Customer Reviews for

Cay

Average Rating 4
( 378 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(223)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

The Cay Is A Great Book

My opinion of this book is that I liked it. The Cay is a very good book for young readers. This book has a lot of detail about what goes on in the story.

The Cay is a great book for readers to read. It's about this b...
My opinion of this book is that I liked it. The Cay is a very good book for young readers. This book has a lot of detail about what goes on in the story.

The Cay is a great book for readers to read. It's about this boy named Phillip. He lived with his mom and dad. There was this war that was going on and these Germans invading his town. Phillips dad makes him and his mother get on this ship to the United States to be safe from the war. But they get part way over to the United States and their ship gets hit by a torpedo from a German submarine. When the boat wrecks Phillip gets knocked out when the torpedo hits the ship. When Phillip regains his consciousness he wakes up in the middle of the sea with this African American in this small raft. His mom never liked though kind of people because they were always different then white people. She said the lived different and talked different than everyone else so she always told Phillip not to talk to them or to have a friend like them kind of people. But Phillip is alone with this African American. They finally arrive at this island by them self. When Phillip tries to see he can't. When the torpedo hit the ship when Phillip fell is got blinded by something. So the only guy Phillip has to rely on is the African American. So will Phillip overcome his racist mind to survive this trip? You will have to read the book to find out what the outcome is.

posted by 2116880 on October 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Weird

This was a really weird book. I mean CREEPY!! My teacher made me read this. It was scary and hurtful and sad. Disappointing................

posted by Anonymous on April 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Hcfvfvdbvjdjvjjdjdjdfjfjddddsijcssccjdhfjfjjfffjkdddjdjgiwjfjsjfusfhjghskdhaiehzgusbf jdfsjsgjdjxjghshfhsvdhxjsckwhfofosgsbcujckafosvsocnwofbsdhwkrqofhsmdhandjauxvdysicjsjjaudiqjdfhsuqjsfusnfosfqjfakhakfvsyrufsiwjjqgjhzkcuahhjhhqhuvuqedhsjcbskvhwjfh

    SurjefgnjsfknfjffwcsjfjbhiahcgfnwjwdjfkdjxhddvnwifjwknwufscjsiclhohJddk mfjkjdjdjicjjhziudxdchfshfhhdhqbdqxjssjkkzcdh ihsxjcjdkhwjiqhdkhjijsjfddwfdbfdfsjruxnegwbgjwjjdsjsbjdjjddjxhwhfhzdqkusbcghchwhdjhjfhsjhj dcdwfjdndevrrrbdbdbdbedrtjdenrjrtfmdgnntenfnfjfdndftrrkryrfjfdhsdddnfcngdndryfdhfjbjwbfjwvijchufxihdjeixexwjinwhswddexefecfgjdkviwigbxivhdivhqivje sivwufwuvjjfffrrkfhvjvjsnfjwnrwbrbubfjcjwdgdqhfkfnqinrfejhjhwichsjjsdddnxxxkdicjwkfixjvjskdsscjqidxdqqodjskjsihkciwjxjfwchfxdwjdjwejjdjdjddjxjxjdxxjxxxxjxdkxkcxkckddkxkdkwkxjqkcjwkcnwcbskfgskxhrk%4#&#-'&+;37*8-2833'-'39%2$2'21%;+1$+@&!;;!-$;#-*2-2+-#-'/-$+##+$*28-2+;%/@/@9!#%%39$8127+-#+#%-$'8#"#+"-'/#+%-37/186&*$*%6*$*'71-%8@;"+%*182/$-&@&$/%+&(:,;\\\¿\~{¿>~¿^`=¿_`>¿¿<¿_`=€^¿_¿¿€^~=<¿[?<|=`¿ sjwjsjsjdjndhzn¿__¿^¿¿\=^=^_¿_`¿\`_¿\¿^€=€_¿=`¿}¿<\_¿=_`=¿^|¿¿=¿€|=€_€=€>|€¿€€[€¿<€=|¿_¿___¿_^¿€`¿¿\¿|^¿=¿¿\|¿^|€|_€|^_€_¿_¿__€€€€_€_€¿_______________________________€¿^^^€^€^¿^€^€^€_____¿_¿__¿¿_¿¿¿¿_¿¿_¿¿_¿¿__~¿¿¿`¿€^`=¿^¿_€^`__|<¿`_€^_`_¿^~_|¿_¿^¿€^`_¿?`€^`=^`=¿¿__<¿€_|€^|_€|€^|¿€_`=\•¿¿<\¿€¿^¿_~¿€_¿\\¿_¿^`^¿^\¿_¿€_~_¿_¿^¿¿€_¿_`_¿¿¿_¿`¿=¿¿¿¿¿¿^^__¿¿_¿¿¿€_____¿€_______________€_¿__¿_€__€_€_€__€_€_€_€______________€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€\¿\_¿_€^¿_~¿<€<•\¿>¿¿\€_|\•¿_~¿€\_•¿\¿=<¿_€<`__€\¿_~_~_¿\\€^¿¿|€?<•¿¿¿¿¿€_€<¿\\€__€\<•<•¿¿<€\^€^€^`¿`¿\€€=¿•¿€???????¿_¿__¿¿<¿\¿\€\€^^¿^¿\¿\¿\¿\¿\¿\¿\¿^¿^|¿|¿`¿¿\¿\¿=¿_¿^`^`^¿^`¿~¿~¿^¿^¿\^^\¿¿<¿_¿~~^|¿¿€¿€^¿\¿\~¿€?__~¿\€\€\\¿^

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    The book The Cay was a great book in my opinion .I felt that the

    The book The Cay was a great book in my opinion .I felt that the book was very insightful and it help me understand a lot .If i didn't read the book i probably would not understand prejudice people.Like i do now .This book was one  of those books that gets  better and better .And you don't wan't to stop reading .The Cay is a book i would recommend to my  friends 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Really dumb book

    Everyone hates it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Wont download.

    Stupid. It wont download

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2006

    very very very boring

    I had to read this book in the sixth grade, and I despised it. Hopefully, I will never have to read something this bad ever again. All it was about was a spoiled little boy surviving with a black man on a cuddy little cay. The ending was something they could have done earlier in the book but they didn't. How boring.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2005

    The boringest book EVER!!!!!

    I thought the book was pointless and boring. I even asked my team leader at school why we had to read it. She said it has every subject in it and that it was good. I was like AS IF! It was between the cay and because of Winn Dixie that were the coices to read. I' rather read Because of Winn Dixie. I thought the cay was the suckist,pointless, and boring book in history of a black man and a stupid blind boy on an cuddy old cay. Now the cay isn't worth reading because it sucks!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    To no. 2

    This book is horrible. If you want to read a good book go to the Giver. Billion times bette

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Don't recomend at all!

    I didn't enjoy this book at all. As I read it I felt as if I could easily figure out what was about to happen.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Hate!!!! This!!!!!!! Book!!!!!!! I do not want to give it a rating but I have to!!!!!

    Worst book ever. All my friends have loved it but what is there to love? My honers teacher Mrs. Crisp made us read this it was so boring I stoped reading after the third chapter. This book was not my style. I love to read just not this book. This is my oppinion not yours. Just rember you've been WARNED!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    SUCKED SQUIR

    This book sucked squirl

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Help

    I dont no if this is a good book and my teacher wants me to read it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Awful

    This book was so bad

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Ggtghujhvtvtgvgvgbvgvfvfvvcscfvfvfvfvfvfvfvfvfcdcexevtnhmjmjmkmi,,,,...mhgb vghvfybc'&*%45-;&5-:%6-***;6:5'%'4:5;6:4'3'&;6:%"%:*:%5"$!1#2!1@¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿??¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿^_<>{}}{}{{¿¿¿¿¿¿¿__=_={¿^?\^\ gbyvgvgvtvfvfvfvgvdcdcl¿¿¿|||||¿¿|¿|¿|¿|¿|¿|¿|¿|¿|¿|¿

    I read it in gr6 it was BBBBBBBAAAAAAADDDDDDDD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Dont read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I had 2 read this 4 school and i groaned every time i took it out. Dont waste ur time and money

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Boring

    Slow paced and confusing

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2