Customer Reviews for

Cay

Average Rating 4.5
( 388 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(232)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

The Cay Is A Great Book

My opinion of this book is that I liked it. The Cay is a very good book for young readers. This book has a lot of detail about what goes on in the story.

The Cay is a great book for readers to read. It's about this b...
My opinion of this book is that I liked it. The Cay is a very good book for young readers. This book has a lot of detail about what goes on in the story.

The Cay is a great book for readers to read. It's about this boy named Phillip. He lived with his mom and dad. There was this war that was going on and these Germans invading his town. Phillips dad makes him and his mother get on this ship to the United States to be safe from the war. But they get part way over to the United States and their ship gets hit by a torpedo from a German submarine. When the boat wrecks Phillip gets knocked out when the torpedo hits the ship. When Phillip regains his consciousness he wakes up in the middle of the sea with this African American in this small raft. His mom never liked though kind of people because they were always different then white people. She said the lived different and talked different than everyone else so she always told Phillip not to talk to them or to have a friend like them kind of people. But Phillip is alone with this African American. They finally arrive at this island by them self. When Phillip tries to see he can't. When the torpedo hit the ship when Phillip fell is got blinded by something. So the only guy Phillip has to rely on is the African American. So will Phillip overcome his racist mind to survive this trip? You will have to read the book to find out what the outcome is.

posted by 2116880 on October 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Weird

This was a really weird book. I mean CREEPY!! My teacher made me read this. It was scary and hurtful and sad. Disappointing................

posted by Anonymous on April 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 388 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    The Cay Is A Great Book

    My opinion of this book is that I liked it. The Cay is a very good book for young readers. This book has a lot of detail about what goes on in the story.

    The Cay is a great book for readers to read. It's about this boy named Phillip. He lived with his mom and dad. There was this war that was going on and these Germans invading his town. Phillips dad makes him and his mother get on this ship to the United States to be safe from the war. But they get part way over to the United States and their ship gets hit by a torpedo from a German submarine. When the boat wrecks Phillip gets knocked out when the torpedo hits the ship. When Phillip regains his consciousness he wakes up in the middle of the sea with this African American in this small raft. His mom never liked though kind of people because they were always different then white people. She said the lived different and talked different than everyone else so she always told Phillip not to talk to them or to have a friend like them kind of people. But Phillip is alone with this African American. They finally arrive at this island by them self. When Phillip tries to see he can't. When the torpedo hit the ship when Phillip fell is got blinded by something. So the only guy Phillip has to rely on is the African American. So will Phillip overcome his racist mind to survive this trip? You will have to read the book to find out what the outcome is.

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very nice

    I had to read this book for school a few years ago, but I recently read it again. I still think it's a great and very compelling read. You actually get absorbed into the book and start to like the characters. It's a good book for all ages.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    Weird

    This was a really weird book. I mean CREEPY!! My teacher made me read this. It was scary and hurtful and sad. Disappointing................

    11 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Excellent book

    I read this book for the first time when I was in 8th grade and loved it. Now, over 13 years later, I still thoroughly enjoy the book. It is an easy read, but has a powerful story and is written well. A definite must-read!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Amazing!

    Hmmm.......well..........about this book......... I read it for English class because our teacher forced us to, and one half of the class was like, This book is BORING!!!!!!!! And the other half (including me) was like, WHAT on EARTH are you SAYING????? THIS BOOK IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!! So yeah. This book is amazing and magnificent and life changing and heart warming and funny and...... and....... and...... oh, forget it.
    - Korra and Avatar fan

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Gr8 book

    This book is gr8 my science teacherbis reading it to the class but i am reading it on my nook too

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Awesome

    It is an amazing story and Timothy saved phillip! We read this in class... it is good read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    the cay

    the book was basically about a boy who was living in the time of the war and has to move because its getting to dangerous where hee is living. when he gets on the boat with his mom, a torpedo hits it and the ship sinks.the boy who is named philipe gets seperated from his mom and ends up on a raft and gets stuck on an island. read the rest to find out what happends.
    i liked how the book was exciting and adventurous. alot of people write about being stranded on an island but i liked this one the most. i would recomend it to people who like adventure and entertaining books

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    This Is A Good Book

    The Cay by Theodore Taylor takes place in Williamsted. When Phillip and his mom left Williamsted their ship got torpedoed and the boat sank. Phillip got rescued by an old black man. I liked this book because it shows ways to help people survive in the wild if there is nobody around. While on the water searching for an island Phillip went blind. Phillip is a young white boy. When they found an island Timothy built a fort. Timothy tried to do his best keeping Phillip in good condition but had to be careful with their supplies. At the end of the book I really liked how Timothy knew he was going to pass away so he set some stuff up on the island so Phillip could survive on his own because I think that Phillip is a little young to survive on his own and plus he is blind. I think that Phillip would¿ve not survived if it wouldn¿t have been for Timothy. Timothy also reminds me of myself in some ways because he is an outdoors person just like me. The part of the book I didn¿t like was that as soon as Timothy passed away the ship found Phillip, how come they didn¿t come before Timothy died. This was a good book. I liked a lot of stuff and I disliked a lot of stuff. I would recommend this book to anybody who enjoys the outdoors.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    The Cay is a very good book

    This story was written by Theodore Taylor. In this story the author is saying that the color of skin doesn¿t matter in people. The main character, Philip, had to learn how to trust Timothy, a black man, if he wanted to survive and he grew up where black people aren¿t treated as good as white people.<BR/> This story explains how a blind boy survives on a deserted island with a black man named Timothy. Timothy helps Philip learn to survive by building things to help him get food and get around the island. Timothy soon dies from extreme exhaustion when a massive hurricane hits. Philip now has to try and get around the island by memory and touch since all of the things Timothy built are destroyed.NOw he has to ry to get off of the island by himself.<BR/> Philip reminds me of one of the kids who has lost their parents and has had to grow up by themselves. Even though he did not lose his parents he still had to learn how to live by himself. <BR/> If you enjoy stories with real life events and action then you would like this story. This story starts out very slow and hard to follow because there is not much happening. If you don¿t like stories that are slow then you will not like the beginning of this, but you have to get through a couple chapters before it starts to get interesting. When you do get to those parts then you won¿t ever want to put the book down. There is so much happening and it is all one right after another you just want to keep reading. I would recommend this book to all of my friends. I enjoyed this book a lot.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    The main characters in the story are Phillip and Timothy. Phillip is a boy who moved to Curacao from Virginia because of his dad¿s job. He always had a bad stereotype towards black people because that was how his parents raised him. Phillip was also blinded when he hit his head. Timothy, the other main character, is a big, strong, black man. He was old but he was in great shape. He grew up without ever going to school and he never knew his parents. The summary of the story is when the Germans attacked the island of Curacao, Phillip and his mother took a boat to escape the island. Then their boat was attacked, leaving Phillip and Timothy to escape on a lifeboat. Then their boat landed on a deserted cay and they try to make their survival. The setting of the story took place during the time of World War II. It took place on the island of Curacao and also on a deserted cay in the Caribbean. There are two themes for The Cay. One is racism because the author¿s main purpose was to teach people not to be racist. The other theme for The Cay is survival because the story is about two people and their survival on a deserted cay. Yes, I did like the book. I liked it because it had a good message in it that people shouldn't be racist. It also had a lot of action that kept me out of my seat. I hope you will read this book too.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Hcfvfvdbvjdjvjjdjdjdfjfjddddsijcssccjdhfjfjjfffjkdddjdjgiwjfjsjfusfhjghskdhaiehzgusbf jdfsjsgjdjxjghshfhsvdhxjsckwhfofosgsbcujckafosvsocnwofbsdhwkrqofhsmdhandjauxvdysicjsjjaudiqjdfhsuqjsfusnfosfqjfakhakfvsyrufsiwjjqgjhzkcuahhjhhqhuvuqedhsjcbskvhwjfh

    SurjefgnjsfknfjffwcsjfjbhiahcgfnwjwdjfkdjxhddvnwifjwknwufscjsiclhohJddk mfjkjdjdjicjjhziudxdchfshfhhdhqbdqxjssjkkzcdh ihsxjcjdkhwjiqhdkhjijsjfddwfdbfdfsjruxnegwbgjwjjdsjsbjdjjddjxhwhfhzdqkusbcghchwhdjhjfhsjhj dcdwfjdndevrrrbdbdbdbedrtjdenrjrtfmdgnntenfnfjfdndftrrkryrfjfdhsdddnfcngdndryfdhfjbjwbfjwvijchufxihdjeixexwjinwhswddexefecfgjdkviwigbxivhdivhqivje sivwufwuvjjfffrrkfhvjvjsnfjwnrwbrbubfjcjwdgdqhfkfnqinrfejhjhwichsjjsdddnxxxkdicjwkfixjvjskdsscjqidxdqqodjskjsihkciwjxjfwchfxdwjdjwejjdjdjddjxjxjdxxjxxxxjxdkxkcxkckddkxkdkwkxjqkcjwkcnwcbskfgskxhrk%4#&#-'&+;37*8-2833'-'39%2$2'21%;+1$+@&!;;!-$;#-*2-2+-#-'/-$+##+$*28-2+;%/@/@9!#%%39$8127+-#+#%-$'8#"#+"-'/#+%-37/186&*$*%6*$*'71-%8@;"+%*182/$-&@&$/%+&(:,;\\\¿\~{¿>~¿^`=¿_`>¿¿<¿_`=€^¿_¿¿€^~=<¿[?<|=`¿ sjwjsjsjdjndhzn¿__¿^¿¿\=^=^_¿_`¿\`_¿\¿^€=€_¿=`¿}¿<\_¿=_`=¿^|¿¿=¿€|=€_€=€>|€¿€€[€¿<€=|¿_¿___¿_^¿€`¿¿\¿|^¿=¿¿\|¿^|€|_€|^_€_¿_¿__€€€€_€_€¿_______________________________€¿^^^€^€^¿^€^€^€_____¿_¿__¿¿_¿¿¿¿_¿¿_¿¿_¿¿__~¿¿¿`¿€^`=¿^¿_€^`__|<¿`_€^_`_¿^~_|¿_¿^¿€^`_¿?`€^`=^`=¿¿__<¿€_|€^|_€|€^|¿€_`=\•¿¿<\¿€¿^¿_~¿€_¿\\¿_¿^`^¿^\¿_¿€_~_¿_¿^¿¿€_¿_`_¿¿¿_¿`¿=¿¿¿¿¿¿^^__¿¿_¿¿¿€_____¿€_______________€_¿__¿_€__€_€_€__€_€_€_€______________€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€\¿\_¿_€^¿_~¿<€<•\¿>¿¿\€_|\•¿_~¿€\_•¿\¿=<¿_€<`__€\¿_~_~_¿\\€^¿¿|€?<•¿¿¿¿¿€_€<¿\\€__€\<•<•¿¿<€\^€^€^`¿`¿\€€=¿•¿€???????¿_¿__¿¿<¿\¿\€\€^^¿^¿\¿\¿\¿\¿\¿\¿\¿^¿^|¿|¿`¿¿\¿\¿=¿_¿^`^`^¿^`¿~¿~¿^¿^¿\^^\¿¿<¿_¿~~^|¿¿€¿€^¿\¿\~¿€?__~¿\€\€\\¿^

    3 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    The cay

    It was probably one of the best books I have ever read. It was very sad, but I liked how the author told it from the main characters perspective. We read this book in class, and I was able to imagine what it was like there because of how the author worded it. Two thumbs up for me!(:

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    The Cay by: Theodore Taylor

    This is a great book! It may look uninteresting by the cover but it is very good!!! I am getting ready to read it my fourth time!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Read this book

    This is the best book ever. You can really feel the hardship they went through.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    The theme of The Cay is learning about oneself and learning abou

    The theme of The Cay is learning about oneself and learning about other cultures.  Once you start reading, you can’t put this book down because something new and exciting happens in every chapter.  One example from the book that conveys the theme is when Phillip’s mother told him, “They have their place and we have ours.” Phillip later learned this wasn’t true.  Another example is when Timothy told Phillip, “No matter what culture you come from, you are the same on the inside.”  I think this is true of everybody.  I would give the Cay five out of five stars and would recommend this book to any preteen because it shows a great understanding of other cultures.  I think it is important that preteens have an understanding of other cultures so they can overcome prejudice in their own lives.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    The Cay, a masterpiece by Theodore Taylor, combines different cu

    The Cay, a masterpiece by Theodore Taylor, combines different cultures and humor to form a gripping novel.  One of the funnier moments was when Timothy pretended he could spell even though he knew he couldn’t.  I liked this book because of the humor in it, but it also had a deeper meaning.  At first, Phillip thought Timothy was strange just because Timothy was black.  After Phillip became blind, he realized that skin color didn’t matter, it was what was on the inside that mattered.  I know this because at first, Phillip called Timothy names such as “ ugly, old black man” and “ stupid negro”.  At the end, he called him “Timothy” and treated Timothy the way he would have treated himself.  I believe the deeper meaning of the story is that even though we may look different, we’re all the same on the inside.  I would definitely recommend this book for teenagers and young adults, because it gives examples of how we’re all the same on the inside.  This novel may be able to help society get rid of the prejudice between different races.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    The Cay is a very enjoyable book. It teaches you an important le

    The Cay is a very enjoyable book. It teaches you an important lesson on overcoming prejudice. In the beginning of the book, Phillip is not very fond of Timothy. As the story progresses, Phillip wants to become his friend and asks &quot;Are you still black, Timothy?&quot; This book just gets better and better as you read on and its hard to put down. I highly recommend The Cay.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Before I finished the book, I thought The Cay was about a boy an

    Before I finished the book, I thought The Cay was about a boy and an old man that are stuck on an island. I was wrong. The book is about a boy named Phillip who overcomes his racism against black people. At first, Philip treats Timothy, the black man on the raft with him, poorly because his mother told him that black people live &quot;different lives&quot; and that they are &quot;lower class&quot;. After a few days, Phillip becomes blind. Phillip now depends on Timothy to tell him his surroundings. Phillip than forgets what his mother said about black people and he realizes that just because a person's skin color is different, doesn't mean they're not smart. The book has taught me an important lesson and as Timothy would say about the book, &quot;outrageous good&quot;.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    The book The Cay was a great book in my opinion .I felt that the

    The book The Cay was a great book in my opinion .I felt that the book was very insightful and it help me understand a lot .If i didn't read the book i probably would not understand prejudice people.Like i do now .This book was one  of those books that gets  better and better .And you don't wan't to stop reading .The Cay is a book i would recommend to my  friends 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 388 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20