Customer Reviews for

Cay

Average Rating 4.5
( 388 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(232)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

The Cay Is A Great Book

My opinion of this book is that I liked it. The Cay is a very good book for young readers. This book has a lot of detail about what goes on in the story.

The Cay is a great book for readers to read. It's about this b...
My opinion of this book is that I liked it. The Cay is a very good book for young readers. This book has a lot of detail about what goes on in the story.

The Cay is a great book for readers to read. It's about this boy named Phillip. He lived with his mom and dad. There was this war that was going on and these Germans invading his town. Phillips dad makes him and his mother get on this ship to the United States to be safe from the war. But they get part way over to the United States and their ship gets hit by a torpedo from a German submarine. When the boat wrecks Phillip gets knocked out when the torpedo hits the ship. When Phillip regains his consciousness he wakes up in the middle of the sea with this African American in this small raft. His mom never liked though kind of people because they were always different then white people. She said the lived different and talked different than everyone else so she always told Phillip not to talk to them or to have a friend like them kind of people. But Phillip is alone with this African American. They finally arrive at this island by them self. When Phillip tries to see he can't. When the torpedo hit the ship when Phillip fell is got blinded by something. So the only guy Phillip has to rely on is the African American. So will Phillip overcome his racist mind to survive this trip? You will have to read the book to find out what the outcome is.

posted by 2116880 on October 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Weird

This was a really weird book. I mean CREEPY!! My teacher made me read this. It was scary and hurtful and sad. Disappointing................

posted by Anonymous on April 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    The Cay is an outstanding book by Theodore Taylor. The setting o

    The Cay is an outstanding book by Theodore Taylor. The setting of the book is in Willemstad, on the island of Curacao. The war cause Phillip they main character in the book and his mother to move back to Virginia. His father stayed in Willemstad to help out. While they were on the boat called the “Hato” it was torpedoed during the night. Phillip hit his head and knocked him out. The when he woke up he was on a raft with a big strong black man named Timothy and his cat Stew-cat. Phillip woke up with a headache and then when he woke up the next morning he couldn’t see he was blind. They were on the raft for days before the saw the island. They got the boat to the island and got the boat ashore. They found a place to make the shelter. For months they saw nothing in the air or in the water. Then one day there was a Hurricane a bad one. They took everything valuable from the shelter and tied it he the highest palm tree on the island. Then before the storm came they tied themselves to the tree and just waited. The first part of the storm came and then they rested until the last part came. After the last part Phillip untied them both and just lay there and then when Phillip woke up Timothy was dead. Then about two days later an airplane went over and Phillip lit the bonfire and the airplane said to send a boat to the island because there was someone on it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    Ashlyn's thoughts of "The Cay"

    Phillip, an 11 year old boy, and his mother and father are in Curacao for his dad's job. His parents decide that it is too dangerous for him to be there so the mother and son head back to their home town Norfolk, Virginia but on the way something tragic separates the son and mother.
    It started off with a boy and his family at Curacao. The mother and father thought what was going on was dangerous for Phillip to be around and the mother wanted to be home. So they took a ship back to his hometown. On their way back something tragic happened, and Phillip woke up on a raft with a black scary old man that wasn't his mother. While they were on the raft floating they came upon a Cay and were stranded there and had to make ways to survive. Phillip got blinded and the big black scary man Timothy passed away. Will Phillip ever be rescued? This book was a little bit confusing and hard to understand at times because of the way Timothy talked. I gave it three stars because I didn't really understand it but maybe if I did I would like it more. If you want to find out if the boy makes it and if he does how, then you need to read this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    I haven't read this book yet

    I am wondering how many pages are in this book. Someone please tell me. I want to know this so I know of I should read thos or something else off pf my list. Please dont ask about my list. I dont feel like explaining. If you ask I will not answer most likely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    All things the Cay

    Summery:
    Philip goes blind. Philip gets slapped by the evil side of the black guy, Timothy who is a voodoo believer. Philip is racist like his mom. In the end philip can see,only with glasses.
    The end.
    I probally spoiled the story for at least some of the readers. But hey,thats what im heee for!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    How many pages?

    How many pages is this?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Ok

    This book is ok but not my fav. book. 1 Thing I don't like about it is that Timithy (one of the carecters) talks in a way thats hard to understand. 1 way I like.it is that its a diffrent book, in a good way!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    The Cay is a great book. It¿s about a kid named Phillip who

    The Cay is a great book. It’s about a kid named Phillip who lives in Curacao, and when Phillip and his parents got on a boat to go to Virginia when the boat got torpedoed by the Germans. Phillip later woke up on a raft with a black male named Timothy. They washed up on to an abandoned cay were they survive.
    Description and summary of main points
    Phillip is a young twelve year old boy who becomes blind for staring at the sun to long. Timothy is an old, strong black man who is 80 years old and helps and teaches Phillip to survive on the cay by himself without having to see. They end up on the cay by their boat getting torpedoed by the Germans and wash up on a cay and survive for a couple months. Phillip learns a lot of things from Timothy on survival without having to use his eyes.
    Phillip and Timothy being stranded on an island is a great plot to the story. Especially by making Phillip blind adds a real twist to the struggle for survival and it makes Timothy have to worry more about Phillip and not himself.
    I thought that this book was full of suspense and made me want to keep reading. When I finished the book I was surprised about the outcome and was very satisfied with it.
    Overall I thought that this book was a great book, and highly recommend The Cay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Introduction The cay is a book about two people and a cat strand

    Introduction
    The cay is a book about two people and a cat stranded on an island in the “Devil’s mouth.” Their boat got torpedoed and he got lost. I really like the book in all, but it had its downsides at times. Some parts of the book were really unrealistic at times, but not a lot. The rest of the book I enjoyed a lot.
    Description and summary of main points
    The book begins on a mini oil refinery island called Curacao. Phillip and his mom and dad live on the same island, until they are threatened by German submarines. When that happens his mom is freaked out and wants to go back to Virginia where they used to live. When they are settled in and calm the get shot by a torpedo. It’s a good example of sadness and how dangerous it was back then. I am a fan of adventurous books so I am a fan of this book.
    Evaluation
    The book is a good example of a survival and sadness story. It has a suspenseful setting at times also, like when Timothy has to protect Phillip from dangers. The books goal was to keep the readers on the edge of their seat, which was achieved in the amazing book. This book has some of the same characteristics of another great book called “The Hatchet” I really enjoyed “Hatchet” so as you could tell that’s most likely why I liked “The Cay.”
    Conclusion
    This book was an amazing book in all. But I got extremely bored at points. It was just really slow at some points and made me want to just stop reading the book, but as I almost gave up a huge part came up the got me on the edge of my seat never wanting to stop to read. I read this book many times another after another.
    Your final review
    I gave this book 3 out of 5 because this book could have been much longer but they stopped short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    This story is about a boy named Phillip and a man named Timothy.

    This story is about a boy named Phillip and a man named Timothy. In the story the two are left to survive on a raft and island. During this time they bond and forget about their prejudices.
    The story follows Phillip a 12 year old boy on an island called Curacao. During this time World War Two is going on. Phillips mother fears they are in danger when a neighboring island is destroyed. She decides the best course of action is to leave the island. The boat they are traveling on is struck by a torpedo, and Phillip is rescued by a man named Timothy. He is an older man who is about 70 years old. Later after awaking on the raft Phillip goes blind.
    The survival aspect of the book is well written. Also emotions shared between characters were very thought out. Some parts of the story should have been longer though. It took away the stranded feeling from the characters.
    This book was well written, but in my opinion could have been longer. Other than that it is a great book. The main characters are likeable, and seem real. I liked the fact that the events in the book could have happened.
    This book is well written, and has a great story. It has weak points, but it makes up for them in the writing. I give this book a cool out of yes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Should I?

    My cousin whos a year younger than me wants me to read this but we have total different reading styles(mine is mystery and si-fi). I dont think ill like it but i gave it three stars because im not sure. I really need advice from a couple people. If you reply thanx : ) but if not go away : (

    P.s. Im going into 6th grade!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    :(

    I had to read this book for school. I was not a big fan and found it hard to read what timothy was saying througout the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Smoke 101

    Very good book. Fascinating,really.Very powerful read. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    for a school read..

    it was alright. the characters were likeable. kind of sad but ends well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    "The Cay" book review, should be recommended

    This book was good at points, but as I read through out the book it got kind of hard to follow because of the way that the characters talked. I felt that Philip and Timothy was hard to follow because of the way they talked. The main point in this book is that the black indian mand and the young white boy get stranded on a island and then they get attacked by a german submarine. I found the main idea not that interesting and if the main idea isn't that good then the rest of the book isn't that good.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    The book Called The Cay

    This book i'm goig to tell you about is called the Cay.The book is about a boy called phillip and later meets tomothy and a cat called Stew Cat.Phillip lives in Curcao,WillamStand.Thier is a torpeado that attacks the ship phillip is on.The place where Phillip lives they are being attacked by Germans.Yes he has a mom and dad.Phillip is a kid who likes war,being outside,and adventureous.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    The Cay

    The Cay is a wonderful book about an 11 year old named Philip whos town is being attacked by the Germans in 1942.When he and his mother try to escape to the US, their ship gets bombed and Philip finds hiself on a raft with a nice old man named Timithy. After three days on theraft they float to a nice guiet little island. Now it is your desination to find out what happens to them, and if they survive.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    the cay

    i think that timothy good died a little bit better than 'i woke up and he was dead.'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2006

    Good, not Great

    nice book, but not my taste. i think Mr. Taylor could've done a little better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    It was ok!!!

    i kinda liked the book it wasnt the greatest but i wouldnt recommend it to teachers or other people! but thats just my opinion!! other people in my class didnt like as well but i wont say i didnt like it, i just didnt think it was that good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2004

    Pretty bad!

    I can't say it was horrible, because it taught some very important lessons. Like not to judge someone based on the color of their skin. Or the fact that you shoouldn't judge someone before you really know them. With that said, the rest of the book was totally boring. It dragged on and on. It was very boring!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2