plot sure to impress and please any sci-fi/fantisy enthusiast. It is the best most well written science fiction book i've ever read. The creativity, details, concepts, mystey, human and robotic reactions and interactions are outstanding and come together to form A MUST READ MASTERPIECE!.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Monpelt

    K

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Foxmoss

    Ill see you at grumpy cat Sunstar needs you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Garrett

    Walks in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Rose

    She Placed her stuff under her bed, and walked back out. (Bleh. I be here, in other words.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6